We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very nice weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Full Moon Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Full Moon Spa
Ranked #15 of 167 Hotels in Xinbei
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“very nice weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Wulai is a nice day or weekend trip out of Taipei. Full Moon Spa is a great choice. The room we had had a big wooden hot bath in the room, everything was in camphor wood, the bed was very nice, had a large flat screen tv. Its listed price was nt$6000 a night, but even on a holiday they quoted us nt$4500 a night even without us asking for a discount. Very clean, very friendly. Includes basic breakfast and dinner, dinner is a standard Taiwanese tea house biendang, not bad. Breakfast was very simple, western or chinese. The communal hot spring was spacious and uncrowded.
Going to Wulai is great if you're going for the soak, but there is very very little to do unless you want to walk up steep trails.

Room Tip: they also have hourly if u just want a nice room with a nice hot spring in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w44566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

V friendly service with a lovely roof terrace to have breakfast or tea in the afternoon. The rooms are simple but clean with lovely river views. The spa water feels great and the hot spring itself is run professionally. Would definitely recommend this place for a quite weekend get away - close to the food street of Wulai but elevated enough to still be relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Worktravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We would have given this place 2 stars if it wasn't for the friendly service, the relaxing atmosphere coupled with the beautiful river views and the ease of getting there from the bus stop. We chose the cheapest over night stay room out of the selection, but just because it's cheap, it doesn't mean the standards we expect to drop below par. When we arrived, the room looked as though it had seen better days. The wood décor looks like something from the history books and it was shouting out for a new coat of varnish and to be modernised where possible. The pictures didn't look too bad, but be aware they don't match in real life. All the essentials were present, but the air-con wasn't working, so after calling the reception and they came to have a look, it was established that it wasn't working so we swapped rooms. The room next door was exactly the same, however the air-con was working, just about, but it didn't have a safe, So we carried the safe from the other room into the new room...NOTE: YES we STOLE the empty safe, only to find out that it didn't work after countless attempts from the receptionist herself!! We gave up eventually and after 1hr of just sorting things out, we had lost most of the daylight in which we could have used to take quality pictures at the waterfall. So, a disappointing start!

It doesn't end here I'm afraid, the dinner which we could not opt out of online was not too pleasing either. There were 2 or 3 choices from the list including refreshments. I chose the teriyaki fish and milk tea for mine, however the milk tea was absolutely awful. The food was edible but not very tasty. Given a choice, I would have gone elsewhere seriously, and having overheard a conversation at reception it seems that you can omit the meals with a bit of haggling, and you can get the room at a reduced price. There wasn't an option online to remove it, so maybe one would have to either email or ring them.

OK, it gets better now. The in room bath was excellent though. A ring to reception will make the pumps work faster at pumping the water out and within about 5-10 mins. the bath was filled, and it automatically stops as well, however, the temperature of the water was way TOO hot. I had experienced some very hot onsens in Japan, but this was just too much. We had to release water to add cold water which wasn't very economic, but hey it's not our water to waste.
The bath room had sliding doors that opens out to the balcony so you can bring a bit of ventilation in, but please bear in mind that there are no partitions separating your room and the rooms next door. Although the balcony is quite tiny outside, someone can quite easily walk to your room without too much difficulty so there was a bit of a security issue here. You just have to make sure these doors are locked before bed time because lets face it, you can't really count on the safe to protect your valuables.

Overall, it was a pretty comfortable stay, Perhaps the other rooms are better than this one, I don't know, but we probably won't be staying here again to find out. It just so happens to be situated by the river edge, convenient to get and the pretty good reviews that made us choose this place.
Suggestions to improve would be: pay attention to the tiny details, for example the hair drier was so dusty inside, it put me off using it. The milk tea? Seriously??...and the wood needs a new lick of varnish if not replaced completely.

Room Tip: Maybe try one of the more expensive rooms? They are located on higher grounds as well which would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseycup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is well situated in Wulai old street. It is surrounded by many small shops that sell food and souvenirs.All hotel rooms are either in the second or third floor as the hotel was built on the slope of a hill.The room given to us was spacious and clean,with big wooden bathtub that supply hotspring water attached to each room.There are also big communal spa provided for men and women in second floor.We were given breakfast and yummy dinner sets for the two days we stayed and the staff were friendly and helpful.The only setback is that we needed to climb a few steps from the lobby and walk through the open air to our room .

Room Tip: Choose rooms that face the hill and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Landscaping of the hotel blends well with the lush greeneries of Wulai, and its location on Wulai Old Street was very convenient with rows of Atayal restaurants and snack stalls beckoning. The deluxe triple room was very spacious, and the wooden tub was large enough for 2 adults and a kid to enjoy family time together.

The reception staff were always smiling and willing to help, and requests for hotspring water via the phone were always met instantaneously.

The breakfast and dinner that came with the room were just average, especially given the choices available along the Old Street.

We are already looking forward to a return to this hotel to enjoy hotspring in chilly winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chikku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a wonderful place for a quick overnight say from Taipei - just a nice 30 minute bus ride from Xindian through the mountains gets you there. Ask for Wenting Chang if you speak English - she was a wonderful resource and has a great laugh. We chose the larger 7 ping rooms on the 2nd floor - very spacious with a wooden hot tub looking out on the river, beautiful rooms with lots of wood, as in much of the entire hotel. The separate men/women baths are very clean and pleasant with sauna, steam room, hot and cold pools and a lounging area - would seem to be a great rainy day spot where you could spend most of a day. We went with another couple visiting us from the US - we all had massages. Both myself and the other guy thought the male massage fellow gave a great and very professional massage - one of the best ever for both of us. With breakfast and either a dinner or lunch included, nice mountain and river views, this place has it all - just doesn't get much better!

Room Tip: Worth a bit extra for the larger 2nd floor rooms if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurnalsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Fell in love at first sight with the charming resort built and designed using cypress wood. In-room bathtub with hot spring water and jaccuzi provides great relief for soothing tired muscles after the uphill hike to Wulai Waterfall. There is also a steam room, sauna, and separate men and women hot springs area for one to rejuvenate - I nearly gave this gem a miss because bathers are expected to enter the water fully nude... The outdoor dining area is also a fantastic place to chill out in the evening with view of the hill and river. The staff are very friendly and attentive; dinner served is yummy too! Overall, Full Moon Spa is definitely a fabulous choice for a relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgmunchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xinbei hotels
0.5 mi away
Pause Landis Resort WULAI
Pause Landis Resort WULAI
#12 of 167 in Xinbei
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yufuin Hotel
Yufuin Hotel
#62 of 167 in Xinbei
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
23.4 mi away
Tsuwu Hot Spring Hotel
Tsuwu Hot Spring Hotel
#26 of 167 in Xinbei
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wulai Hot Spring Resort
Wulai Hot Spring Resort
#93 of 167 in Xinbei
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
23.4 mi away
Hotel Day Plus-Tamsui
Hotel Day Plus-Tamsui
#18 of 167 in Xinbei
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Spa

Property: Full Moon Spa
Address: No.1, Lane 85, Wulai Street, Wulai District, Xinbei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Xinbei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Xinbei
#4 Romantic Hotel in Xinbei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Full Moon Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Full Moon Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Spa Taiwan/Xinbei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing