We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive thru food”
Review of Red Fish Blue Fish

Red Fish Blue Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Inspired southern style. Simple yummy food from local ingredients. We invite you to relax and enjoy friends and family in our backyard with a view. We have the best 'backyard' on the beach with two white sand beaches, covered and grassy dining areas, lots for the kids to do, and a stylish cocktail bar. It's without a doubt the best place on the island to watch a sunset.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a very cute place and the outdoor seating is lovely. We ordered a pineapple martini. It came out in a tiny plastic cup that reminded me of something served from a punch bowl. The drink in no way tasted like a martini. Our waiter offered us another drink, and we chose the orange strawberry margarita. This was also served in a plastic cup similar to a beer from a keg. This drink also wasn't great and didn't taste like a Margarita at all. I think they were very light on the liquor, heavy on the ice and charged 9.50$ We had shrimp po boys and shared a fry. They were both good, however really pricey for what they were. I'm sorry guys, not impressed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michele60182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo A, General Manager at Red Fish Blue Fish, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for taking time out to let us know about your experience. I do apologize for all of the dissapointments during your visit. Please note we are on the beach where children run and play and even parents like to walk barefoot. Therefore, we cannot allow glass of any kind leave from behind the bar and into the hands of our guest. The liquors we use in our signature drinks are all premium alcohol and some are infused for weeks with fresh cut fruit so it will lack that "cheap" alcohol taste that makes drinks seem "stronger". We actually offer a premium well with the exception of our gin as those who drink gin know exactly what type they prefer. As for the food, we are not able to offer our fresh seafood and fresh cut fries at the price of our competitors. We refuse to serve anything frozen and do not have a freezer on property to ensure this. We know our locals will call us out if we plated frozen shrimp or fish and processed french fries. We have had our ups and downs upon opening and many challenges as we are moving into the right direction. If you come back to our beautiful beaches, hopefully you will stop by and give us another shot. Many menu changes and lots of practice behind the bar. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,356)
There are newer reviews for Red Fish Blue Fish
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,322 - 2,326 of 2,356 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very relaxing atmosphere, but food and drinks were too simple for me. I was expecting to go to restaurant but I got a snack bar. Food served in cardboard boxes and plastic tablewares. We wait our dinner an hour, because our ticket was lost in the kitchen.

Thank Petri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Manager at Red Fish Blue Fish, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thanks so much for your review. We sure appreciate candid feedback as we are just getting started and have some kinks to work out. The concept is to be a casual food truck style beach menu with good food made from scratch. We will be continually refining the menu and would appreciate your continued input. Thanks again and we hope you can come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Went there this past Friday night with two other couples. Drove the scenic route after dark from Navarre Beach. Not too scenic in the dark but as always a nice little relaxing ride. This place is really cute. All outside dining as best as we could tell. There was a 30 minute wait so we meandered around and stopped at the bar. Really great bar tenders and most of our party enjoyed a spirit while we waited. Cool stuff but pricey for a place with a canvass roof. Then we sat at a small round table with miss matched wooden chairs..it is a theme. Saw a piece of paper on the table and was shocked to see it was the menu. Not much to choose from and almost all fried. Our party had hamburgers, grilled fish, fried fish and two different tacos. Hamburger was average at best. Grilled fish was supposed to be lemon pepper, since that is all they offered for grilled, but had no flavor at all. Not sure why they don't blacken? Tacos were ok. Turns out the fried fish was the best of all we had and hey...it is fried. You can fry anything and it will be good. Portion size was good, French fries were good. All in all....been there done that! Next!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anteqbuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Manager at Red Fish Blue Fish, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate your candid feedback. We are just getting started and have some kinks to work out so lots of suggestions from our customers is so important to us. Keep it coming. Hope you can come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We were at the restaurant during sunset and the atmosphere and the setting were very romantic. However, the food could have been better. The staff was friendly but that was times I could not find him anywhere so I had to ask other waiters for help. I recommend to visit specially if you have kids, my daughter loved it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DanielJanequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Manager at Red Fish Blue Fish, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thanks for the review. We sure appreciate lots of feedback during our start up phase. We are just working out lots of the kinks at this time. Making some menu changes so keep the suggestions coming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited here for a weekday lunch. The restaurant is brand new, but was pretty busy and full. We had grilled shrimp tacos. Shrimp were small but tender, cooked properly. We asked about the fish in tacos, but the selection that day did not appear to be local/fresh. At least it was not familiar to me, and I grew up in Pensacola.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Celestial-Mctown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Manager at Red Fish Blue Fish, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thanks so much for the review. Hope you can come and see us many more times. We serve local fish when it is available. Sometimes we have to buy fish from other parts of the world but it is always fresh. We don't even have a freezer. Our fish supplier is Maria's and they do an awesome job. Thanks so much for the feedback. We really appreciate it and hop you provide it often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish Blue Fish also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Red Fish Blue Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing