We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fort Pickens Campground
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Pensacola Beach(Pensacola Beach)(Great Value!)
$251
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach(Pensacola Beach)(Great Value!)
$219
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach(Pensacola Beach)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach(Pensacola Beach)(Great Value!)
$251
$228
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaritaville Beach Hotel(Pensacola Beach)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portofino Island Resort(Pensacola Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Inn(Pensacola Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
113
75
20
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
75
20
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp storelangdon beachtent campingbig rigsdump stationoverflow parkingsenior passfire ringbathrooms and showerstravel trailercamp groundblue angels practicingbathroom facilitytree covercamp hostflorida trailself guided
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 221 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

amazing beaches with excellent beach acess for campers. Camping spaces are for tents or rvs and reasonably priced. However, spaces are smallish and not as clean as I would like. You pay for the area not the amenities. Has a small store that sells fire wood and ice. This camp site has water and electricity hook ups but no sewer or cable. It was fun for families and but had wide range of campers there. Spaces are very close together your very close to the campers next to you, so there is not a lot of privacy. Overall the beach acess is worth it. If you camp there is like you have a private beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilyFunallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This campground was recommended at the Pensacola Welcome Center as a beach campground and being one of the best in the area. She called ahead to ensure an available site, then directed us on our way. After crossing a couple bridges, you find yourself on the barrier island, then you ride miles along the sand and water to arrive at 20 to 15 mph as you drive thru bird nesting sanctuary areas. We were on the motorcycle so this is a wonderful ride as it was just near sunset; just have to be careful of the nesting birds and the shifting sands blown by the winds. This particular day it was very windy. The road can actually flood at times too, so be cautious. But it is so worth the effort to get there. Tip, the campground is gated and gate house closes so be sure to arrive prior to closing to get checked in & gate code. It was an experience setting up in the blowing wind off the ocean that night, but so cool to lay there & listen to all the night sounds. You feel as if you are isolated from civilization. I did get a little freaked when I saw the poster at the bathhouse advising to watch for poisonous snakes, scorpions & spiders. Be careful, don't leave tent unzipped. We never saw anything, but I'm sure you could if you ventured any distance from the loop. We did walk across the road to the ocean about 300' or so the next morning to walk on the beach. We were just here for the night passing through so we didn't explore the area a lot; however we did ride on down the road to the actual fort and walked around it. Interesting bit of history for those that enjoy that sort of thing. It's about a 15 to 20 min ride back to area with restaurants & hotels including a new Margaritaville Hotel & Restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flipflop48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Great campground and so close to the beautiful beach. Fort Pickens is a few miles off the beaten path and can be tough to get to after a storm when the road is flooded or covered with sand, but it is definitely worth the trip. The bathrooms are fairly clean and each spot has its own fire ring and picnic table. Just remember to bring your own soap to wash your hands. There is no soap and no paper towels in the bathrooms. We stayed in our tent in loop A and had a nice place to set up and a good amount of shade and space. I would absolutely recommend this campground to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth8978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Plan on spending plenty of time wandering around the fort. We spent several hours and could have spent twice as much time. A lot of history. Plan on being there for the two o'clock guided tour.
Great time to be had.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

“A” loop was our choice. Although the sights are somewhat small, close together and the campground was full; it seemed less congested and better scenery.
We are in our mid 50’s, mellow and easy going so this campground was a good fit. All of the neighbors were nice and respectful. I never saw a park ranger in the campground but we felt pretty safe. If you love camping near the beach, the gulf and pan handle; this is an excellent choice. You can walk from “A” loop of the campground, cross the road, go roughly 300 yards and you’re standing in the gulf ocean.

When we wanted to get into the mix of things we dined at the local restaurants, shopped, pier fished to no avail but caught amberjacks in the 25 pound range deep sea charter fishing. Some bike riding was done (not my cup of tea) and unless you’re conditioned I recommend driving to Langdon Beach, the fort and the fishing pier at the end of the fort.

To relax we took lazy walks across the road to the beach where we enjoyed quiet beautiful sunsets. We also had quiet cookouts at our camp sight. There were no noisy drunks, even before quiet time. I give this campground a 4 out of 5 rating in comparison to other public campgrounds I’ve visited.

Pros:
• fantastic value; $8 weekly entry fee and $20 a day.
• beautiful scenery; bay, gulf, shore, wildlife and forestry
• fort tour, museum, fishing pier, beaches, bike and walking trails
• wide range of activities available in the surrounding area. (too many to list)

Cons:
• Limited shade sights due to the lack of trees because of hurricanes.
• Bath house was dated and absolutely no ventilation. Hot, hot and hot.
• Bath house had plumbing issues the night before we left and the next day.
• They enforce 4 wheels on pavement parking policy so you have to be creative. No parking of the tow vehicle on grass or gravel. You may have to find parking away from your sight, like near the bath house if your sight is too small. (very inconvenient)
• 2 snakes were spotted at camp sights and 2 spotted crossing the road. I almost stepped on one crossing the road leaving the beach one evening. I had to light up the camp sight at night if I wanted my wife’s company outside.

This was our first time camping here and look forward to retuning in the fall.
We camped in a 30ft Cardinal fifth wheel.

Room Tip: Go online; there are place where you can see pictures of the sights. Sights are different lengths so make sure it will handle your rig.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews