We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere between a restaurant and a seafood shack”
Review of Red Fish Blue Fish

Red Fish Blue Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Inspired southern style. Simple yummy food from local ingredients. We invite you to relax and enjoy friends and family in our backyard with a view. We have the best 'backyard' on the beach with two white sand beaches, covered and grassy dining areas, lots for the kids to do, and a stylish cocktail bar. It's without a doubt the best place on the island to watch a sunset.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We visited Red Fish Blue Fish our first night in Pensacola Beach. The restaurant is built into a bayside covered patio with outdoor dining when the weather cooperates (it didn't the night we visited). The menu is a fairly straightforward offering of seafood and burgers with a bit of culinary fanciness added in. All the meals I saw were served in paper boxes with plasticware, giving the place a seafood shack feel. The staff was amazingly friendly with almost every staff member we encountered either greeting us upon arrival or bidding us farewell on departure. Red Fish Blue Fish probably isn't the top of the list for choices in the Pensacola Beach area, but should be on your list if you're staying for a few nights.

1  Thank desert_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo A, General Manager at Red Fish Blue Fish, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you on your visit to Pensacola Beach. Although the weather didn't go over well with your visit, I am glad you decided to stay and give us a shot. We have since changed the boxes and use white plates made of sugarcane which gives it a much better presentation. Hopefully one day we will be a top choice on Pensacola Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,482 - 2,486 of 2,551 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

Rainy Sunday afternoon. Semi-local (Destin). Fantastic view. Relaxed atmosphere. Delicious food and great Bloody Mary's. Our server, Nadine, was outstanding. Attentive yet not obtrusive! Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Saranna89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo A, General Manager at Red Fish Blue Fish, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Quick, to the point and positive. We appreciate you and hope you come to RFBF often. Thank you for taking the time to share this experience with us, I will gladly share this with Nadine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This place is perfect for families...the young kids are entertained by being able to "explore" the area and be active (hula hoops, balls) while the older kids can walk by the water. The food wasn't out of the world, but the atmosphere made up for it. We ate outside, picnic tables, and it was a bit breezy, but a great time.

Thank Leesa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo A, General Manager at Red Fish Blue Fish, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share this. We are perfect for families and we are glad your family was able to experience RFBF. I am sorry to hear the food wasn't out of this world but we do have flavors from all over this planet. Maybe we could have matched you up with something more pleasing to your palate and hopefully we will have the opportunity to do so. Thank you again for dining with us, we greatly appreciate you and your family and thank you again for taking the time to share your views of our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Family of 5 for 4 pm dinner. Perfect place for older kids to roam until the food came. Would Not let younger kids off alone because right by the water. Perfect location if the weather is nice. Ours was a bit blustery so glad to have jackets. Mostly clean cut college student looking wait staff could not be nicer. Fish tacos were excellent as was their signature burger. Sodas constantly refilled. Only disappointment - no dessert. My kids totally bummed. They allowed us to linger and we enjoyed the volleyball court and bags. Cute gift shop. Good value if not drinking. Hotel also gave us a discount coupon.

Thank Keliauja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo A, General Manager at Red Fish Blue Fish, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

We want to thank you and your family for dining with us and we are glad to hear you enjoyed everything. I wish we could control the weather, it is a perfect place to be when the weather is nice. Thank you for the compliments on the staff. They will get a kick out of this when I share this review with them. We occasionally get a few desserts for special occasions but we do not have a freezer to hold desserts nor the facility to prepare them on site. We have plenty of places we like to refer that have amazing desserts. The goat cheese cheesecake from the Hilton's H2O is amazing! Thanks again for your review and valuable feedback. Hopefully we will see all of you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Really liked the structure of the building. Using old shipping containers for the structure was pretty cool. The outdoor eating area was either covered or out in the open. I like the atmosphere. I liked my sausage and shrimp creole dish, my wife had the breaded fish and the beer breading was to thick and undercooked. The sheep head fish itself was very good. They could go with a lighter batter. The view is very nice. I would try it again sometime.

Thank gl1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo A, General Manager at Red Fish Blue Fish, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience here at RFBF. I will share this with our chef and the rest of the kitchen crew and I promise we will make the necessary changes so the fish is prepared perfectly. I am glad you enjoyed the creole and appreciate the design of the restaurant, hopefully you will have the opportunity to dine with us again. We truly appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish Blue Fish also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Red Fish Blue Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing