We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent bistro - go there!”
Review of Rouge Le Bistrot

Rouge Le Bistrot
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Hay on Wye
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent bistro - go there!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Rouge Bistro in the square of Tocane is a delight. Reasonably priced, excellent food and a lovely welcome. Good spot for a coffee or a beer to watch the world go by or to have a meal - Highly recommended!

John R

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    10
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“The place to be for a yummy dinner...”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Gorgeous place in the middle of the nice french country side. Paul & Janice are great and welcoming hosts. The dinner were excellent with a taste of Pacific... yummy ! All with fresh and seasoning products. The rooms in the courtyard are also to recommand, very nice and typical. Will go back for sure.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tocane Saint-Apre, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A pleasant, cheerful place with nice proprietors from New Zealand”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

A good place for a medium-priced meal that is just a bit different.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank JuliannaLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Do not miss out eating / staying in this gem of a restaurant/boutique hotel”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Finding this lovely restaurant / Boutique hotel was a very pleasant surprise. Our first visit was over 4 years ago and it we enjoyed every moment. We sat at our table in the square on a mild and balmy night and enjoyed excellent food, friendly service and the knowledge that we would eat here again. When we did return over a year later we were remembered which made us feel really welcome. Since then we have stayed in the hotel and eaten many times from an ever changing menu. What can we say? The rooms that we have stayed in are beautifully decorated and tasteful. They are really peaceful and there is the added bonus of a pool – much needed when the temperatures soar! Breakfast is also a friendly affair and there is wide range to choose from. I would recommend both eating in the restaurant and if you are looking for a break you will be happy with the rooms and service as we were. Tocane St-Apre is lovely as is the surrounding area. I would also add that the owners are really happy to share their extensive knowledge of the area and sit with you to make your break a great one. A rare find!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The winter menu was to die for. The owners Paul and Janice done all their own cooking and it was a lovely warm atmosphere. Very good value and would recommend it to everyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chessingtontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rouge Le Bistrot also viewed

 
Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine
 
Bourdeilles, Dordogne
Riberac, Dordogne
 

Been to Rouge Le Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing