We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet evening by the river”
Review of Danshuei

Danshuei
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.00*
and up
Danshui in One Day: History, Food and Night Market Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 530 things to do in Xinbei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice quiet evening by the river”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We visited Danshui Old Street in the late afternoon. Lots to eat but honestly, nothing really fantastic. We were too stuffed by the time we reached the shops selling ' Ah Gei' so we did not try that. We spent an hour or so just sitting by the river and catching the sunset. The esplanade was not crowded, so we had quite a relaxing time enjoying the evening breeze. There were some stalls offering old style fun fair games which my 9 year old enjoyed. Much better place to visit compared to the disappointing Beitou!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gail_mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    722
    245
    31
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ottawa canada
Level Contributor
309 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“INTERSTING NIGHT MARKET”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

If you like night markets, this is a worthwhile one a40 minute MRT ride from Taipei. Plenty of food stalls, and typical made in China junk.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zalnikor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This place is amazing for sunset viewing along the horizon. It's a pity that a bridge will soon be built across the mouth of the bay.

Make sure you try the most famous dish in tamsui called "a-geh". It's a bundle of glass noodles inside a tofu skin which is sealed with fish paste. The most popular store is referred to as "corner a-geh store" and is found around the corner from the Turkish ice cream store on the main road along the harbour.

Seafood here is also caught freshly by the fisherman, and it's much cheaper than in Taipei. The birds eggs are also worth a try!

Very packed with tourists during peak periods. Very lively though. Plan to visit again to go bike riding along the mangrove-looking trees beyond the train station.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Night market and Fisherman's wharf”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Danshui market sells the same thoroughfare as other markets in Taipei city. After going through all the night markets in Taipei, Danshui street market shopping leaves very little appeal for our family. Still we did ate as we walk and even bought a few items (cause it is slightly cheaper than the markets in town)

When we visited Fisherman's wharf, it was raining and the wind was blowing. The climb over the bridge became so much fun because we felt that we were blown away every so often by the wind. Our umbrella when held wrongly got folded up by the wind. At the end of the journey, in spite of our umbrella and rain coats, everyone was wet.

Perhaps on a calm and nice weather, this place would just be a nice place to take a phote or two cause it has nothing to offer otherwise.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable If It Were Less Crowded”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Visited Danshui on a Saturday and was shocked by the crowd at and around the night market. (Although I must say the food is good and the atmosphere is very lively.) However, I was really blessed that at Fisherman's Wharf (a ferry's ride away) the human traffic was very light despite the perfect weather for watching the sunset and that day being a weekend. A wonderful place to visit with friends and your significant other on a weekday.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank attemptingtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danshuei also viewed

 

Been to Danshuei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing