We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Ellesmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

recommended by someone and reviews good on here. Tried it. Very poor. Very cheap too but would prefer to pay more for something better. All in all, rubbish. Place is shabby. toilets stink with waste paper bin overflowing, quiz kicked off in the middle of us eating. Too many choices on the menu for it not to be binged in the microwave. Would not return and would not recommend to anyone else.

As for the good reviews - I'm perplexed. Would much prefer to have gone to the Indian around the corner which is brilliant, but has some poor reviews on trip advisor. If you want a 70's theme evening you might like it. We didn't!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank edwardbeaum0nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    75
    23
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value in a lively pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Managed to book a table for my husband and myself at this busy pub last night ( Sat). Have been to this pub a few times and as usual it was really busy. Friendly greeting from the landlord and all staff members who are all very attentive. The menu is ample and the food is very good. My husband had the mixed grill, which was huge! I chose from the Seniors menu as I prefer smaller portions and was pleased that this was available until 9 pm, choice of starter and main or main and desert (plenty of choice) for about £6, garlic bread and plaice more than enough for me!
We choose to travel to this pub because of the atmosphere and good food not for fine dining in a quiet, more expensive restaurant.
The landlord also makes a point of thanking customers as they leave for their visit. We will be going back again.
Why should a good pub change what is obviously working well? Menu more than adequate and food and atmosphere great!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank E-E45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food inEllesmere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Another good dinning place in Ellesmere, great atmosphere food and drink. Good place to meet friends for a meal. But it is important to book or be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Book table!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Dont go without booking table. We went at 6.30pm on a Saturday and were told no tables available until 8.45pm.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My favourite pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My favourite pub - great welcome, good food at a great price, good beer, excellent service and within walking distance of my house:-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Ellesmere, Shropshire
Ellesmere, Shropshire
 
Ellesmere, Shropshire
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing