We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Lion Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Ellesmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milford Haven
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A lovely welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed for one night in a room for 3. Mike was very welcoming and bought the 3 of us a drink on arrival when he knew it was our daughters birthday-a very nice touch and totally unexpected. The meal was excellent value and very generous portions. The room had ensuite facilities and was very comfortable and extremely quiet, we slept well. We paid £60 for three B&B, very reasonable.
Thank you all at the Red Lion

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceMilfordHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    55
    23
    21
    21
See reviews for
52
88
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Very beautiful and quaint 16th century coaching inn, the atmosphere is exactly what you expect, the welcome was very warm and the patrons were very friendly! I read some of the reviews on trip advisor before i left so i wasn't sure what to expect but i have to say i was pleasantly surprised! This is a lovely clean place to stay, we were in one of the court yard rooms which was spacious, well furnished, clean, well equipped and very comfortable and for only £50 for two including breakfast which was HUGE was a bargain price and if anyone else disagrees who has stayed there they need there eyes testing or to stop being so fussy! I would recommend this place to anyone and would stay there again tomorrow.. lovely, lovely, lovely!
Right on price, right on quality and right for us! Thank you for a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: go for the court yard room.. really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed two nights in "The Red" in November. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfasts huge. We did not have any other meals in as we wanted to see what else the town had to offer but the restaurant was always busy with locals - a good sign. There was live entertainment on Saturday night and the beer was top class..... oops that is for the other listing! The location is really handy for walking off the big breakfast along the Mere-side

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenST4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Live this place. Friendly staff and they always make us feel welcome even if it's awhile since we have been. The food is great value, huge portions and cooked exactly how I like. Good honset place. Myhusband is a mixed grill man and I dont believe there is a bigger mixed grill anywhere! Love this place

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Childrenhavestrokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Ellesmere and the surrounding area into Wales is a beautiful part of the country. The generously sized room at the Red Lion was very average for the price - with cheap flat pack furniture - incorrectly assembled or falling part in places. Although not really a massive issue it wasn't the quality stay we were expecting.

The pub itself is comfortable with great food! Although we didn't find the owner to be as welcoming and accommodating as some other reviewers.

All in all a good place to stay but try to get a deal or find more quality accommodation else where.

Room Tip: Try to get a courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NetEng-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

From the word go, Mike, Carol and all the staff at The Red Lion made us feel most welcome.
We staed in a courtyard room which was as in the photo on their website.It's a no-frills B&B howeverthe food and service were second to none and suggest you starve for a week before going there, or do as my spouse did, and make me walk it off for several miles along the beautiful canal and round the meres.
Had an excellentt visit to Hawkstone Park, an 18th century garden which is only suitable for able-bodied walkers. A must if you've never been there.
There was live music in the bar on Saturday evening. On Sundays Mike holds a weekly quiz which is enthusiastically attended to raise money for local good causes. We were very impressed by the friendliness and service. We originally booked two nights but stayed a third.
Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nethy Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

Ok! So it is an old building which makes it hard to make it look pristine clean. But we soon forgot the looks with the warm and friendly service given by Mike and his team. The bed was comfortable and we got a good nights sleep. The food was tasty and well priced, especially for us 'Bus Pass' holders. In fact our stay at the Red Lion was excellent value for money. Forget the looks simply go for the Charm, Service and Value.

Room Tip: Just ask Mike and he will bend over backwards to .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbernethyBunkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
6.3 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
13.9 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
8.5 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
11.8 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Melverley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Coaching Inn

Property: Red Lion Coaching Inn
Address: 18 Church Street, Ellesmere SY12 0HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ellesmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ellesmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Shropshire
Shropshire Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing