We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveler rating
826
140
27
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
826
140
27
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms face hi express cinnamon rolls every room has a balcony the breakfast area free breakfast gulf view breakfast staff ocean front front desk staff would definitely stay here again clean hotel zero entry peg leg great room mini fridge fort pickens
Filter
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This was our fourth year at this hotel and it was just as good or better than the first time. It's location is the best on the beach.The staff is one of the best of any hotel we have ever stayed at. All rooms face the Gulf and have a wonderful balcony. The breakfast is great and cookies and popcorn in afternoon. Extra towels for the beach and pool. Having a mini-fridge is also a plus. The only thing that I would change would be the addition of a hot tub and washer and dryer. We plan to return again next year for sure!!! WE might even make a trip during Thanksgiving.

Room Tip: We like being up on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Love this hotel...stay here every time we go to Pensacola....The staff is always so nice...Breakfast is good...The chocolate chip cookies every day...The comfortable beds...Mini Fridge...All rooms are ocean view and we adore Lonnie who works the layout chairs and umbrellas...Always a pleasure seeing Lonnie...I got to paddle surf for the first time and it was awesome...We will always return to this hotel every time we go to Pcola!

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmgraphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel (formerly the Dunes) has been a long-time favorite because of its location and access to the beach (with all rooms facing the Gulf), intimacy, and kind of retro-feel. I've visited the hotel for several years, and always felt at home. This year, I took a chance and reserved several rooms there for a family wedding. The manager was exceptional in accommodating all of our needs, and the staff was welcoming and went out of its way to deal with some of our special circumstances. I hesitate to provide so much praise to the hotel because of the many people who may now flock there! But I wanted to give the staff and hotel their "props." Thanks so much to Beverly (manager) and all of the staff for all you did for my family, and what you do for many others.

Room Tip: Upper floors are best, but all are good, with views of the Gulf.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSueAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This was our first visit back to the "Dunes", the now Holiday Inn Express on Pensacola Beach since Hurricane Ivan and WOW - what a wonderful surprise we were in for. If you want - relaxation, a new gym, very friendly staff and a delicious breakfast included in the price of your room this is your hotel. Also, Lonnie, the "Beach Attendant", was very helpful and friently. Can't say enough wonderful things about our stay and we highly recommend to everyone. We are already planning our next visit in September.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dewey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My now-husband and I stayed here when we were finalizing details for our wedding. The rooms are clean and modern and we loved the view from the balcony. Breakfast in the morning was amazing and free! There was biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausage, pastry items, make-your-own pancakes, cereal, coffee, juice and a whole host of other things. On Sunday, they seem to step up the selection a bit and I noticed cheese omelets available. There's plenty of room to sit and eat unless you go at prime time (about 9am) and then you can eat outside or just take your plates back to your room. We liked to sit out by the water in the evenings and have a few adult beverages and we appreciated the complimentary towels to put down on the beach chairs. Traffic can get a little bit backed up with people trying to get onto Pensacola Beach's main drag, Via De Luna, but if you just need to run out for something quick, make a left out of the hotel and go about a mile down to the convenience store and avoid all the congestion. The only drawback for us was the smoking policy. The hotel is 100% non-smoking, even on the balconies. We were fine with not being in smoking room, but not being able to smoke on the balcony wasn't so great. Plus, we were concerned that if anyone near us smoked on their balcony we might be charged for it as it is open air out there. It seems like a very weird policy that needs some revising. Other than that, we loved our stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tekesha1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you so much for the time you took to write your review. We were all very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit with us! I do want to you let you know our logic for not allowing smoking on the balconies. As a hotel that promotes that it is 100% smoke free if would be unfair to our guests who stay here looking to enjoy the salty beach breezes & to have the smell of smoke waft over to their balconies. Also, the smoke can enter through the HVAC system mounted in the wall and the soft goods in the room can abosorb it. The hotel has used hypo allergenic products and since cigarette smoke is an allergin it would defeat our efforts. Hopefully, it was not too much of an inconvenience and you will return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews