We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Portofino is a unique find on a beautiful stretch of private beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portofino Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Portofino is a unique find on a beautiful stretch of private beach”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is my second time staying at Portofino during the Memorial Day Pride Weekend. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. The grounds looks nice. My particular condo unit was not exactly nice. The furniture was tragic and out dated, but the unit itself was nice and the view was breathtaking.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mmathews24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    243
    116
    64
    64
See reviews for
780
131
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

3BR 3 1/2BA with plenty of room for everyone. Huge balcony. Pools weren't crowded, crystal clear, and perfect temp. The inflatables in the bay are cool, 1hr is plenty of time to get worn out, no need to pay for full or half day.
Everything costs extra and is a lttle too pricey. Watch for happy hour specials in the daily bulletin. Mosquitos were out of c ntrol all over the property and along beach. You couldn't walk the beach at dusk. The dolphin and other cruises are cool but beware, they drop you off at the "boardwalk" for several hours because the property also owns shops/restaurants there. You are better off driving to the boardwalk to get on and off the boat so you're not forced into spending money at boardwalk.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GoGirlStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Portofino Resort exceeded our expectations. We stayed at this resort in the beginning of May for a family retreat. The condo was spotless and completely furnished. Love the resort's amenities...especially the dolphin cruise! The staff were very friendly and accommodating. In addition, i would highly recommend purchasing a deluxe package if you have school age children. This package includes kayaking, biking, paddleboards etc...this helps to keep the kids active and busy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rhonda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The location of this resort, close to both the Gulf of Mexico and the bay is fantastic. Staff couldn't have been friendlier, the layout of the resort is very well done and the rooms were very nice. We had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnGuyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The Portofino was great. The location is convenient to the offsite activities and shops of Pensacola beach, but just far enough so there are no crowds on the beach or much traffic. Everyone on staff makes you feel like a guest and wants to make sure everything is perfect.
All of the rooms have spectacular views. Each building has its own pool and hot tub so you can stay away from a main pool and get some peace and quiet.

The on site restaurants are also really good reasonable priced. And make it so once you arrive everything is insure so you never have to drive if you don't want too. Looking to go back with our family for an extended trip. Very nice

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DandHDirkse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

I lived at Portofino for 2.5 years. I was working in Pensacola and had a long term rental.

I found the condo to be pretty nice, and I ws fortunate enough to get a condo with a view of the gulf.

The amenities were nice, and it has very nice pools (8 pools in total, 1 at each tower, two main outdoor pools and an indoor pool).

It was a great place to live, but I think I would be disappointed if I vacationed there. I'm not really a fan of tourist traps, which is what this place seems like to me, especially during summer. As a resident, it becomes very obnoxious hearing kids yelling, having people pull the fire alarms, etc.

Tons of people stay here and it is very crowded. You do have to walk across the street to get to the beach, or you could take my route and drive down the road about a half a mile, pull off and go where no one else is.

I loved my condo unit and views, but the there are just too many people for me.

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank maxandheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Read this and learn! This wa summer 2010, the thing below doesnt go bk that far, I have been going to Perdido and Destin for over 30 years. I KNOW "the ropes", My radar was running hhot due to this condos pics and virtual tour avoided direct and fully disclosing shots of the balcony view. Here is my tale, LEARN... I was LIED to about the view, 3 bdrms do NOT face the gulf and beach, they face it sideways. icemaker was broken, AC didnt work for 2 days. We got stuck onthe elevator for over an hour, emergency phone on elevator was DISCONNECTED!!!. We had to scream for help for over an hour before anyone heard us. We were on the 19th floor, 3/2 suite. Was told our balcony was beachfront/ gulf front, I specifically said no obstructions on our bacony for viewing the beach, this is the main thing I go down to the beach for,(it's a major deal) AND asked them about the balcony view on 3 separate phone calls because I KNOW what a ripoff this can be. They think they have you once you're there... NOPE. The 3 bdrm units are looking DOWN the beach sideways. I told them I did NOT want a western exposure nor to be in a unit that was on the side of the bulding where any construction may be going on. I was assured repeatedly by the reservation clerk, it was NOT a western exposure (bet you can guess where this is going.) and they told me there was NO construction on our side of the building. Well, it was west facing and they were building a new high rise directly next to us.

By the time I got through with them,,, I got my money back and a voucher for free week the next year. I did not and will not ever go back there, The GM and head of maintenance laughed at us for our misadventures, and had the balls to tell us tje elevators NEVER breakdown. A neighbor in the condo next to us, LIVES there and says elevators break all the time.

Those who like this place must be noobs or have never stayed in a GREAT condo building that puts you on the beach, facing the beach and only a few feet to your chairs with all the expected amenities. RUN>>>>>>>>>

Room Tip: KNOW WHAT you want, get it in writing, preferably email. Be certain you are descrbiing what you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank jcolvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pensacola Beach hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
4.1 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beac...
#4 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
#10 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Island Resort

Property: Portofino Island Resort
Address: 10 Portofino Dr, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-2465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portofino Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Portofino Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Island Hotel
Portofino Island Pensacola
Portofino Pensacola Fl
Portofino Island Resort Spa
Portofino Is Resort
Pensacola Portofino Condo
Beach Pensacola Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing