We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Owner description: Fort San Domingo, located on the hilltop overlooking Tamsui River estuary, was established by the Spanish in 1628. It was torn down by the Spanish before they were expelled from Tamsui by the Dutch in 1642. The Dutch then built Fort Antonio near the ruins of Fort San Domingo. Since the local inhabitants in Tamsui at the time referred to the Dutch as "red hair savages," the fort was nicknamed "Hong Mao Chen," meaning the "Red Hair Fortress." In reference to the early Spanish occupation, we now use the original Spanish name Fort San Domingo to represent the historic site, although the actual castle we see today is the Dutch fortress Fort Antonio. Fort Antonio is a two story cube-shaped building, measuring 15.25 meters on all four sides while standing 13 meters tall. The deep foundation, thick walls, and mix of stones and bricks provide the fort with strong and effective fortification. Following the Opium War, the British government leased the fort from the Qing government for their consulate. Modifications were made accordingly for consular business. To accommodate the needs of the consul's family, the consular residence was then built on the eastern side of the fort. This Victorian building was constructed with red bricks and features verandas as well as a four-sided steep roof, providing a warm and delicate atmosphere. The fusion and influence of Dutch and British architecture has painted the "Green Hill" and surroundings with a unique balanced quality.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children