We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

On the positive side the room was clean and the view was nice of the beach. On the improvements side- bed was uncomfortable--room had high noise level from hallway- breakfast was cold an unremarkable and both check in and out clerks were not very helpful. Stayed at multiple Hamptons before and this is unfortunately the worst on multiple levels. Everybody has a bad day--- maybe this was there's and it was a not repeatable experience. Hope so.

Room Tip: Double check the adds. Beach access from room means go down the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPenBeach, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We are so sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay. We appreciate your input and we will make sure these issues are addressed accordingly. We hope that this does not defer you from staying with us again in the future and hope we can turn that disappointing experience around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,293 - 1,299 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

This Hampton Inn has a great breakfast. Room furnishings are older, but suitable. Gulf view room has an awesome balcany with a great view of the gulf. White sand beaches are beautiful, and many restaurants are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPenBeach, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and gulf front views.
The Summer is a great time to spend with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We wanted a hotel on the beach for our second honeymoon so I reluctantly booked this one - reluctantly because everyone - including me - from Michigan gets that 'just sucked a lemon' look when 'the panhandle' is stated as a vacation destination. With good reason. This hotel is in a jam-packed area and is reminiscent of Atlantic City - commercial, too-crowded, tacky bar and store fronts - all of which are not in the photos online anywhere. We booked 4 wks in advance by calling the hotel front desk to ask questions about what we were getting into. We booked a full ocean view room, and I was very specific: not near the pool, not near elevator, ice/vending machines, custodian closets, etc.
Because the hotel person didn't tell us there's no Pensacola Beach that GPS identifies and we would have had to put it in as Gulf Shores, we ended up after 15-16 hrs in the car in the ghetto of Pensacola, surrounded by pawn shops and liquor stores with bars over the doors and windows, trying to figure out where the hotel was. We finally got there, and were given a room right over the top of the pool - where I asked to not be put (think screaming kids at 10 am). I immediately called the front desk and one of the two college-aged kids there said, "Well I can move you but OBVIOUSLY not tonight!" - Well, it wasn't so 'obvious' to me why he couldn't move us right then. The next morning I went to the hotel manager at the front desk who was very friendly and apologetic for the kid at the desk the night before. Bless her heart, she went out of her way to make things right, offering us a room at the Holiday Inn Resort 2 doors down and said the Hampton would honor our room rate and they would be billed for the difference. As I was there, another hotel guest came to the desk and started talking to a clerk there. She was upset because they had booked her husband and her right next to the hotel workout room and all night long she said people were pounding away on the treadmills and dropping weights, keeping them up all night. The clerk was going to do nothing for her, so I butted in and said, "Oh, you know they have a 100% satisfaction guarantee, don't you?" The clerk glared at me and then said nothing about it, didn't look up, and said she'd give it to her. The hotel guests wandering around the free breakfast buffet were the seediest group I've ever seen at a Hampton or any other hotel... one guy was downright scary with his ghetto gang person attire (my husband got a glimpse of him later and said the same thing) and I rode down in the elevator with some heavily tattoo-ed bikers - they said good morning to me, which was nice, but I was grateful when the elevator doors opened and I could get out.
In fairness, I have to high-five the 2 hotel managers I spoke with in the morning, both were EXCELLENT and went out of their way. However, the hotel is badly laid out: you either get a side of the hotel over the pool where kids/teens yell and scream or you get the center of the hotel which is where the elevator and vending/ice machines are on every floor, so you hear that all night - and as I found out, somewhere out there is a workout room that's also a nightmare to be near.
We checked out and spent the next day driving to south Florida where we had an excellent, quiet, relaxing stay! This hotel chain is a good value, and the managers were great, but the area this is in, the kids who run at the desk at night, the person who booked our room after I talked to him for 15-20 minutes being very specific only to not get what I asked for when we arrived, and the clientele at the place all were far too much for us to stay.

Room Tip: There really are no good rooms if you want a quiet, peaceful place to stay and to sleep - hotel is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPenBeach, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Please let us apologize for your experience and I'm glad we could assist in accommodating you. We never want our guests to have an unpleasant stay with us and we will use your review for future training opportunities to do everything we can to ensure our guests are taken care of and treated with the utmost value and respect. We hope we can restore your confidence in us and serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Pensacola Beach Fl Hampton Inn lived up to expectation of a Hampton Inn with the exception of the lack of wired Internet connectivity. Staff was friendly and pleasant. Rooms were on par with all other Hampton Inns I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ruxton I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPenBeach, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

We are thrilled you had a pleasant stay with us. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here 18 months ago and this time got to bring my wife with me. She loved this place as much as I do! The hotel is starting to show her age but everything was very clean and in good working condition. Every staff member we met was friendly. The free breakfast was a very nice start to each morning. We stayed 7 nights. Really, once we parked here, we never had to drive anywhere. The beach is right out the door. There are about 5 restrauants within a short walk. There are two souvinier shops just across the street and a gas station that sells beer & booze just down the road.

There are two pools, one is heated. That was nice because the early mornings were chilly. The beach is awesome! No rocks or weeds. The Tiki bar is cool, but expensive. We perfered to have our evening drinks over at Crabs.

We had a beachfront room with a balcony. The view was beautiful!!! The hotel does have a laundry room up on the 4th floor. It has two washers and two dryers and everything worked fine. I think the cost was $1.50 per wash and $1.50 per dry cycle. The dry cycle is an hour! I was very happy with the laundry room., and they just painted it while we were there. The coin operated soap dispenser was out of order but you can get some at the front desk.

Overall, we are delighted with this Hampton and will certainly be back next year!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, very west end. We liked the easy access to Crabs from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasun1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPenBeach, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

So happy to hear that you were able to bring your wife with you to Pensacola Beach this time. We are so glad she enjoyed staying with us and enjoyed Pensacola Beach. We look forward to seeing you and your wife again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hotel was very nice for the price and ideally situated on the beach within walking distance to many nice restaurants. The staff were very helpful and knowledgable of the area. They were quick to respond to our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Berry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPenBeach, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you so much we are happy to hear you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is an EXCELLENT Hampton Inn.
-Direct access to the beautiful beach
-Two outdoor pools
-Clean and spacious rooms
-Helpful staff
You cannot beat the value of this hotel, with its beachfront location, walk-ability to restaurants, great rooms, and free breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPenBeach, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

That is so true! Pensacola Beach is indeed one of the Hidden Gems of the Gulf Coast! Not a lot of people know about Pensacola Beach which is nice for our guests because the beaches are not crowded. We are so happy that you had the chance to visit us and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola Beach
0.1 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
2,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pe...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
722 reviews
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
#10 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,060 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach

Address: 2 Via De Luna Drive, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range: $94 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach hotel, we want to help you make memories. Whether you're here alone or with a loved one, for business or for pleasure, for a night or for a week - we promise to give you our all. We're located right on the beach in some of the whitest sand you'll ever see. That's right. Take off your shoes. Sink your toes into it. Walk a few steps, and dip them in the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico. We know that all travelers are different, and everyone wants something unique from their stay. Children's activities? We've got 'em. Poolside lounge chairs? We've got those, too. But more than towels and room service, we've got a team ready to share real deal, true blue local flavor with you and yours. All you have to do is ask. We're right in the center of everything this beachside town has to offer, within walking distance of the best restaurants and activities. When you stay with us, you're just minutes away from a fresh fish dinner, parasailing adventure, shopping or spa treatments. We want to help you 'live like a local,' with recommendations for whatever suits your vacation or business needs. Ready to explore? We're just a short drive to Gulf Coast attractions including the National Naval Aviation Museum, Gulf Islands National Seashore and Fort Pickens, Historic Downtown Pensacola, Pensacola Lighthouse, Blue Wahoos Baseball Stadium, Veterans Memorial Park, Pensacola Bay Center and the Saenger Theater. So whatever you want to do during your stay, we can help you get there. Just ask one of our Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach hotel team members to share their local knowledge. Our commitment to extraordinary hospitality makes us mindful of the little things - because we know the little things add up to one big, memorable experience. Make the Hampton Inn hotel your home on Pensacola Beach, FL, where friendly service and exceptional amenities are the foundation of our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach Hotel Pensacola Beach
Hampton Beach Hotel
Pensacola Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing