We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting with brilliant food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lion Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Ellesmere B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We love the Red Lion - discovered by accident in 2007 and visited several times since.
The rooms used to be basic but ok, and now refurbished and worth a visit.
Food is incredible value for money and unbeatable for portion size and quality.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 252 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2010

excellent, friendly, great food and lovely atmosphere. Mike the owner was brilliant, we would recommend this place for just a meal or for staying in and would be happy to return

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

My husband and myself wanted a romantic night away from our business, some lovely walks and a good dinner. We got the walks, the food was good, the restaurant staff wonderful - but the room!!! We were put in what we had assumed on arrival were some old storage sheds in the carpark - the room was icy cold, no-one had put the heating on although we booked weeks in advance - the bed was two beds roped together - the bathroom was fully fitted for handicapped use - very romantic - and the couple in the other half of the shed - were, we were told at breakfast, on a naughty night away and never stopped playing loud music and screaming all night. The room was unwelcoming, very ill-lit and cold. The walls may as well have been made from paper for all the soundproofing. The breakfast parlour was dire - no other word. Disappointed - yes we were.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SkillyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed at the Red Lion Coaching Inn prior to our vacation on the narrowboats. We were met with the best hospitality by the owner, Mike and his wife. From the moment we stepped foot into the the Inn and when we returned for just dinner a week later, we were met with the greatest service.

Everyone that worked at the Red Lion was very hospitable and took time to talk and socialize with us.

The food was one of the better we've had during our vacation and the accomodations were just as good. Overall, I would recommend this inn to other people.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marievida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

We originally came accross the Red Lion on a New Years Family stay in Ellesmere at a house near the mere! Myself, Partner, brother and sister in law went in almost every night as the place is so welcoming!

When it was time to leave we decided to book a stay at the Coaching Inn and make a weekend of it, see what the Red Lion has to offer!! We weren't disappointed.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel really welcome and at home. Mike, Carol and the rest of the family/team at the Red Lion did all they could to look after us. Without us telling them we'd been in before they all recognised us from our trips there in December. The staff really will do everything they can to make your stay the best it possibly can be, from telling what to see around the area, to just sitting and chatting with you on an evening/breakfast time!

The rooms are beautiful, myself and my parter had the oakdale suite, a gorgeous room, really cosy but massive in size, with a bed that has a massager on it and inclines/reclines for comfort, a bathroom big enough to fit a double bed in, plenty of space for clothing etc, just really cosyilly decorated. My brother in law and his wife had the room next door to us, which was very similar but without the massaging bed! Our friends stayed in one of the courtyard rooms which they described as little apartments! all gorgeous! and at £140 for 3 nights b&b you can't go wrong!!!

The food there is gorgeous too, breakfast - you can have pretty much whatever you want, we opted for fry up's to soak up the previous night's alcohol. The menu is large and varied with something for everyone on there. Sunday dinners sell out quick so be sure to book your meat as well as your table to ensure you get what you want.

It has a pool/games room in the pub which is fairly large with plenty of space to sit, play pool, watch tv, play the games machine, we spent alot of the time in there on an evening!

Ellesmere and the surrounding areas are beautiful, north wales, west midlands, cheshire all a short drive away. We had a brilliant time there, none of us wanted to leave, and i have no doubt we will book again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkimccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

My girlfriend and i had just been to italy and decided to stay here over the weekend before we went back home. The Red Lion was recommended to us and have to say we had a lovely time, the bedroom was big and so was the bathroom and the staff were very welcoming especially biscuit (the owners dog). We will hopefully stay there again in august for the summertime walks by the mere's

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jayndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

The stay at the Red Lion was definitely not like the last 2 reviews. It was awful. Maybe it has had a change of ownership , but we were very disappointed with our choice. After reading the 2 reviews on this site,and on other sites, and looking on the Red Lions own web site and at it's video we thought we were in for a treat. How wrong we were!! Yes the staff were friendly, yes the food was 'ok'. But as for the room, it was nothing like the reviews or the hotel's own website pictures. The room was very tatty and in need of a complete renovation. We certainly didn't have the comfortable bed that the other reviewer enjoyed or the 'oyster of relaxation' that was mentioned, we were glad to get home, and felt we had been very misled. The very tiny 'en suite' had a shower that just trickled, black mould on the windows and was not very clean. The breakfast room had dirty cobwebs on the walls and ceiling, the tables were not cleaned properly , the teapots were dirty and milk was served in chipped jugs. All in all what should have been a pleasant holiday was spoiled by the choice of accommodation. Be warned.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mazlou39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere
7.0 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
185 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,323 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
432 reviews
5.9 mi away
Burlton Inn
Burlton Inn
#1 of 1 in Burlton
137 reviews
6.5 mi away
Abbey Green Farm bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Coaching Inn

Address: 18 Church Street, Ellesmere SY12 0HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ellesmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ellesmere
Price Range: $57 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Shropshire
Shropshire Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing