We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some renovation!”
Review of Fenchihu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fenchihu Hotel
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Chiayi County
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Generally, Fenchihu is a lovely place to visit but with the Forest Railway to Alishan halted due to the landslide a few years ago, it's still a hassle to take the 2hour plus ride to the hotel. We reached the hotel around 5plus after taking one of the only 2 public bus rides from Chiayi Railway station. One is at 7 plus am and the other at 3.10pm. Alight at the last stop and the locals will happily point to the direction of the hotel. The hotel is located below the 7-11. For the price we're quite disappointed with the state of the hotel. Things look relatively old, especially our room. Upon check-in we were given each a herbal pack for warm baths to be enjoyed and the 20% discount voucher to the specialty shop at the old street. The air in Fenchihu is extremely refreshing. I'll suggest visitors to take a short walk around the forest trail in the morning. The old street is also quite interesting but relatively smaller compared to Jiufen and Shifen in Taipei. The night firefly tour provided by the hotel was sadly canceled due to the rain that night. We've spent a relaxing a relatively quiet night in the room watching television. The wifi connection on our floor had some problems and the staff had to restart the system for us, which after a few hours was disrupted again. Our room was a little stuffy too. The next morning, we were greeted by a group of China tourists in the breakfast area. After the first few minutes of attempting to queue up for our food(we seem to always be last in the queue from all the shoving), we decided to take another walk outside. After returning we were greeted by the remains of the war despite signs around the area that guests should clear their own plate. Luckily, the staff did quite a good job of cleaning up everything quickly. Breakfast was simple. Not the best we've had in Taiwan but one of the better ones.
Tip: If you visit on a weekend, there's a bus up to Alishan

Room Tip: Check the AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TanSihui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 63 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

The resort is located in the town of fenchihu. It provide free wifi and some simple tour within the area. We were even get the guided tour to view firefly during this period. Hotel guest is also able to get discount for buying the local products at the selected shop. They also sell the popular lunchbox at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YEOJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I recommended this place as it should be the best accommodation in Fenchihu. It is located right in the town center.

Fenchihu is a very small from the way down from Alishan. Fenchihu was once the biggest train stop station for Alishan train last time. Since the train operation has been suspended, Fenchihu has become a historical site. However the town ppl is still trying to maintain it's culture. If you are here, you must try the famous bento lunch box. It is just twd10 and you can eat something very special.

I stayed here for only one night but have eaten 4 bento lunch box!! Fenchihu hotel owner also provide free tour around this town explaining the historical site and attraction spot. At night, the town is so silent but in the morning there is one row of shop operating like back in the old days.

This place is Something special that you should stop by.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lwkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kuromatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank 怡萍 黃
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Beauty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Maylidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiayi County hotels
7.3 mi away
Alishan House
Alishan House
#1 of 33 in Chiayi County
345 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ali Mountain Oriental Pearl International Hotel
Ali Mountain Oriental Pearl Inte...
#16 of 33 in Chiayi County
11 reviews
27.5 mi away
Sankaikan Hotel
Sankaikan Hotel
#11 of 33 in Chiayi County
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Alishan Shermuh International Tourist Hotel
Alishan Shermuh International To...
#22 of 33 in Chiayi County
96 reviews
10.3 mi away
F Hotel Chiayi
F Hotel Chiayi
#3 of 33 in Chiayi County
50 reviews
10.4 mi away
Yundeng Landscape Hotel
Yundeng Landscape Hotel
#2 of 33 in Chiayi County
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenchihu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenchihu Hotel

Address: No.178-1 Fenqihu, Zhonghe Village, Zhuqi Town, Chiayi County 60497, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Chiayi County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Chiayi County
Price Range: $46 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fenchihu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alishan National Scenic Area is the perfect Taiwan tourist destination for a touch of nature. A number of scenic trails and hiking routes are established by its localized climate and landscape offering unique range of lush plant-life and fascinating sceneries that are always wonderful to explore. Gon-A-Kam Trail, Fenruei Trail, Fentai Trail and the famous Mt. Da Tong Trail are in Fenchihu area, where guests may simply visit while accommodating at Fenchihu Hotel. Also, the renowned sunrise views at Mt. Da Tong Peak which set 1,976 metres above sea level provides an excellent spot for sunrise and sea of clouds sceneries, and about 330 degrees panoramic views overlooking nearby tribes and forests. What is more special about the sunrise sceneries at Mt. Da Tong Peak that is the dawn here lasts longer than Alishan and sometimes even up to 3 minutes and 20 seconds! Other fascinating Fenchihu attractions include Bright Moon Cave (Min Yue Ku), Meteor Cave (Liushinyen) and The Eighteen Arhats Cave can be seen along the hiking trails for a marvelous Fenchihu travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Fenchihu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenchihu Hotel Taiwan/Chiayi County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing