We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic waterfalls!”
Review of Wulai

Wulai
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Private Half Day Tour: Aboriginal Village and Hot Springs in Wulai
Ranked #11 of 530 things to do in Xinbei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Scenic waterfalls!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Wulai & Shifen waterfall are very scenic. Walk through the Wulai street across the bridge with lots of local food on both sides. It's my first time I tasted pink guava here which was pretty sweet but full of seeds. The thinly sliced braised cow's stomach, century egg and steamed peanuts laced with oyster sauce at a local market before heading to Shifen waterfall , were very appetizing. The ride up to Shifen waterfall was scenic too. There is an information office at the end of the Wulai street next to the local police station and English brochures are available.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank meisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    188
    64
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice waterfall”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Went to Wulai in the afternoon. A good walk to see the big waterfall. The cable car ride was a short one. Worth travelling to if you have time in Taipei. Half a day is sufficient.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank typical_uranian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
167 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice excursion”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

It's a nice little excursion out from the city. Take the MRT to xin dian and then transfer to bus 849 to Wulai. It could be half a day or a full day depending on whether you are going for the hot springs. For meals, go to Taiya Po Po (泰雅婆婆美食店) for the bamboo rice (竹筒飯), stir-fried wild mountain boar (山豬), mountain bittergourd, millet wine (小米酒), etc.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mpenzakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WULAI”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Wulai is a place where you can interact with the older generation of Taiwan.The bus we took mainly had older people.Bus: Sindian Bus from Sindian MRT Station to Wulai .As you get to approach Wulai,you get to see wall paintings and carvings representing the various cultures,work ,dressing and way of life for the Indigenous people.Upon reaching the place we did not see any people dressed up in traditional clothing etc all because of industrialization.The place is modern,the streets are narrow though.You get to see a big river passing in between the town and the shops ,restaurants are all packed close together.It was interesting to walk along the streets,though it rained and was cold.Got to enjoy the traditional delicacies,which were very delicious.I ate the rice that is cooked in bamboo and ,bamboo soup and wild pig.This was very very very sweet.I advise all who go here ,to try this or any of their other delicacies.Most of the shops however stock lots of traditional memorabilia and souvenirs.
I got a chance to visit one of the Churches and that was great.
The Wulai Atayal Museum was the reason we visited Wulai but unfortunately,we found it was closed on that day because of painting.However,I think it has lots to learn about the Atayal people as I peeped through the window.I believe it is worth the visit as we still got to enjoy the place

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank wangechigitahitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Relaxing hot spring”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I love this place...it's very relaxing especially in winter when it's cold outside but your body is in the hot spring!!

Helpful?
Thank lovelygaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wulai also viewed

 

Been to Wulai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing