We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our worst experience at a Hilton thus far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our experience started poorly with unfriendly front desk staff. I know it was busy, but she did not smile once and she did not tell me anything about the amenities offered at the hotel. She did not greet me as a Hilton Honors member, and though we booked the bed and breakfast package, she mentioned nothing about breakfast or how to receive the coupons for breakfast that were part of our paid package. When we returned to the front desk after unloading our bags and asked about the breakfast coupons, she could not locate any and said that they would be sent to our room. Though we had called twice ahead of time to request a crib in the room and asked for one at check-in, we still had no crib after an hour. When the breakfast coupons were finally sent up to the room, we received only one set of coupons instead of the two sets required for our two nights of stay.

Our room was small and despite running the AC all the time, we could not decrease the humidity enough to dry any of our clothing. On the first night there was an MMA tournament being held in the parking lot (which our room faced) with loud blaring music and announcer/microphone booming voice until well after midnight, which was unpleasant for our 18 month old who was trying to sleep. The front desk staff actually laughed at me (because they were sold out) when I inquired about the availability of an upgrade so I could not have another sleepless night facing the parking lot. Thankfully the MMA tournament was only one night. We had been looking forward to him playing in the fountains in the children's pool, but for some reasont eh fountains were turned off for the duration of our stay except for the first evening. There was no binder/hotel guide/in-room dining menu in our room, and when we went to the front desk to ask for one, they said that there were none to be found. When I asked how I could order in-room dining without a menu, the staff (same discourteous person who checked us in) said that the menu was near identical to the restaurant menu and told me to "go get one of those." The evening menu for the restaurant is mostly seafood/steaks, which was disappointing since we wanted burgers/pizza. Imagine my surprise when I actually called room service and was told that both items and "many more" were avaiable on the room service menu.

On the upside, the restaurant did have a wonderful breakfast buffet and courteous restaurant staff. The location is great with a beautiful beach. Overall, this was our worst experience at any Hilton, which is sad because of the number of Hiltons we have stayed in all over the globe.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and water view, particularly if there is some show/event being held at...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ladybug125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,214)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Pensacola Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,927 - 1,933 of 2,214 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed here last weekend and loved it! Awesome location, very clean, wonderful restaurant! When I checked in I was upgraded to a suite that had a bedroom & livingroom. Awesome gulf view from our balcony. My whole family enjoyed it very much and can't wait to return :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anndalla0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had 2 nights free because our last trip to this resort was terrible. We stayed 4/29/12 - 5/1/12. We checked in and the door on our room was so noisy that you could not leave the room without waking people up. The food and service for the food was still terrible. They tried to charge us for a sail boat that was rented on the beach on 4/29 which we only checked in then went to families house for the whole day and didn't get back until late. They did remove this charge but come on we travel with a 3 yr old like we could do something like that. I think there should be better checking into who is charging things to rooms. How hard is it to verify names??? The service was not good again and the food was not that good either. I would not recommend this resort to anyone! If you want a good resort stay next door at the Holiday Inn Resort!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mpls1639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GinaDudley, General Manager at Hilton Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear mpls1639,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. On behalf of the team members, I apologize for your unpleasant experience. We pride ourselves on providing all our guests with great service and quality. And failing you twice is definitely inexcusable. I would like to make it right if you choose to give us a third chance. I will personally make sure that your next stay will be wonderful.

I left a message in your inbox. Hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Gina O. Dudley, General Manager
Hilton Pensacola Beach Gulf Front

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have been going to this hotel for years and always stay in a suite in the new towers. The furniture and paint are getting worn out. There is no wireless internet in the rooms! Come on people...this is 2012....for $450 a night no wireless internet.
TV in second room didn't work. No video game options for kids. Just not what you would expect. Sadly, I think that we need to find a new beach hotel in Pensacola.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The Hilton does a great job. Very attentive staff, beautiful pool, and an emerald green ocean with a white sand beach.
Rooms are large clean and in our room the views were spectacular. We were on the 17th floor of the tower with balconies overlooking the pool and beach. A few areas are showing wear but this a beach destination so that should be expected.
Property accommodates business meetings , vacationers and families well. We always have a great stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rszAtlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for long weekend gettaway in Feb. As Diamond memebers with Hilton was I was disapaointed.
We booked King room, The hotel gave me a Diamond upgrade with ocean view, but with only a Queen beds.
The room had a kitchen-net in it however there was not one, glass, plate or silverware in the room.
Not sure besides a small Fridg what the point of having that a Kitchen-net was.
Location was why we chose this hotel and that it did score high with.
We booked spa treatment with affiliated spa next door. Treatments were so so nothing to right home about.
I say if you going for the beach and seafood it is a good choice.
Clean but not fancy.
I had a billing issue that showed up after I checked out. Hotel never addressed after several emails and phone calls I disputed with Amex and they took care of it.
Manager at Hilton very un responsive on this issue.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phnett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GinaDudley, General Manager at Hilton Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Dear phnett1,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback of your experience at the Hilton Pensacola Beach. We value our HHONORS Diamond Members and we are fully aware that wherever you stay, Hilton Worldwide, you expect the best service, best accomodations, and best of everything.

I apologize that your experience at our hotel was less than great. Although the upgrade was with good intentions, we should have verified your preference for a king bedded room.

I sent you a message and hope to hear from you to discuss more in details of your stay.

Sincerely,
Gina O. Dudley
General Manager
Hilton Pensacola Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

When we arrived, there was an MMA cage fight in the parking lot. Due to this classy Friday night event, we were forced to valet our car. They rushed us out of our car so frantically, that we had to leave some of our belongings in the car.
When we navigated through tons of drunk coeds to finally reach the front desk. The desk worker asked why were we just getting here. Like its any of her business. She was cold and distant, to say the least, and looked irritated to have to check us in.

Little did we know that we had checked in to Spring Break party central. The drunk coeds infested the hotel like roaches, drinking in the hallways, carrying on loud, off putting conversations into the wee hours of the morning. We called the front desk to complain about the noise, but no one answered. Thus, no sleep night 1.

Night 2, same problem. Since the front desk wouldn't help, I tried politely asking said coeds to either quiet down or please move to an area that was not right outside my room door. The coeds got snarky and felt that they were paying just as much as I was for their room and they could do whatever they wanted. Security was called once and responded half an hour later. Sadly as soon as the guard was on the elevator, they all came back out.

I finally got a hold of the front desk and told them that they had to to dispatch some one who could handle the hooligans in the hallway. I was really close to calling the police. I find it ludacris to pay that much for a room that I clearly wasn't able to sleep in.

The rooms weren't well cleaned. Towels weren't replenished, and an old room service plate sat out in the elevator lobby for 2 days with food still on it. Yuck! Our shower handle barely worked. The faucet was about to fall out of the wall. One of the two phones in the room had bare wire showing and the mini fridge had some crazy broken piece of wood hanging out on top.

We were guaranteed late check out and were locked out of our rooms after the normal 11 am check out. This really was the hotel from "Hell" the grumpy staff had no desire to make our stay even bearable. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank christielou8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pensacola Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pe...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
940 reviews
3.5 mi away
Portofino Island Resort
Portofino Island Resort
#5 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
#10 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Pensacola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Pensacola Beach

Address: 12 Via de Luna Drive, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range: $149 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Pensacola Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our beachfront hotel in Pensacola Beach, Florida – recently named No. 5 of all U.S. beaches by TripAdvisor – we treat every guest to an extraordinary experience, from the minute you check-in to the moment you check out your private Gulf front balcony. All of our stylish and comfortable rooms come with a view, because there’s water in every direction – whether you’re looking at the Gulf of Mexico or the Santa Rosa Sound. Even our wide-open lobby feels aquatic – decorated in shades of blue, with glass chandeliers like floating bubbles and floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking our pool deck, which leads to the beach. Which leads to the beach … there is so much to do here, whatever you like to do. Relax. Dine. Swim. Shop. Explore. Pensacola Beach and the inland City of Pensacola are home to beautiful scenery, exciting arts and culture, interesting history, boundless outdoor adventure and culinary delights to please any palate. We’re located on one of the world’s whitest beaches, in the center of everything. When you stay with us, you’re within walking distance of the most popular local restaurants and attractions. We’re also the best place on the island to host your meeting, special event or beach wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Pensacola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Pensacola Beach Gulf Front Hotel Pensacola Beach
Pensacola Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Beach Pensacola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing