We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best on the Beach”

The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: After Toll Booth 1st Left
Description: The Grand Marlin Restaurant features a main dining area with a shucked to order oyster bar, exterior North Drop Bar overlooking the beautiful Santa Rosa Sound, and private meeting rooms. This Pensacola Beach restaurant, with an air of island casualness, serves the highest-quality cuisine, including the freshest local seafood featured on menus designed and printed daily to take advantage of the local bounty. The atmosphere creates a fusion of the Caribbean and the Pensacola Bay Area. Executive Chef Gregg McCarthy has a passion for great-tasting food and particularly loves working his culinary magic with fresh Gulf Coast seafood. Boaters and beach-goers feel comfortable in shorts and flip-flops at the oyster bar, in the dining room and at the North Drop Bar. The Grand Marlin has a space and atmosphere for all occasions and is looking forward to creating an authentic experience between time and tide.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“The Best on the Beach”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great atmosphere and menu. Have to make reservations, the bar has a great area outside with a water view. Lots of parking and variety of selections. The shrimp and grits great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mar w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,031
    330
    84
    38
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Unquestionably the best restaurant choice in Pensacola Beach”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had lunch at The Grand Marlin and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The location of the restaurant is striking, at the foot of the Bob Sikes Bridge and overlooking marinas and Santa Rosa Sound. The architecture and interior design of the restaurant are distinctively attractive. Dining is on the second and third levels, up a flight of stairs adorned with landscaping. (An elevator, of course, is also available.) The bar and dining area are part of a high-ceilinged, open concept, with retractable transparent curtains that can be open or shut, depending upon the temperatures and breezes at any particular time of year or any particular day, making this a really unique “indoors outdoors” dining concept. There was a refreshing breeze while we were there, along with lots of activity in the sound.

I chose the Grilled Tuna Burger as my lunch entree. It was made with sushi grade yellowfin tuna, marinated ginger slices, soy glaze, cilantro, and spicy mayonnaise, served on a toasted brioche bun. It comes with a side of Asian peanut slaw. I can’t recall having a sandwich this utterly delicious!

I could not more highly recommend The Grand Marlin!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter_01039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Seafood on the Gulf”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place is a spectacular seafood restaurant. Love the oysters on the half-shell. No one serves cleaner oysters on the half-shell.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We came here with friends who live in the area and had an excellent lunch here! The service was prompt and pleasant. Quite a view as well! The lobster fingers and oysters were delicious!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ens982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We recently ate here on our gulf coast tour. The food was very good. We had shrimp and grits, and ahi poke. Both wonderful. Beautifully prepared. Service was efficient. They had no available reservations, but we were told we could come and wait for an open table, which we did. We waited no longer than 10 min. So don't take no for an answer! Very nice view out to the water.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pkd80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing