We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food”

Frank and Lola Love Pensacola Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Named after "Frank and Lola," a 1982 Jimmy Buffett song about a couple on their second honeymoon in Pensacola, the restaurant features everything from steaks to fresh seafood and also has a full service bar in an upscale, casual atmosphere. Frank & Lola Love Pensacola Café offers indoor and outside seating, and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Decent food”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The food was pretty decent. I had a spicy meat omelet. The restaurant was fairly full, so I assume that is why the service was abnormally slow. The hotel that Frank & Lola's is in is beautiful, and the gift shop is lovely. The atmosphere is spot on, but the service could use some fine tuning. Only eat here if you are on island time and have plenty of time to waste.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    94
    43
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee, wi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overall good place to eat”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We ate here a few times on our trip. Overall nice, food was good, waitstaff pleasant, only negative was the service seemed very slow, even when the restaurant was mostly empty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ktsweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average Dinner”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We ate here the first night we got to Pensacola because we were pooped from the day of traveling. We enjoyed our meal but have definitely had better. We ordered the seasonal vegetables which came out half frozen. We both had sandwiches, which were good. The drinks were good. The staff is great though! You can also sit outside over looking the beach, which is nice! We think Pensacola Beach has better restaurants, but this one works if you just want to grab a quick bite and move on!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileiah, Manager at Frank and Lola Love Pensacola Cafe, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for joining us for dinner. We apologize for your vegetables and hope you let your server know. I will be passing this along to our executive Chef so he can ensure proper preparation. Our views are sensational and we always strive to provide great service which it sounds like we delivered on!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Margaritaville Wedding”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Excellent food!!! We ate here several times during our 5 night stay and everything was always outstanding. The best omelets around!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brittney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileiah, Manager at Frank and Lola Love Pensacola Cafe, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
I hear you had a blast at the wedding! Thank you for coming to eat with us so many times during your stay, breakfast always hits the spot as our omelets are tasty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Making a special trip from Perdido Key to see this spectacular hotel and enjoy a wonderful meal, we were really disappointed. The hotel itself is beautiful. Expect to pay$5 valet parking to avoid a long walk up the front entrance. Once inside we were hoping to see a festive colorful restaurant . Instead, it is conservative addition to the large bar area. The waitress was not happy to see us as there was no smile or "Hi, I'm Kayla". We were presented our menus and she left to get our drinks. Upon her return I asked if the Gumbo was spicy hot, and with a blank look she replied "I don't know, I don't eat seafood". OK! Forget about asking for a recommendation or being helpful. I got the special of the house "Mac &Cheese with shrimp and crabmeat". The others got gumbo, crabcakes, and roast chicken salad. Mac & Cheese was very good and a large serving. The lettuce wedge was very large and I split with my husband. The gumbo was good and not too spicy. Crabcakes were not as good as other places down here and neither was the chicken salad. We asked for to go boxes and she brought two small clear flimsy plastic boxes, I told her I didn't think the rest of my mac and cheese would hold up in it, could she bring a Styrofoam box, She looked blank again and said they didn't have Styrofoam. Ok,; do you have anything that is larger than a sandwich box?? She came back with an adequate box finally, Needless to say, we were not asked if we wanted dessert, which we would have ordered but by that time we had enough of being there. We were finally given a smile when the bill was presented. Guess we were interrupting her break time. We bought several items in the small gift shop which was nice and the girl there was very friendly, It is a beautiful hotel, the beach is not as nice as some. Just wish the restaurant would have been a better experience,

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileiah, Manager at Frank and Lola Love Pensacola Cafe, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We are very sorry to hear about your experience and really would like to have you back. We have spoken to Kayla and reiterated our level of expectations as well as making sure we meet our guests expectations. Please contact our Food And Beverage manager Doug at dayres@margaritaville.com so we can make sure your next visit is what you would expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank and Lola Love Pensacola Cafe also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Frank and Lola Love Pensacola Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing