I was a little concerned after booking & not having chance to read the reviews until later!! We didn't expect much of welcome but have to say that Wendy was absolutely fine. I must say that this was the first cottage we have stayed in when there was no welcome hamper. There was no tea, coffee, sugar, milk, foil, cling, kitchen towel, bread etc so make sure you take ample supplies. Although I have to say, as Wendy was leaving she did ask if I had some tea bags. The conversation itself was delightful, beautifully furnished with very comfortable beds & a well equipped kitchen. The only downside would have to be no heated towel rails in fact sadly there was a lack of towel rails full stop, thus our towels were constantly wet. I am not sure if the owners have had problems either with previous guests as on the wall was a large sign in bright red letters stating that all breakages would be paid for & nuisance guests removed!!! again something we have never come across in all the cottages we have stayed in.
The location is also beautiful with ample car parking & yes there was a lot of CCTV.
To sum up this really is a delightful property but just didn't feel very welcoming at all sorry.
Do not book this barn if you would like a relaxing stay. Keith is the rudest individual I have ever had the misfortune of meeting, he never came to check us in and flew off the handle when we noticed my mum's toy Chihuahua despite this property being 'pet friendly'. My mum was so upset she had to find alternative accommodation meaning I didn't get to spend time with her the night before my wedding as planned! Keith has then persisted to blame us for damaged to his hot tub cover which we simply removed to use the hot tub & replaced when done. He clearly doesn't like having large groups of people to stay at this large 10 guest property ... so he probably shouldn't be renting it out. He treats his guests appallingly and often partakes in name calling (so far I have been called a liar, a vandal & 'not straight'). The CCTV is also invasive & illegal as there are no signs advising that it is in operation and he does not comply with GDPR. If you do choose to rent this property my advice would be to photograph and document everything as he may try to commit fraud by charging money for damage you haven't caused.
It's a lovely place in a lovely location but the owner is terrifyingly intrusive. Don't book here unless you're OK with 5am 'inspections' and industrial grade CCTV monitoring your every move.
Particularly exciting were the escaped bulls that ended up in the driveway in the evening.
Other than that, yeah, great.
We went to Oakleigh Farm Barn for a weekend away with the girls and it was brilliant. Perfect place to stay with everything that we needed. Thanks for the owners for all of their help - it was nice to know that they were next door if we needed anything and they were not intrusive at all.
The Sun Inn down the road was lovely for lunch and eased off the hangovers from the Friday night.
We came here for a surprise 30th weekend, with 8 adults, a toddler, a baby and a dog. It was perfect for our party. The kitchen is really well equipped and a massive table to seat everyone round. The rooms were all comfortable and two had ensuites as well as a family bathroom. The hot tub is excellent and seats 8 but that gets quite cosy. The outdoor space was perfect for little people to run around in and play some garden games. The local pub was excellent and the hosts were very accommodating. We would highly recommend it!
We had a wonderful weekend away! Five adults and three children under six. I can't tell you how much the children enjoyed the hot tub. It is so big the five year olds could swim in it. This is an excellent barn conversion. A large, well equipped kitchen where we could cook for eight without any problem and we could all sit around the table to eat. The rest of the conversion is also very spacious. We had plenty of room to spread out or sit together in the evenings. Bedrooms were just as we needed. There is plenty to do in the area. And the pub is really only five minutes walk away - and the food is plentiful and very good.
A special mention must go to the owners Wendy and Keith. They live on site in an adjacent house. Always there when needed. Very friendly and informative but never intrusive.
We would highly recommend this spotless, beautifully equipped property.
A really, really lovely property with everything in place (even some dishwasher tablets were provided). The property is very clean and we were met on arrival by one of the owners, Wendy who introduced us to the property and showed us how various items worked. Both Wendy and her husband Keith have their own house on the site and are easily available to answer questions etc.
the property has a lovely garden and plenty of room for a dog to run and exercise (we took a Samoyed) with used he was really happy with the space!
The property has a very large modern kitchen with a large dining area. Two of the five bedrooms have lovely ensuites complete with wet rooms. But what delighted us the most about the property was the lovely hot tub!
The property is well placed for country walks and there is a local public house within a five minute walk of the property, which also serves excellent meals. For any shopping requirements there is a Tesco 3 miles from the property in Ellsemere.
We had a lovely weekend at the property and highly recommend it.