We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Weekend” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanxia Old Street

Sanxia Old Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.99*
and up
Yingge and Sansia Half-Day Folk Arts Tour from Taipei
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Sanxia (三峽) Old Street is a nice stretch of street with old buildings to meander and munch local snack (local version of croissant, interesting with ice-cream). Less touristy compare with other places such as Jiufen (九份). Be adventurous with food because that is what we love about travelling. Great place to do some photo shooting on architecture especially at dust when the lights are turned on.

Tip: find any temple and you will find washroom.

It is best visit after you have done with Yingge (鶯歌). Just hop onto a bus (there is a free shuttle bus on weekends) but we opt for the other buses since those which you have to pay are more frequent. Make sure you ask any bus driver for the destination before you hop on. Plus, local people are very friendly and helpful. Sanxia is just across the river from Yingge. About 5 to 10 minutes bus ride.

The bus stop for bus going to nearest Taipei MRT station is toward the end of the Sanxia Old Street. Do stand across the road from the nearby small temple. Make sure you have the Taipei MRT Map so you are familiar with which MRT line you are at.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Poseidon74SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A street of old world charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

particularly like it for the very stinky tofu, bin tang hu lu (candied apples) and historical buildings, local produces and taiwanese traditional snacks which you can buy and bring back for friends.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank micamiumiuminimilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A feel of history in Sanxia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been to Taipei many times and always wanted to visit Sanxia old street. Finally went this time, took train to Banqiao and transferred bus from there. Got lost and walked a longer distance but made it there still. Haha my advise for travelers going on their own would be to let the friendly drivers know your destination so that they can alert you to alight nearing the stop. I was lucky to meet a nice driver who actually detour back for me after the final stop so that I would not be too far off. I loved the feel of the place immediately. The whole street are stores made from red bricks. Alot of traditional snacks like Taiwanese Mochi, pastries, tea. I think that area is famous for their winter melon tea. There are lots of old school shops selling toys and games and also wooden tools, even fengshui crystals are really cheap price! It kind of resembles danshui except I prefer the overall look and feel of sanxia old street... Along the way to sanxia old street there is a pretty long stretch of night market... Hmm it was fully open when I went in noon. The market has lots of stuffs to see as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice little old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Sanxia Old Street is a nice old preserved area within a crowded local market area. It preserved the long historical buildings, bridges, temple and museum. A nice way to understand how the old twon looks like in Taiwan.
It takes an hour to 1.5 hours Subway and bus ride, that brings you out from the busy Taipei.

Good for foreigners who wants to see something different from the normal attractions in Taipei City.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanxia Old Street also viewed

 

Been to Sanxia Old Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing