We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good beachside hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margaritaville Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good beachside hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My fears when booking this hotel would be that I would be assaulted by giant parrots and loudspeakers blaring Jimmy Buffet. It's actually a very clean, well appointed beach hotel with a relaxed and upscale atmosphere. It has its own stretch of beach with seating. The establishment has small problems that keep it from being perfect. The seat cushions and umbrellas for the provided seating are only provided at extra cost by a 3rd party company. There are pictures of hammocks on the property. These are actually at the restaurant next door. They are cut off from the gulf (and the sea breeze) by a large sandbar and have absolutely no cover from the sun. The hammocks were essentially solar cookers and nobody used them. The lobby restaurant actually made me sick the one time I ate there. Otherwise the rooms were beautiful and kept immaculate by the staff. If I ever found myself making a return to Pensacola I'd use this facility again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottw8063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari R, Front Office Manager at Margaritaville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback. Please email me KRandle@margaritaville.com or give us a call about your experience in the restaurant. We are terribly sorry to hear you became ill. Thank you again and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    236
    64
    18
    20
See reviews for
304
486
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The property is very well-maintained and the rooms are larger than average chain hotels, but they are shower only. There are daily activities for children such as decorating a sea shell collecting bag or sand bucket and for adults like decorating a margarita glass and margarita tastings. The free activities fill up fast, so get there before start time to be assured you get a spot. They also have other things available such as a dolphin cruise and art camps for an additional fee. The beach access is very convenient, but there is a charge for lounge chairs and umbrellas. It was definitely not inexpensive, but the price is comparable to other hotels in the area. The bar menu is reasonable and the food and drinks were pretty good. Pool area is nice, but small and ran out of pool towels one day. Overall, we definitely recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed. Any inconveniences were minor, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gracelandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari R, Front Office Manager at Margaritaville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback. We are certainly family friendly and are always looking into new and fun "Create your own souvenirs". Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I liked the place. My husband and I visited last month and we found the hotel, the beach and the beach bar all very delightful. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. We thought the hotel and the hotel rooms were clean and unique. We had a regular oceanview room for one night and decided to see how much the rooms were with the wrap around balcony on the end. They upgraded us with no extra charge. I'm sure it doesn't happen all the time but we sure appreciated it! The showers in these rooms are enormous! We enjoyed the idea of just "stumbling next door to the bar". The Landshark Bar is detached from the hotel but within short walking distant. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant and bar so I can't report on that. The price of the beers around the pool are way to expensive, just saying.
We look forward to our return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeZDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari R, Front Office Manager at Margaritaville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback and for choosing to stay with us. Upgrades are definitely a perk and we love being able to enhance anyone's vacation experience! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, the rooms are nice and well appointed and it has great potential, unfortunately there are several misses. The rooms are great and is the bright spot of the property, unfortunately the TV is very small, which is my only complaint on the room. The staff is friendly, but very young. It is as if they are trying hard, but just don't get it. Many awkward conversations and odd looks when you make a simple request. There were also multiple times when staff were caught up in personal conversations as you either listened or awaited service. The pool was nice, but somewhat small (narrow) considering the size of the hotel. On the day of my arrival, they didn't have any pool towels. After waiting for over two hours, I was told the laundry was backed up. Pool chairs are very uncomfortable and many have metal rails and armrests, which will burn you when trying to use them.

As anyone knows who visits Pensacola, there isn't a top notch hotel. This could top the list of those available with a few improvements.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank climbtosafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari R, Front Office Manager at Margaritaville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the issues that you hadduring your stay. We are always looking to be the best of the best and will look into these suggestions. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I made reservations for June1-3 for a short getaway with my wife. After I made the reservations I decided to read some review's, boy was that a mistake. I almost cancelled my reservation because of some of the negative reviews.

Here's the truth. It's a great place to RELAX and enjoy the beach. It is a beach hotel and in the style of the Caribbean/Jimmy Buffett it's laid back. Don't expect servers at your side constantly.

Everyone who worked there was polite and professional.

The Hotel is clean, beautiful and well maintained.

The rooms are large, the beds remind me of the Heavenly beds used at Westin Resorts.

Unlike other guest, I enjoyed the view from the bay side. At night the reflection of the lights off the bay are beautiful.

Yes, it's kinda expensive but you get what you pay for. Oh, you are only a short walk from the shop and bar area which is nice.

I will return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari R, Front Office Manager at Margaritaville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
What a title!! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our property and amenities. Looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

When you're planning a road trip from Austin, TX to Florida (June 30-July 5) with a 5 and a 3yr old... you want to make sure you make an educated choice for a great and relaxing (but fun) place to stay. I read ALL of the reviews for multiple hotels in Pensacola Beach, and kept coming back to Margaritaville. The hotel is beautiful! Great location on the gulf AND the bay. Stunning lobby that is tastefully done with subtle beach colors and decor; but, what stood out the most after a long car ride... the people. Practically everyone that works there looks like they are HAPPY to work there, and make you feel WELCOME immediately. From the valet/door guys when you drive up, to the front desk, to the maids and room service group... Excellent service and attitude.The rooms are spacious, clean, comfy bed (although ours squeaked a bit), fantastic shower (trust me), and if you can get a gulf view room... it is WORTH it! There are little things that become BIG. Like a covered parking garage with access to the beach AND to the rooms, so you don't have to walk through the lobby in your swim gear with sand going everywhere. Beach is beautiful with direct hotel access to the clean white sand. Only complaint... Why do you charge by the hour to have a chair and umbrella? I can understand if you are visiting the beach; but, should be included for people actually staying at Margaritaville (just a thought). We spent EVERY day at Landing Shark (on the property) where we could watch the kids play. That was nice when you don't want to go over to the boardwalk. Also, the free trolley (from 4pm) right outside the hotel was awesome. Nevertheless, we made the right choice!

Room Tip: Don't even question it. Get a gulf side view room if they have one available. The view speaks fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AustinGlobetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari R, Front Office Manager at Margaritaville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback. Choosing to stay with us after much deliberation, is a great honor! Beach service is an optional service and is why we do not include it in the cost of the room. We certainly are looking forward to having your family here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Everything was great!! Loved everthing about this hotel. Rooms had awesome views, large over sized showers, and loved the beach feel of the decor. Pool was neat for kids, enter at either end w/5ft in middle of pool. I think my son had the most fun at the pool! Pool area had a bar w/ covered seating w/tables and a view of beach. Great rooms, pool, food, drinks, service, and helpful front desk. We will stay here again....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flipflop444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari R, Front Office Manager at Margaritaville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We designed the pool with everyone in mind and I'm glad it worked for your family. We look forward to your next visit! And hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pensacola Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beac...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#5 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
4.0 mi away
Portofino Island Resort
Portofino Island Resort
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
#10 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaritaville Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaritaville Beach Hotel

Property: Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Address: 165 Fort Pickens Road, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-2007
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaritaville Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the lyrics and lifestyle of Jimmy Buffett, the hotel’s sense of place and attention to detail make it the perfect setting for guests who want to escape the everyday, engage their senses and make lasting memories. Anyone who has ever dreamed of escaping to a tropical island and sipping a margarita will enjoy being immersed in the Margaritaville experience at this hotel.The Margaritaville Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach sits on over 800 feet of gulf-front property. An additional 800 feet overlooks the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Margaritaville Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing