We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After our stay here, other places will be hard pressed to impress!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portofino Island Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“After our stay here, other places will be hard pressed to impress!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in tower 1 on the 19th floor. Found the rental on frbo.com. the owner was very pleasant to deal with and the condo was beautifully decorated. Not overdone...not too minimalistic....very tasteful. Our Only complaints 're: the space itself was that it was in need of paint and carpets needed cleaning or replacing. Berber at the beach. Eek. And the bed in the master bedroom was like sleeping on a board. The last night we absolutely could not sleep in it again. We were so sore from all week. We slept on the sofa and couch. This was our honeymoon too. I would (will) advise the owner on these items too. Apparently the other two rooms the beds were very comfy. We only dined at the resort the first night. The service was very slow...big concert weekend...thought they could've been better staffed, but our food was delicious. The grounds were well kept and the surroundings...views were beautiful. We too, happened to have the best weather that Pensacola has had in a really long time the whole week we were there.
Would definitely go back...most certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    215
    105
    59
    60
See reviews for
660
114
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama city beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Portofino Resort is awesome! Our room was huge and the view from all sides was perfect! The front desk staff where wonderful, they were nice and helpful too! Walking through the property everyone said hello! The pool/bar area is so pretty I did not want to leave. The boat over to the festival was fun and a great way to get to the party, just wish it would have made 1 more trip around 3am.... LOL
The beach was pretty and the water was crystal clear and warm. We could not have asked for a better weekend! My whole crew was appreciative and grateful for the time we spent there! I highly recommend this resort to anyone that can get there.....

Room Tip: all rooms are top notch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jprojmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I fell in love with the Portofino the very first time I stayed in a condo there! In 2006 my family got offered a free weeks stay at our friends condo at the Portofino! It was so beautiful and relaxing! My family and I travel all the time and have stayed many places and the Portofino is the only place I feel at home in! These are condos so people must understand you have to buy your own food and cleaning supplies! We try to come stay at the Portofino at least twice a year! It's our home away from home!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelsnob4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My family and I have stayed at the resort twice this summer. We stayed in June and the beach service was wonderful. We enjoyed spending time relaxing on the beach all day and the service was amazing. The staff were so helpful, especially the manager of the beach. I cant say the same after our most recent trip. We checked in late Tuesday and hit the beach first thing Wednesday. The manager was no longer an employee and let me tell you the service was terrible. You could tell no one cared that we were spending good $ on our short vacation. They were rude, and to be honest quite lazy compared to the service we received in June. We waited for over 10 minutes to get chairs on the beach, were treated like an inconvenience more than anything. I asked to speak to the manager and the attendant told me they recently let their manager go and the "director" would be able to answer Amy questions/ comments. Well the director was no where to be found and never returned my phone call. Bottom line, when you spend a lot of money to stay at a resort that dotes on the fact they're a "resort" you expect that experience. I would of had better service and hospitality staying at a motel 8.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Provacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was my 2nd stay at this resort...the 1st time back 2007. The property just gets better, over time. They added a variety of extra activities, that enhanced our stay. Many, many kid things to do. If you can, do the Adventure package... even if your kids are too old or uninterested in the infalatables in the bay, they'll love access to the surfboards, wake boards, bikes, etc. A nominal fee to pay. The Beach setups daily...is amazing! Rent crazy golf carts while there... Adds to the fun. Be sure and walk down the bay side, and toward the "protected wildlife area" as far as you can. Its gets beautiful, and private with a number of little water pooled areas... its about a 20-30 min walk, via the water line of the bay. Parasailing is cheaper at the Boardwalk, vs on property and just as good. These condo's are absolutely beautiful, and if you stay in tower 3...you'll have unobstructed view of the east beach of Pensacola Beach and the ocean. You'll actually feel like you're in an island far from land! We typically go to the market in town, and grab some steaks and cook outside on the terrace at least one night, on their electric bbq grill! Just fabulous! We will return!

Room Tip: I think ocean side, tower 3 has the absolute best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowSeeker222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had an awesome time, we had a group of about 40 people staying in multiple rooms at Portofino. We had a blast. Everyone on the staff was REALLY nice & the service at the main pool was AWESOME!
The only problem we had was the guy that lives in tower #2 Unit 1204....He basically stalked us in the elevator/hallway. He scrame at us like we were children, for laughing in the hallway at 11:00am. We were far from being loud, but as I am sure he knows, IT DOES ECHO, DUH! When we apologized to him, he continued to lecture us & as he walked off & I again said I was sorry...He said, "Yeah, I know you are Sorry!" Then the next day, he copied a list of the rules & taped it on our door. We called the front desk to see if they had put the note & they knew nothing about it. They said that laughing or talking in the hallway at that time is NOT a problem. Unfortunately we ran into the guy again a couple of days later & once we got back to our room we received a call from him, SCREAMING at one of our guest & she told him to hold on where he could speak to My husband or myself & he hung up before we could get to the phone. We reported it to the front desk again & I am not sure where it went from there. We were leaving the next morning, so who knows. I see someone else had a run in with him at the same time we were staying there....Hmmmmm, guess they can't control this guy. We were there 7/28-8/4/12.
WE will go back, but REFUSE to stay on the 12th floor of tower 2. Had the guy not been in the hallway, he would have NEVER heard us laughing or talking. And I was told he leaves his door open & screams at everyone. He is VERY RUDE & obviously needs to get medication or seek help for his anger issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamieK_0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Found this place here on TripAdvisor and was a little nervous about booking after reading some of the comments. Check-in was easy and the representative was very helpful and explained everything about the resort. The condo was AMAZING!! The bay/sound view pool, bar/lounge area, and beach were all great! Will definitely be back! Perfect for a family or friends' getaway!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pensacola Beach hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
4.0 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beac...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#5 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,352 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
#10 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Island Resort

Property: Portofino Island Resort
Address: 10 Portofino Dr, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-2465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portofino Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Portofino Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Island Hotel
Portofino Island Pensacola
Portofino Pensacola Fl
Portofino Island Resort Spa
Portofino Is Resort
Pensacola Portofino Condo
Beach Pensacola Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing