We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal”

The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: After Toll Booth 1st Left
Description: The Grand Marlin Restaurant features a main dining area with a shucked to order oyster bar, exterior North Drop Bar overlooking the beautiful Santa Rosa Sound, and private meeting rooms. This Pensacola Beach restaurant, with an air of island casualness, serves the highest-quality cuisine, including the freshest local seafood featured on menus designed and printed daily to take advantage of the local bounty. The atmosphere creates a fusion of the Caribbean and the Pensacola Bay Area. Executive Chef Gregg McCarthy has a passion for great-tasting food and particularly loves working his culinary magic with fresh Gulf Coast seafood. Boaters and beach-goers feel comfortable in shorts and flip-flops at the oyster bar, in the dining room and at the North Drop Bar. The Grand Marlin has a space and atmosphere for all occasions and is looking forward to creating an authentic experience between time and tide.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stopped in for lunch, and had a wonderful meal! Had the fried shrimp and it was excellent. Best fried shrimp I have ever had. The tuna appetizer was also excellent! We sat out on the outdoor deck area and smelled the great salty sea. Beautiful resturant and would recommend it to anyone. One of the most go resturants in Pensacola Beach area for dinner or lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    955
    314
    79
    36
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What you would expect if you have high standards!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Grand Marlin lets the ingredients shine. The food is fresh and well prepared. Their use of local ingredients is great and they are fresh! They have good service. They obviously train their wait staff well. We went their on two separate occasions and had great service. We've had a great consistent experience! The kids also enjoyed the food. Our son (8) (husband too) loved the local raw oysters and our daughter loved the flounder. It was well prepared and they loved it! This is also a good place for kids if they are well behaved as this is an upscale, casual restaurant for locales as well as tourists to experience.

We had the Flounder, Red Snapper, and Triple Tail as well as the raw oysters. We will visit this place again if we find ourselves in Pensacola Beach in the future!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freeheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere. Pretty good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We were there on a Sunday night and were lucky to catch a live band outside on the deck. Really enjoyed that. Our drinks and appetizer were excellent. I had the cucumber and sage sangria. Very refreshing. I really enjoyed my meal. Swordfish. My husband thought his was just ok. Spent $100. We each had 2 adult beverages, an appetizer, and our meals. Not the most expensive meal we've had but not cheap. The service was top notch. Overall we really enjoyed our experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenhall139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
164 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“First class for fish dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

During a fortnight's stay in Pensacola we didn't find anywhere to beat this so we kept going back. Every fish dish was cooked to perfection - on busy nights when the kitchen was obviously under pressure, the presentation wasn't perfect, but no matter, it's the taste that counts! We never booked but never had to wait too long for a table. The 'meet and greet' at reception could be improved - the young girls we encountered seemed a bit bored. For two starters, two mains, one dessert, one glass of wine, our bill averaged around 70 dollars. You could eat much, much cheaper but I doubt you'd eat better in this sunshine resort where the sand really is like sugar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special treatment for a special night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The staff at the Grand Marlin went out of their way to help make our anniversary celebration a wonderful time! Great food, outstanding service and fantastic wine in a tropical setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curvy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing