We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring some food :)”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hosteria De Canete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hosteria De Canete
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canete
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bring some food :)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went on a coach trip to Cuenca and ended up in here in Canete 50 miles away in this 3 star HOSTEL NOT HOTEL.
Room and bathroom were not clean.
The food was really disappointing as our friends had been on this coach trip and had said it was fab.
No one at our table of ten ate the first lunch as it was obviously reheated from the previous night.
Dinner was the same but lots of bread and wine made it better.
Breakfast, lol, cold old bread toasted for 3 seconds served with 1 marmalade & 1 butter. They did in their defense give you some bacon & an egg.
The last dinner "British" food , cold burnt chicken with cold frozen chips :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McChef22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We travelled to the medievel town of Canete by coach staying at the hotel which is situated in attractive countryside about 50km from Cuenca. Canete is a small town and we had a guided tour and saw the waterfall and local sights, we also managed a quick walk before dinner to the local virgin statue about 20mins. The next day we had a tour of Cuenca which is famous for its hanging houses over the river gorge. We visited Ciudad Encantada (Eternal City) with its rock formations afterwards our guide organised a surprise of Jamon, cheese & wine. The Hotel was fairly basic but with very clean en suite rooms, it was very hot when we arrived and seeing that our room lacked aire conditioning or a fan was an instant concern - we did not find this a problem as the room was quite cool. There was the use of a public swimming pool over the road which was free to guests. The staff didn't speak much English but this wasn't a problem they were all very pleasant and helpful - would definitely recommend for full Spanish experience.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a balcony which didn't really bother us we were at the back of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nessie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Travelled here from La Zenia outside Torrevieja on an organised coach tour of the Cuenca Region from our home on the Costa Blanca. The hotel did organise an eating event that was second to none so far. this meal was prepared and cooked (im told in typical spanis style) with the help of six members of our large tour group. Entertainment was a mixture of Spanish and English music with plenty of dancing going on. This was organised by the hotel owner and his staff in a nearby nature park at the source of the Rio Cuervo - which was just outstanding setting

This Hotel is situated on the edge of the small medieval township of Canete in attractive countryside, and is within easy walking distance to the small town centre. It is quiet and rural and approx 50km from the city of Cuenca.

Cuenca old part of the city is a must see for its hanging houses over the river gorge its cathedral and its many fine buildings. Also recommend visit to Ciudad Encantada (Eternal City) with its remarkable rock formations and to very picturesqe and unspoilt medieval town of Albarracin with its fortifications, cathedral and narrow winding passageways.

The Hotel itself forms fairly basic clean quiet accomodation with full en suite facilities in large rooms. Breakfast is mostly simple continental - although our tour group had negotiated English egg and bacon as well. Otherwise set meals are local Spanish food which we enjoyed sampling.

Hotel staff were very friendly and obliging. Hotel owner is most obliging gentleman (little English) but addressed our group with a Spanish thank you that was much appreciated.

Highly recommended by all.

Room Tip: We had double room on the first floor with outdoor balcony with great view of the mountains and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 454John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

In this hotel everything was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful.In the bar a big open real log fire welcomes travellers. The food was basic, but good and plentiful. Canete is a nice small town, but quite a trip to Cuenca.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar de la Horadada, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have stayed here twice for two nights and three fun filled days with different groups of friends (Neighbours Association and Sailing Club). The hotel staff are exceptional and join in all the activities of the trip, including a few surprises. Go on a diet before you go as the food and wine keep coming! The visit to Ciudad Encantada (Enchanted City) is not what you might expect but is not to be missed. Lovely countryside all round the area = try to go when either the sunflowers or poppies are in full bloom. If you're looking for a place and a trip for a group of friends to get to know each other better in a lovely part of Spain, this is it. The village of Cañete is in the mountains so, if you go in the Autumn, evenings and nights can be chilly but fresh.

Room Tip: Avoid a few small rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeinSpain_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Campo
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Hotel Staff are friendly and welcoming. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. We were part of a Coach Trip and if you get chance when going to the Enchanted City ask for Sara to go with you. Great fun!!
Food is plentiful as is the wine and water.
The climb up to Jesus is well worth the effort.

Room Tip: If possible request a room at the back as the view is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clementina06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspe Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

After an incident free bus journey lasting three hours plus, from the nearest pick-up point of Quesada, including courtesy stop en route, we arrived at the 3*star hostel located within walking distance of the large village of Cañete. It is a clean, three storey freshly-painted, imposing and elevated hotel with the most obliging and friendly staff that we have yet to meet in Spain. The rooms can be fairly described as basic but more than adequate, matching the rating given to this 'hostel'. To put it in perspective, we would go back privately, since we enjoyed our stay there. We were put in a room on the third floor, which had a sloping roof, fully functional and equipped bathroom, and high narrow window. The only drawback was the low wardrobe built into the eaves. The full board option was really good, with food,wine and water plentiful, varied and served promptly. Special attention was given to vegetarians. The quality of the food was good too, being described as typical of the region. Top notch, no, but at the price an exceptional deal; we had no complaints. Tipping of the staff by the coach occupants was miserly, considering the lengths to which the staff went to please us. Rosa Tours needs to address this problem. On leaving, the owner of the hotel and a lively staff member came out to blow kisses and wave us goodbye.

Room Tip: Stay 2 or 3 floors up; the dining room doubles as a dance floor, and the music played was NOT typica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BJEaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canete
23.3 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#8 of 11 in Cuenca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
24.8 mi away
Hotel LB Villa De Cuenca
0.4 mi away
Hostal La Muralla
Hostal La Muralla
#1 of 3 in Canete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
16.6 mi away
Tierras de Moya
Tierras de Moya
#4 of 38 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel El Gamo
Hotel El Gamo
#1 of 2 in Tragacete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria De Canete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria De Canete

Property: Hosteria De Canete
Address: Carretera Cuenca Teruel Km. 500, 16300 Canete, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Canete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria De Canete 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hosteria De Canete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria De Canete Spain - Province Of Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing