We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic warm and cosy cottage with all mod cons.”
other travelers have booked this property
Indoor heated swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Indoor heated swimming pool
Homemade cake with complimentary tea and coffee is waiting on arrival.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Indoor heated swimming pool
Homemade cake with complimentary tea and coffee is waiting on arrival.
Modern spacious lounge with TV/DVD, free wi-fi and underfloor heating throughout.
Super-king sized beds with the best cotton and anti-allergy bedding.
Super-king sized beds with the best cotton and anti-allergy bedding.
Original features are left untouched, the bedrooms all have storage, vanity tables and mirrors.
Well stocked fitted kitchen with dishwasher, fridge, freezer, oven and microwave.
Fluffy large bath sheets are provided on heated towel rails in the bathroom.
Beautiful paved access with plenty of private off road parking.
The Courtyard has its own outdoor seating area with access to a BBQ.
We are proud of our 4 Star Gold Award status from Visit England.
Our pet lambs and chickens just love a bit of fuss!
North Shropshire has plenty of places to discover, here is the Mere at Ellesmere, perfect for a walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ellesmere, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jacqui S
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic warm and cosy cottage with all mod cons.”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The best nights sleep in a long time, the beds were so comfortable and the pillows were divine! My feet luxuriated on the warm floor throughout the whole cottage. I love cooking and found everything I needed to be able to cook with ease.
Rachael was a delightful hostess, my son loved the flapjacks and liked the warm welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable and felt a little luxurious
Liked least: not staying longer
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, it was lovely to meet you. Best of luck with your plans, Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theflooze
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High Quality”
Reviewed November 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend at the beginning of October. Accommodation very well equipped to a high standard. All rooms are comfortable and spacious. Rachel was very welcoming - complete with cake! My only gripe was that there were no instructions for either the oven or the underfloor heating, so we could not use the oven and at times the cottage wasn't warm enough. The nearby pub had just been taken over and, whilst virtually empty on our three visits, the food was of good quality and good value. A nice quiet setting and a visit to the sheep is a must!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Lack of information about cottage facilities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann B
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High quality accommodation in peaceful location”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The barn has been recently converted to a high standard. There are comfortable superking beds and the location is so quiet a good night's sleep is assured. We loved the well equipped kitchen and bathroom and the property was spotlessly clean with bright modern decoration. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area and the host and her children are very friendly. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect weekend retreat in the countryside”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The perfect weekend - wonderful superking size beds, a spacious and light cottage, picturesque country walks, great location for Shropshire, and the host was extremely kind and helpful. We even had home made cakes upon arrival! Will most definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and high standard of accommodation
Liked least: The fact we had to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony P
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Courtyard, Burlton Cottages and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rachel, the host welcomed us when we arrived with a homemade cake which was a lovely touch. The bed was extremely comfy as were the leather sofas. The general standard of fittings and appliances is first class.There has been a lot of thought gone into these new self catering cottages as there was everything there that we needed for our stay. Lovely and great new accommodation!

We often use this type of accommodation I various parts of the UK but this is one of the best we have stayed in. Highly recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of fittings and appliances.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing