We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, affordable, and great history.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pensacola Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort Pickens Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho Springs
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient, affordable, and great history.”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the location, although the old showers were far superior to the new ones in both the men's and women's bath houses.
The bike rides to and from the Fort were great for getting around and the self-guided tours of the Fort were extremely interesting. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nelson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    72
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
86
67
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This campground was situated at the Gulf's back door. We had a nice camping space both times. Since we wanted to extend our reservation date, we did have to move. Area A seemed smaller and quieter. The laundry facilities were adequate.there is a camp store which carried the basics, otherwise it was about 10 miles for shopping. The beach is absolutely beautiful. It is clean and well maintained. The camp hosts were very friendly. We had visited FtPickens before but once again took a tour of the fort. We fished from the pier and no license was needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cameron1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at the group campsite and had a great time! We had our own driveway with a locked gate plus our own bath facility. There is no electricity (meaning the shower water is cold) but, you are not far from the other facilities if this is important to you, you can just walk one of the many trails. There is also a camp store in case you forgot anything. Very private, very well maintained - can't beat the beautiful scenery! Next time however, I will pack earplugs. I didn't realize how loud camping this close to the ocean would be.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here one night in our RV with our German Shepherd. The gorgeous white sand beach access is a short walk away and there are several wonderful trails, including a national birding trail. The RV sites were a bit small and less private - fairly close together. Watch the tree limbs in some spots when backing in!

Bathroom facilities were acceptable. Showers were somewhat small so your clothing and accessories may get wet. I understand the nice new showers were ordered to be locked until they met disability/ADA standards so they were not able to be used at this time by anyone, unfortunately.

Sites had charcoal grills and picnic tables with full electric and water for a mere $26 a night. With the senior pass, $13! Restaurants, bars, amusement, touristy things were only about a four mile drive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
13 Thank Hilda0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The campground is clean and has electricity, which is a plus! There is a store on campus selling anything you could possibly need. It is within walking distance to the beach, where you can find a private spot off to yourself. The bay side of the Island is a great place to snorkel and explore the sea shore wildlife. (Hermit crabs EVERYWHERE!) It was a great and we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank countrylady54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

December is definitely the off-season here. Weather was gorgeous one day, cold and rainy another day, with remaining days semi-comfortable. On the one gorgeous day, we had the spectacular white sand beach all to ourselves. The beach is an easy 300-m walk from Loop A, which is close enough to the beach to hear the surf. Verizon voice and MiFi worked well.

Room Tip: Our ankles quickly got chewed up by no-see-ums, so we suggest regular use of insect repellent while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank drczap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I go to Ft. Pickens twice a year, most years. It is one of the best places we have been for relaxation. The beaches are beautiful and easy to get to from the campground. We have stayed in various campsites in section A. All were very nice. We have enjoyed exploring the fort, the walking trails, and all the wildlife. Most of all I just enjoy watching the surf and walking on the beach to pick up sea shells. A wonderful place we look forward to returning to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank annmca2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola Beach
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
8.7 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
9.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beac...
#4 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
9.3 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Pickens Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Pickens Campground

Property: Fort Pickens Campground
Address: 1400 Fort Pickens Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-5116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Fort Pickens Campground Hotel Pensacola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing