We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful weekend away!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ellesmere, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
msjlightf...
Crocketford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“ALMOST BUT NOT QUITE!”
Reviewed September 22, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
4
people found this review helpful

I was a little concerned after booking & not having chance to read the reviews until later!! We didn't expect much of welcome but have to say that Wendy was absolutely fine. I must say that this was the first cottage we have stayed in when there was no welcome hamper. There was no tea, coffee, sugar, milk, foil, cling, kitchen towel, bread etc so make sure you take ample supplies. Although I have to say, as Wendy was leaving she did ask if I had some tea bags. The conversation itself was delightful, beautifully furnished with very comfortable beds & a well equipped kitchen. The only downside would have to be no heated towel rails in fact sadly there was a lack of towel rails full stop, thus our towels were constantly wet. I am not sure if the owners have had problems either with previous guests as on the wall was a large sign in bright red letters stating that all breakages would be paid for & nuisance guests removed!!! again something we have never come across in all the cottages we have stayed in.
The location is also beautiful with ample car parking & yes there was a lot of CCTV.
To sum up this really is a delightful property but just didn't feel very welcoming at all sorry.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allana F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nearly ruined my wedding day!”
Reviewed August 17, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Do not book this barn if you would like a relaxing stay. Keith is the rudest individual I have ever had the misfortune of meeting, he never came to check us in and flew off the handle when we noticed my mum's toy Chihuahua despite this property being 'pet friendly'. My mum was so upset she had to find alternative accommodation meaning I didn't get to spend time with her the night before my wedding as planned! Keith has then persisted to blame us for damaged to his hot tub cover which we simply removed to use the hot tub & replaced when done. He clearly doesn't like having large groups of people to stay at this large 10 guest property ... so he probably shouldn't be renting it out. He treats his guests appallingly and often partakes in name calling (so far I have been called a liar, a vandal & 'not straight'). The CCTV is also invasive & illegal as there are no signs advising that it is in operation and he does not comply with GDPR. If you do choose to rent this property my advice would be to photograph and document everything as he may try to commit fraud by charging money for damage you haven't caused.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexb409
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Like being in Big Brother”
Reviewed July 18, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
4
people found this review helpful

It's a lovely place in a lovely location but the owner is terrifyingly intrusive. Don't book here unless you're OK with 5am 'inspections' and industrial grade CCTV monitoring your every move.

Particularly exciting were the escaped bulls that ended up in the driveway in the evening.

Other than that, yeah, great.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairealc...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful weekend away!”
Reviewed March 14, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We went to Oakleigh Farm Barn for a weekend away with the girls and it was brilliant. Perfect place to stay with everything that we needed. Thanks for the owners for all of their help - it was nice to know that they were next door if we needed anything and they were not intrusive at all.

The Sun Inn down the road was lovely for lunch and eased off the hangovers from the Friday night.

Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
353beckyf
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A lovely barn conversion and great hot tub!”
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We came here for a surprise 30th weekend, with 8 adults, a toddler, a baby and a dog. It was perfect for our party. The kitchen is really well equipped and a massive table to seat everyone round. The rooms were all comfortable and two had ensuites as well as a family bathroom. The hot tub is excellent and seats 8 but that gets quite cosy. The outdoor space was perfect for little people to run around in and play some garden games. The local pub was excellent and the hosts were very accommodating. We would highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josasha
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation for a family get together”
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful weekend away! Five adults and three children under six. I can't tell you how much the children enjoyed the hot tub. It is so big the five year olds could swim in it. This is an excellent barn conversion. A large, well equipped kitchen where we could cook for eight without any problem and we could all sit around the table to eat. The rest of the conversion is also very spacious. We had plenty of room to spread out or sit together in the evenings. Bedrooms were just as we needed. There is plenty to do in the area. And the pub is really only five minutes walk away - and the food is plentiful and very good.
A special mention must go to the owners Wendy and Keith. They live on site in an adjacent house. Always there when needed. Very friendly and informative but never intrusive.
We would highly recommend this spotless, beautifully equipped property.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P
Preston, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend break”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A really, really lovely property with everything in place (even some dishwasher tablets were provided). The property is very clean and we were met on arrival by one of the owners, Wendy who introduced us to the property and showed us how various items worked. Both Wendy and her husband Keith have their own house on the site and are easily available to answer questions etc.
the property has a lovely garden and plenty of room for a dog to run and exercise (we took a Samoyed) with used he was really happy with the space!
The property has a very large modern kitchen with a large dining area. Two of the five bedrooms have lovely ensuites complete with wet rooms. But what delighted us the most about the property was the lovely hot tub!
The property is well placed for country walks and there is a local public house within a five minute walk of the property, which also serves excellent meals. For any shopping requirements there is a Tesco 3 miles from the property in Ellsemere.
We had a lovely weekend at the property and highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Great to see that you enjoyed your recent stay at Oakleigh Farm in Shropshire. We appreciate your positive review and hope you decide to book with Sykes Cottages once again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing