We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot on the beach with nice pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot on the beach with nice pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Booked thru hotels.com. Calling it a resort is a bit of a stretch but the place is pretty new and has nice amenities. We got a discounted rate which helped. The pool is great for kids and was a good alternative to the beach due to yellow flag warnings though it can be crowded. The onsite restaurant is convenient however there are better local places within walking distance. Room was plenty large enough with sofa. Only weird thing about the room was a full size shower stall instead of a tub which was a pain with a small child. Overall this is one of the nicest looking places on PB. Definitely go out to Fort Pickens for some nice undeveloped beaches and a history lesson.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear JJPE,

Yes, we are one of the newest hotels on the beach, currently in our third season. The hotel is located within walking distance of very good restaurants, bars and shops .

When making a reservation at our hotel, here is a couple of tips to help you select the right type of room for your needs:
-if you want a tub to bathe in, reserve a room with two queen beds
-if you want a king bed, it only comes with one king bed and a sofa sleeper and only a shower stall, no tub.

Our Lazy River pool is very relaxing and enjoyable, as the weather improves it will become more crowded. The innertubes are on a "help yourself" availability.

Thanks for selecting the Holiday Inn Resort at Pensacola Beach.

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    306
    83
    30
    10
See reviews for
631
347
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
highland indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort in Pensacola for three nights. It is on Pensacola Beach with amazing views of the Ocean. They have a beautiful pool, tiki bar, and great restaurant right on premise. The staff went above and beyond to assure our stay was pleasurable. We loved hearing the sound of the ocean right outside our room. Highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the Ocean. You simply cannot get a "bad" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyhighland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear cindyhighland,

We really appreciate your kind words especially when the staff gets a "shout out"...thank you!

However, not all rooms are facing the beach, only half of them, so reserve early for the balcony rooms facing the Gulf of Mexico...they are the first to go.

Keep the recommendations coming!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Late Saturday morning, we decided to surprise our kids with a trip to Pensacola Beach. I found rooms here online and booked for just one night. The place was super convenient to everything and really was inclusive enough to not need to leave. As check-out neared on Sunday, we decided to try to stay another night. Luckily, I found a good rate online. This short trip turned into two nights and days of pure relaxation and the kids happy as ever. It is hard to please a 10 year old and 12 year old. Every staff member we dealt with had a great attitude and were very friendly. I work in the hospitality industry for a large casino/resort and can say this place knows what they are doing.

Room Tip: Book the room with the upgrade for breakfast...especially for families. We paid $10 extra per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahGladish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear SarahGladish,

We are all about making any getaway trip equation result in happy moms and dads! Thanks for giving us the opportunity to be that place and that hotel that happy memories were made.

Yes, reservations can be made that only increase by $10 that include breakfast...that is a real good deal for a breakfast buffet for 2 adults...remember kid's eat free 12 years and younger!

We welcome surprise trips with open arms!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The room is great definitely get the balcony had an awesome view of the beach and the pool area. Everything you would want to do is right here pool, 2 jacuzzis, a walkway straight to the beach there is a bar outside by the pool. They did a neat thing for the kids they set up a movie outside by the pool and popped popcorn was excellent there also is a game room. Let's just say I would come back in a heart beat :).,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Alicia T,

Thank you so much for the great review!

Our "modest" 206-room resort offers a little something for all ages and a lot of opportunities for fun and relaxation!

The Riptides restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, with tables poolside for convenience.

Weather permitting, a Dive Inn movie is shown on Friday and Saturday nights at dusk by poolside, usually G and PG rated films. Popcorn is made fresh 30 minutes prior to movie time.

Also children activities are scheduled throughout the week including playtime with pirates and a mermaid.

Spread the good word...

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Tonight is our last night at this "resort". I believe it is wrongly titled resort; the only good thing about this hotel is the pool, which was always overrun with people. The staff is friendly; Nilla was super sweet at check in, and her bright attitude made me feel like I really was at a resort. When we got to the room it was a little small, but we weren't there for the room. The tv is really complicated, and the remote doesn't function for it. I can't comment on the restaurant, cause I haven't eaten there. The housekeeping staff was friendly, but a little lazy in my opinion. They asked what we needed done instead of doing it. We were in the room each time the housekeeping came (because they got to our room at 4 o'clock when we were getting ready for dinner each day) and they never once changed our sheets. We even put the little card so they would change it, AND THEY MOVED IT. When we were sitting right there. We were here for 4 nights, and they never changed the sheets once. The only thing good about this so called resort is the pool, view, and check in staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinedelrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear carolinedelrey,

We apologize for your disappointment in the hotel amenities and housekeeping service.

It seems as though you came on a busy weekend, if the pool was crowded. It is the place to be at our property when the weather is nice...floating along the Lazy River in an innertube.

There is no good reason why your sheets did not get changed. You followed the procedures and asked the housekeeper. We definitely will be retraining.

Thank you for the important information to help us improve.

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Really all worth the money !!!
Wish I had more days to enjoy all the chances this hotel gives
The pool the whirlpool the great beach with direct access..... the room with the ocean view .....
Never ever will gain to stay in a similar place for this budget !!!!

Employess very nice
Useful in hotel restaurant
I suggest choosing the offers including breakfast : pay 10 $ for a worthy meal otherwise paid 35 !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia_migrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Claudia_migrante,

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Like most hotels on the island, the prices are lower in the off-season.

You are right, catch the deal early! There is a breakfast rate you can reserve when making your reservation, either on line or by phone. The discount only is applied at the time you make your reservation. The price of breakfast goes up once you get to the hotel to check-in.

Thank you!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

There seemed to be no shortage of employees, however I had to call the front desk to ask if my bed could be made with CLEAN sheets? The bathroom also had not been cleaned, gross. Bartender, named Jon, has a death stare, looks like he hates life. He's working at a vacation spot for crying out loud, LOL! The service in general was sub standard everywhere, not just my hotel, to be fair. Everyone in our party noticed it and I was really embarrassed for Pensacola. What happened to this place? I guess we'll have to go to Destin to get decent service and a clean room. Bummer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B1rdG1rL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear B1rdG1rL007,

We apologize for the sub-standard service you received at our hotel. We have a great staff that is eager to please and should be doing their job right the first time.

We do have a "going green" initiative in which the sheets only get changed if you put the "Please change our sheets" card on your bed or after 3 days.

I will personally talk to all employees about the "death stare"...how it really looks bad and they may not even know they are doing it...just in a trance, zoning out.

You are right, we are in the service industry at a destination location, we should be better, if not, the best.

We will make the necessary changes to improve...thank you!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola Beach
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#5 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beac...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
3.4 mi away
Portofino Island Resort
Portofino Island Resort
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach
Address: 14 Via De Luna Drive, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort on Pensacola Beach, Florida, will make you feel happy from the moment you set your flip-flopped foot inside our door. We’re here for you, offering the amenities you need to plan the perfect vacation – or host the best business meeting. From your private balcony or the terrace of our ample 10,000 square foot event space, take in dazzling views of the sparkling waters and shimmering sands of Pensacola Beach – recently named No. 5 of all U.S. beaches by TripAdvisor. Its natural beauty is offset by our bright, modern lobby and stylish, comfortable guest rooms – including colorful Kids’ Suites designed with your family in mind. We’re all about fun here at the Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach hotel, and you’ll feel it from the front desk to the pool deck. Our pool is the best on the beach, with cascading waterfalls and a 250-foot seasonally heated Lazy River. There’s no reason to leave the resort, with Riptides Sports Grill and Beachfront Tiki Bar serving up delicious dining and crafty cocktails seven days a week. If you do decide to get out, we’re within walking distance of the beach’s best restaurants, nightlife and activities including charter fishing, paddle boarding, sailing, kayaking and biking. We’re also a quick drive to regional attractions such as the National Naval Aviation Museum, Fort Pickens, Gulf Islands National Seashore, Historic Downtown Pensacola, Pensacola Lighthouse, Blue Wahoos Baseball Stadium, Veterans Memorial Park and the Saenger Theatre. No matter what you like to do, we can point you in the right direction. When you start your day with a smile on your face, there’s no telling where it might take you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front Hotel Pensacola Beach
Beachside Resort Pensacola
Beachside Hotel Pensacola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing