We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”

The Black Lion Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 21 Restaurants in Ellesmere
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Houten
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Always a pleasure to stop at the black lion hotel, friendly staff good meals good atmosphere, for me (Dutch) it is home away from home when i am in the Ellesmere area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Remcoh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwalley1, Owner at The Black Lion Restaurant, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Its always a pleasure to have our favourite Dutchman stay with us. Its nice to be able to be home away from home for you. look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    23
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eat out at the BLACK LION”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

service and a warm atmosphere .I have been going to this Restaurant
for the past 13 years and i have only had one meal not to my standard. So this speaks for it selve.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwalley1, Owner at The Black Lion Restaurant, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for the review. Its always nice to hear that you've had so many good meals. Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Went for a meal some time ago and thought the food OK but not in line with the price. Was not planning a re-visit given a voucher as a present. Really disappointed. They cannot cook a bleu steak, very overcooked and the veg and salad were pretty awful. Would never recommend a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwalley1, Owner at The Black Lion Restaurant, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear about your meal. We will certainly look at the freshness of the salad & vegetables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Pub food”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

A centrally situated Inn, friendly staff good food and service. Handy if you just want a coffee with friends or a nice lunch or dinner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwalley1, Owner at The Black Lion Restaurant, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for the review. its always nice to hear we are doing something right. Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We called in here on Easter Bank Holiday Monday, having walked from the far end of Ellesmere Lake. Found the Black Lion warm and staff very friendly. The food was good value for money and the chips where good can recommend the tea. Comfortable seating formal or informal you have a choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwalley1, Owner at The Black Lion Restaurant, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for your review. Glad you found we were warm, friendly & good value. We try to provide something for everyone. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Lion Restaurant also viewed

Ellesmere, Shropshire
Ellesmere, Shropshire
 
Ellesmere, Shropshire
Ellesmere, Shropshire
 

Been to The Black Lion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing