We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great area! Hot campground in Summer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Pickens Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pensacola Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort Pickens Campground
Save
You added Fort Pickens Campground to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great area! Hot campground in Summer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

As a local, we stay out there every year. And every year we say we'll never stay there during summer again. It's extremely HOT and the campground loops B-D don't provide much shade at all. But that being said, we still stay out there every summer because you can't beat our beaches!!!! And this place is right in the thick of our beautiful beaches. They keep them & the wildlife we'll preserved. For that I'm thankful! But am not thankful for the showers there, the new ones weren't designed well & the old ones aren't ventilated very well. I just decided it was better to take a completely cold shower than to break a sweat while getting dressed after my hot shower.

A locals advice, hit this place up in spring or fall for the perfect weather. That's our plan next year.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunkissedshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    60
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
72
48
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We camped in loop A in our 36' rv Sunday through Friday. Our space was clean, had a fire pit/bbq, and was large enough for our car as well. The beach is walking distance and boasts blinding white sand and beautiful, clear water.
Touring Fort Pickens is a great way to spend some time and learn a little bit of history and the Civil War.
The park service employees were very nice and helpful.

The only negative is the shower house is in need of some repairs, tile missing, shower doors without latches, and general maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank We2ROntheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Campground is adequate and located on the beach. Free (yes free) snorkeling Wednesday and Sunday mornings at 10:30am with all equipment provided. (Battery Worth pavilion on the right after campground. Only bummer is the $8 fee to get thru the gate. We bought an annual pass for $25 instead.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pastor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We love Ft. Pickens campground. Nothing fancy, but so close to all things historic, the ocean, bike riding, fishing, etc. We camped their the first week of June. One day we were loading up our beach equipment to lay on the beach. My husband was searching for our plastic screw that holds the umbrella on the beach. Thinking it was in a large plastic beach bag we had, he picked the bag up to look inside. When he did, he felt something "slam" against his foot. As he looked down, he realized it was a copperhead snake! I must admit, my husband screamed like a girl! Another camper heard the scream and came running with a stick. The two of them forced the snake into the swamp area of the campground. Luckily, the snake had attached my husband's Teva sandal, and did not hit any skin. We continue to talk about this and the "what if's" if he would have been bitten. Our vacation would have turned into a hospital stay for sure! After the incident, the rest of our time there, we alerted other campers to be on the lookout for snakes. We heard their had been two other snakes found and killed. This will not deter us from going back. In fact, we have reservations again in a few weeks!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Missouri
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is our second year staying here. We just love the LOCATION! The campground itself is nothing spectacular. But the location ore than makes it worth it. The shower house on our look was new and much better! When we got there the grounds had not been mowed and looked shabby but they did mow while we were there and it looked so much better. You can't beat walking to the bay side and enjoying the beach with only a couple other people on it if any at all!!! And we road bikes to the gulf side (which you could walk to) and enjoyed the beach...not many people there either. That's something we loved about it. Beautiful white sand beaches. We will be going again next year!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 12 days and enjoyed them all. Nice new bathrooms and they even have a dishwashing station outside. The only complaint would be that the RV pads are very close together and aren't long enough to park in properly. Can't wait to book our next trip here! !

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LSUtiger71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Friendly private clean. Quiet and relaxing and plenty to do without leaving the island. Best experience in a while. Beaches were just beautiful, if you want privacy it's there and if you like busy and life guard they have that as well. Whitest beach I have seen.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola Beach
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
8.8 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
9.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beac...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#5 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,809 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Pickens Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Pickens Campground

Property: Fort Pickens Campground
Address: 1400 Fort Pickens Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-5116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Fort Pickens Campground Hotel Pensacola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing