We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WULAI”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wulai

Wulai
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Private Half Day Tour: Aboriginal Village and Hot Springs in Wulai
Ranked #9 of 531 things to do in Xinbei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WULAI”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Wulai is a place where you can interact with the older generation of Taiwan.The bus we took mainly had older people.Bus: Sindian Bus from Sindian MRT Station to Wulai .As you get to approach Wulai,you get to see wall paintings and carvings representing the various cultures,work ,dressing and way of life for the Indigenous people.Upon reaching the place we did not see any people dressed up in traditional clothing etc all because of industrialization.The place is modern,the streets are narrow though.You get to see a big river passing in between the town and the shops ,restaurants are all packed close together.It was interesting to walk along the streets,though it rained and was cold.Got to enjoy the traditional delicacies,which were very delicious.I ate the rice that is cooked in bamboo and ,bamboo soup and wild pig.This was very very very sweet.I advise all who go here ,to try this or any of their other delicacies.Most of the shops however stock lots of traditional memorabilia and souvenirs.
I got a chance to visit one of the Churches and that was great.
The Wulai Atayal Museum was the reason we visited Wulai but unfortunately,we found it was closed on that day because of painting.However,I think it has lots to learn about the Atayal people as I peeped through the window.I believe it is worth the visit as we still got to enjoy the place

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank wangechigitahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    187
    61
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Relaxing hot spring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I love this place...it's very relaxing especially in winter when it's cold outside but your body is in the hot spring!!

Helpful?
Thank lovelygaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleasant spa town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hot water is where it's at. Wulai itself is in a scenic location but not much of interest in the town. Nice walking around and views of the river and mountains.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kurnalsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty District, but Extremely Dirty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Visited Oct 24

One of the activities we looked forward to in Taiwan was the hot springs. First, we got a goldfish pedicure. Neither of us has ever experienced it, and there's only one store in the area that offers goldfish pedicure. When my cousin dipped her feet in, she was scared. She was also ticklish. Then my husband submerged his feet and cried out too. He didn't enjoy it as much, and had a fear that any of the fishes would chomp down on his feet. I was the last to put my feet in, and i loved it. It felt cool and it tingled. Wulai's a very cool area to walk around in, and it did offer a pretty scenery, but when we walked down to the natural springs area, we felt dirty and scared. There were too many half naked elders in the "pool," and there were cig butts, trash, pipes/wires everywhere. It looked poorly maintained. We walked further down the springs to a less crowded area, but we only dared to dip our feet in. Would still visit again though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteveLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun aborigin show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The show that tells the history of WuLai tribe is quite intereating. Audience are invited to dance and particiapte at the end of the show. When the curtin of the hall opens up, you can have a great view of the Wulai waterfall right in front of you, quite eye catching.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joeplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wulai also viewed

 

Been to Wulai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing