We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, Fun Fun.”

The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: After Toll Booth 1st Left
Description: The Grand Marlin Restaurant features a main dining area with a shucked to order oyster bar, exterior North Drop Bar overlooking the beautiful Santa Rosa Sound, and private meeting rooms. This Pensacola Beach restaurant, with an air of island casualness, serves the highest-quality cuisine, including the freshest local seafood featured on menus designed and printed daily to take advantage of the local bounty. The atmosphere creates a fusion of the Caribbean and the Pensacola Bay Area. Executive Chef Gregg McCarthy has a passion for great-tasting food and particularly loves working his culinary magic with fresh Gulf Coast seafood. Boaters and beach-goers feel comfortable in shorts and flip-flops at the oyster bar, in the dining room and at the North Drop Bar. The Grand Marlin has a space and atmosphere for all occasions and is looking forward to creating an authentic experience between time and tide.
Stapleton, Alabama
Level Contributor
147 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun Fun.”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Fun place to be, eat drink and be merry at Pensacola Beach. Nice easy food, complete drinks menu. No hassles. just a fun time. The only thing not so good is getting to it. You really have to be careful driving. When you come through the "Pay toll booth" you see the Grand Marlin on your immediate left, but there is a medium between you and the restaurant. So you have to take the Next left, and double back into the not so big parking lot. It's a bit tricky getting in and out if there's a lot of traffic, especially when people have been to the beach all day, are tired and not watching too closely. Other than that. the Restaurant is fine. there' an elevator to take you up to it or stairs if you prefer. Parking is a bit tight. Prices are in keeping with other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kanukgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    981
    319
    79
    36
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Food awesome, noise level high”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Dinner was very good and the service was also spot on. We choose to eat in the North Drop bar area, so it was busy and very loud. However the view of the sound was nice. Good people watching too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD, SERVICE, WINE AND BOURBON LIST”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Dined last night and the food, service, wine and bourbon list were fantastic. We started out with cocktails and had one of the best martinis. We followed this with wedge salads with blue cheese dressing, fantastic and could be a meal in itself. Entrees included salmon, crab cakes and braised pork shank, all fantastic. We did serve room for dessert, a creme broule and carrot cake which also were excellent. My choice for dessert was a bourbon, and I tasted a new one, Eagle Rare. This restaurant had the most comprehensive wine and bouron list that I can recall in recent times. Highly recommend this restaurant. Total bill for a martini and bourbon, bleau cheese wedge salad, braised pork shank was $60, which I thought was reasonable. Also let me give kudos to our waitress, Kayia, who was extremely knowledge on the entire menu. Service was outstanding.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“MATT THE BARTENDER ...excellent service, food, location”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

You cant go wrong with this restaurant. The deck is expansive ,covered, heated (w/ heat lamps) and have floor to deck windows overlooking the water. Seating is ample with at least 30 well placed tables for dinning. The bar offers full menu dining , and also has plenty of seating. I love the breathtaking view from the deck . In the winter the windows are covered with ultra clear covers that can be rolled up on warm days. A tropical paradise
We sit on the deck ......love the views. At the bar .....love the service Matt provides. We want for nothing . He notices if the food is prepared as ordered , remembers your name and how you like your drinks .Ok , We like Matt. We ate here a year ago he remembered us.
The food is delicious and consistently good. The lump crab cakes were just that , lump crab . I had prime rib with boursin cheese grits and green beans. He had the rib eye, green beans with perfect fries .
The drinks menu is out of this world. I had The White Marlin martini. There was so many delicious sounding drinks . They do have an on line menu. We were here on a Sunday for my husbands birthday. The brunch menu looked great and they serve $2 mimosas and poinsettia . For desert compliments for the birthday guy a praline cup filled with ice cream and covered with all sorts of goodness. He doesn't even like nuts...but he ate it all.
We left went sightseeing , came back for happy hour $ 5 full size burgers and Blue Angel chips ( these are to die for)

There is also a large indoor restaurant with full service large bar and a gift shop. This is a must go to restaurant. Ask for Matt at the bar. I told him I was going to review the restaurant with pictures last time we were there . So Matt like last years picture.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bopinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
273 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The food, service, and drinks are consistently good.. The outside patio or inside are both great atmospheres, but I prefer the inside b/c of the sunsets. The BBQ shrimp appetizer and any off the grilled fish entrees are delicious. Don't miss out on desserts with my favorite being the praline ice cream.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing