We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely peaceful cabin”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ellesmere, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kay c
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful cabin”
Reviewed January 23, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

A secluded location for people that love peace and quiet and absolutely fantastic if you have dogs, a huge enclosed paddock where they can run off their leads all day, my two Boxers did not stop making the most of their own space. This cabin is gorgeous extremely well equipped with all you need, The kitchen had an oven, hob, grill, toaster, kettle, microwave,fridge freezer, dishwasher and washing machine. The owner Mike was great he met us with a bottle of wine and chocolates and informed of things around the area. We were there over the New Year where we went to dog friendly pubs which is rare where we live. Sadly we had to cut short our holiday due to the both of us coming down with the flu that hit the UK. I will definitely be returning to this beautiful place, would love to book in the summer where we could use the the BBQ and enjoy the outside more. We will be back!! Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJASZ
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had another wonderful week at the cabin, weather was amazing we were able to sit and have drinks outside . Our 3 dogs Loki,Odin and Barker had a great time running about in the garden, they just love there time here . We love it so much we have booked again next year which will be our 10th year There are great walks in the area you have the Montgomery Canal or The Mere or Colemere also lovely country pubs to have lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thortere
Edenthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dog heaven”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A lovely warm cozy cabin in acres of private enclosed land.Close to ellesmere and oswestry
for shopping there are lots of dog friendly pubs and restaurants nearby.The owners are so nice they made us and our two dogs very welcome and left us a welcome pack consisting of bread butter and milk and brought us wine and chocolate s .our dogs loved being able to run around without a lead in the huge paddock.This place gets re booked year after year and I can now see why.
See you next year Milke and Sylvia thank for a great holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and garden
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim1991
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week with our dog. This cabin is just perfect. It has everything you need for a relaxing holiday in an idyllic location. Bread, butter and milk waiting for us upon our arrival and then the owner arrived with wine and chocolates! Ultra clean cabin and fully enclosed field for our dog. We really really didn't want to leave. Have already booked another week for next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
We are absolutely over the moon that you had a great stay at Cedar Log Cabin, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. Those goodies on arrival sound like a fab way to start your holiday, and it certainly sounds like the welcome set the tone for what was a wonderful stay! If you have any questions before your next booking please don't hesitate to contact us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurtleT01
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed here at the end of June - with my husband and our 2 dogs
We had a great time relaxing and enjoying the peace and quiet. Secluded enough to allow the dogs to be free all day but close enough to civilisation to enjoy pub lunches and walks with the dogs.
The cabin is just right, very comfortable and well maintained with 2 good bedrooms, one with a small ensuite shower room. The ktichen was well stocked with all the utensils you could need, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave etc..
The veranda was great for an early morning cup of coffee, while watching the rabbits enjoy the early sunshine.
The dogs loved it and spent most of the day outside and were able to run around to their hearts content.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to let the dogs roam free within the paddock
Liked least: nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy B
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from my third stay at the Cabin this year. Returning in July, September and November. For me it is a unique location, a haven of peace and tranquility with nothing to be heard except the sound of birds. This makes for a very relaxing stay. I found the Cabin to be very well equipped with everything I needed both in the kitchen and elsewhere. The owners are more than willing to help with information regarding the area or indeed with any other question and go out of their way to make sure that everything is 1st class. I cannot find anything negative to say about the Cabin and would most definitely highly recommend it for all the reasons above and its proximity to many lovely places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of the Cabin both in terms of its structure (built from solid logs) and also the very private and tranquil surroundings
Liked least: Unable to think of anything I disliked
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fluffycam...
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent and relaxing”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Very impressed with the cabin! Two bedrooms (double and 2 singles, sleeps 4), double room as a small ensuite. Main bathroom, living/kitchen/dining area. Kitchen has an electric oven, microwave and everything else you could possibly need to cook. Has a dishwasher and a Large fridge/freezer. Freezer has 4 draws. I would suggest you bring your own frying pan if you need one. The one in the cabin tends to make everything stick to it. Although there are bits of cleaning materials available, we could not find any kitchen/work surface cleaner, so would suggest you bring some.
The lounge area has a large 3 seater settee and two armchairs, a flatscreen tv with built in dvd player, a selection of books, games and leaflets with local information on. There is even one for a chinese takeaway!
Large bathroom has a shower over bath and the en suite bathroom has a shower cubicle. Toilet roll, soap, air freshner, shower towels and hand towels all provided. Wardrobes in each bedroom and extremely comfy beds with small flat screen tv in each bedroom.
The front patio has four chairs and two tables and I think from the pictures on here, a BBQ, although that was not there when we went. The weather was beautiful and it would have been lovely to have a BBQ. There is a washing line at the back of the cabin.
The bonus was being able to take the dog. She loved going out of the front door in the morning, without a lead, and walking straight out into the huge paddock. The very end of the paddock (opposite end to the cabin), is not secure for dogs and they could easily wander out into the road.
The cabin is the only one in the grounds and the space and views are amazing.

The only two issues I had, were (1) On two of our days, there was a lot of tree cutting going on. Whilst I appreciate that with the recent bad weather, there has been, for two days we had a very loud saw and a digger driving up and down past the cabin, which did not make it very peaceful! 2) There are a lot of cobwebs on the wall, the cleaner just needs to give them a quick swipe with the feather duster. Otherwise the cabin is very clean.

There appears to be a lot of repeat visitors here and we would definately return. Really enjoyed everything about the cabin and it's location. It is truly stunning and I would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing