We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the Guided Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Pickens

Fort Pickens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can take a self-guided tour of this authentic fort active during the Civil War and later used as a jail to hold the infamous American Indian chief Geronimo.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
381 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Take the Guided Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Awash in history, this is a must visit for anyone who visits Pensacola. Take the guided tour as it is JUST a fort if you don't get the guides rendition of the history of the grounds. The information about the history is amazing. A must see and do.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HCLBRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    349
    50
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was unaware that Fort Pickens existed.. we were exploring through Gulf Islands National Seashore and stumbled upon an amazing piece of history! I definitely recommend visiting this while you are on vacation!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissMeaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Visited the fort while spending a week at the Fort Pickens campground. Enjoyed our day at the fort, and it was very nice to ride our bikes over to the fort. Did not take advantage of the guided tour as there is a self guided one. Would recommend anyone take a couple hours and visit if in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamaicameonemoretime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Beautiful, Historic Place to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Fort Pickens is part of the National Park System's Gulf Islands National Seashore Park. There is a fee for vehicles of individuals to drive out to the end of the island where Fort Pickens is. The fort itself is mostly in ruins, but there are many places to climb and explore. My children loved exploring the fort and the passageways. It is necessary to use caution since the fort was not built for safety and it is in ruins. Do not go expecting demonstrations or living history like at other forts in the national park system. However, it is a large area and the beaches near the fort are some of the most beautiful in the US. The drive out to the fort takes a little time since it is about 7 miles with speed limits of 20 mph. However, it is worth the drive and the visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelerCentralFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very interesting history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This fort has a very interesting history, and our guide was very informative. Used during the Civil War, it was anything but a cherry assignment for soldiers! It was hot, the water was infested, and they suffered greatly. But they've done a great job of restoring some of the fort and it was interesting to visit. I'd recommend this to anyone visiting this area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Pickens also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Fort Pickens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing