We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice overpriced stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margaritaville Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice overpriced stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

This place was pretty nice, but I don't think it was worth the cost. The view was great overlooking the Gulf and the room was nice. We have stayed in places with great rooms, great views, great food and service for alot less money. If cost isn't an issue with you, you will like this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    236
    64
    18
    20
See reviews for
304
486
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

The Margaritaville Hotel was one of the best places I've ever stayed at. The hotel is beautiful with the ocean and sand color displayed thru out the hotel. Very clean and the staff was very friendly.
The beach is so beautiful and the sand is so white that it looks like snow.
Landsharks is a open air restaurant and a very fun place.
Someone commented on an earlier review that you had to go up steps and then down steps to get to the beach. That is because you have to get over the sand dunes that protect the hotel. Every hotel has this. Not a big deal. Its worth the few steps to get to the beautiful beach.
I would definately come back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiggJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

I read the reviews of the Margaretville Hotel and I think some people just wanted to complain without really taking the place in. There are a few items I would like correct!

Beach Access
Yes, it is limited but not to the fault of the hotel…Blame the Sea Oats! They cannot destroy sea oats to make multiple paths, so they made a walk over where they could. It accessed by walking straight out the back door of the lobby. (not hard to get too)

Landshark Landing
It may be a little ways away from the Hotel (aka across the parking lot). But valet will take you there and back on a golf cart for free…no walking or worrying about the ramp! And as far as Kids Menu, the Landings entire menu is kid friendly (burger, fingers, etc), my kids found no problem with this menu.

Pool
First off, it has beach access (RayRay863 is wrong!) on the far side of the pool there are stairs that lead down to the sand and you can walk over to the beach. Yes, the pool isn’t the biggest on the beach but it is very nice. Beside wait a year, THEY ARE BUILDING A WATER PARK on the site!

THE STAFF
Everyone was wonderful. The Staff on the Landing played with my kids, sat down and told us about not only the hotel but Pensacola. They remember our names! After the first day, I felt like I was at Cheers ( you get it?). Although the staff at Frank and Lola’s didn’t sit down and get to know us like the Landing staff, everyone was still very nice. Everyone at the Hotel would say hello anytime, I saw them!

Overall, is there things that could be improved on, Always. Was it a horrible experience? NO! For those who complained…Stop looking for the negative and it is paradise there! I now know why Jimmy could sing about paradise …He grew up there!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysonVacainParadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Only had one night to spend in Pensacola Beach and my husband being a Jimmy Buffet fan, we had to stay at Margaritaville. As soon as you walk in the front door your eyes are drawn right out to the view of the Gulf. You see the view from everywhere in the lobby area and also from Frank and Lola's Restaurant.
The room is just perfect. You have a feeling that you are in a beautifully furnished condo right on the beach. There is a mural on the wall as soon as you enter that just sets the mood for the room. The bathroom is very modern even including a Keurig coffee machine, with an assortment of coffees.
My only complaint is the sink in the bathroom is so shallow, maybe only two inches deep, that it was very difficult to hold water in it to shave.
We did get to sit on the beach about 5pm for a short time, and we were totally annoyed by all the flies out there. Maybe that is a seasonal thing though. I was not impressed by the fact you have to rent cushions for the chairs - $25 a day for two including an umbrella. We did not even have that option since they were all put away by the time we went down there.
We did not eat at Frank and Lola's just because there are so many cute restaurants in the area and we read some not-so-good reviews here about the restaurant.
Next visit to Pensacola Beach we will definitely allow more time to spend at Margaritaville.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthego25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at the Margaritaville with a large group for a wedding. The staff was so helpful, friendly and accommodating. Everyone who worked there just couldn't do enough to make our stay delightful. The hotel is beautiful, the food delicious and the rooms very comfortable. Music at the Landshark was great! It was a fantastic experience and we will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spp852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

New jimmy buffet hotel/restraunt. Very good service, food, beach. Everyone is friendly. A must stay in pensacola.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxporschxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

We are Jimmy Buffet fans and were excited to visit this hotel, we had even talked friends from the northeast into traveling down to stay the weekend with us at this hotel. The hotel looks very nice and it is located in a very good spot right on the beach within walking distance of some touristy restaurants that become nightclubs at night. We were traveling with an 18 month old child and had just assumed we would spend most of our time at the beach and the hotel since they had two places to eat and drink. Although the staff was friendly they were horrible at service. I am not sure that I can put into words how bad the service was at both the Frank & Lola's restaurant and the Landshark Landing. There was not a children's menu and one morning we asked for just a single pancake for our child as a side, they have side toast and bacon etc., we were told we would have to buy the full stack of 4 pancales for an 18 month old child, no problem, except they then missed some of the side items that were supposed to come on our plates, when we asked for the items, we were told we were wrong and had to show the waitstaff what was on the menu. The next day the waitress, which we had never seen before was about the best we had the whole weekend, she offered without hesitation to make a side pancake for our child. We soldiered on though and spent as much time around the hotel as possible. My friends and I had chose this weekend because it was opening weekend of NFL football and we thought we would watch at the Landshark Landing. We had already experienced the waitstaff standing around the two previous nights and not doing much waiting on you to get drinks and we mostly went to the bar for our drinks. When football came on sunday, there werenot many people but plenty of waitstaff, we actually sat down and waited to see if we could get service, we had planned to eat and drink most of the day, after 25 minutes with waitstaff looking past us, walking past us and for some reason thinking that we did not need service, even when we tried to flag them down, we eventually went to the bar and started ordering our drinks and our food. Hoorible experience. The hits just kept coming though with our room, we spent four nights in an executive suite, priced around $400 a night and the cleaning of that room was completely deficient. We had to ask the maids to clean better, inform the front desk of the deficiencies, go to the maids cart and get replacement goods, after they had been to the room, and we actually had to keep our own and our son's shoes on when in the room otherwise the bottom of our feet turned black from the dirt and not having been cleaned. I do admit that we may have tracked some sand in from the beach, but it was obvious that this was not all us. When we checked out I asked for a manager and it was very clear that they were not very concerned about our issues and did very little to try and get us to come back to the hotel. If we do ever go back, it will only be if they have listed themselves on one of the travel discount sites and we would not spend the money we did at the restaurants and facilities and especially not the money on the room itself. We would probably spend more time exploring the outlying restaurants near the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjl107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pensacola Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beac...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#5 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
4.0 mi away
Portofino Island Resort
Portofino Island Resort
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
#10 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaritaville Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaritaville Beach Hotel

Property: Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Address: 165 Fort Pickens Road, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-2007
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaritaville Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the lyrics and lifestyle of Jimmy Buffett, the hotel’s sense of place and attention to detail make it the perfect setting for guests who want to escape the everyday, engage their senses and make lasting memories. Anyone who has ever dreamed of escaping to a tropical island and sipping a margarita will enjoy being immersed in the Margaritaville experience at this hotel.The Margaritaville Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach sits on over 800 feet of gulf-front property. An additional 800 feet overlooks the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Margaritaville Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing