We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Deal on a Good Hotel ~ BUT BEWARE”
Review of Hotel Color

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Color
Ranked #87 of 188 Hotels in Xinbei
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel on multiple occasions, and my overall impression is that this is a great value: its a small, clean & easy hotel located in the Taipei "satellite city" of Banciao, just a few blocks from the Ximendang MRT station. Banciao is a nice.. "quiter" area to the east of central Taipai, along the blue MRT line. The hotel is close to a great traditional market and lots of great dining options, and the convenient MRT station makes getting to the rest of Taipai fast and easy. The hotel is usually clean and quiet, and includes room-delivered bfast from the McDonald's next door. As an American, I'd say that last gesture is rather..um.. "cute"? 2 bottles of water provided every day, plus onsite laundry + coffee & tea service, all included. Front desk is very helpful, but like most smaller, non-western hotels in Taiwan, they don't speak a lick of English, so don't even bother. THAT BEING SAID, I debated giving this hotel a higher score, but my last stay was a BIG disappointment, because at least 2 rooms on my floor were occupied by prostitutes, and so it was in-and-out with clients ALL NIGHT LONG, and of course, the sounds of their "activities" were easily heard through the walls and down the halls. I've got nothing against sex-workers making a living, but this was NOT the sort of place I expected to have to deal with this sort of thing. This went on for 3 nights until I checked out to find another place to stay. Very disappointed that they allowed this sort of thing to go on. This is a small hotel, so there's no excuse for this. I'd love to go back next time I'm in Taiwan to find it nice & quiet as it was before.. not sure if I want to risk it.. You've been warned.

Room Tip: Request a room NOT facing the highway - its LOUD!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3vilMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 12 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

The other reviewer was spot on: this immaculate hotel is an excellent value. Perhaps the rooms are a bit small, but I've been in smaller rooms in London and Paris and I paid a lot more there than the 50USD a night I paid for this room. The bed was very comfortable and was made up with luxury linens. The bathroom had both a shower and a Japanese-style tub. Free bottled water, tea, and cookies were replenished daily. The staff was very friendly and helpful, if shy about speaking English. Granted, this is a suburb not much used to foreign visitors. I was blown away by the fact that the young woman who staffed the desk in the evening, and who I asked to arrange for a taxi in the morning to get me and my daughter to the airport, accompanied us on the ride! She made sure the cab driver got us to the right airline terminal and door and then helped us get our luggage inside. I'm still amazed by her helpfulness.
The hotel's location was very convenient to the subway. There were some great-looking and very popular restaurants near-by, but I ate my meals in Taipei City with my daughter and her friends.
I highly recommend this hotel!
Caveat: The wall between the bathroom and the main part of the room was primarily glass, and a mixture of clear and frosted glass.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Stayed here for one night. This new Banqiao (Panchiao) hotel is in a convenient location, for those who need access to Banqiao as well as Taipei city. The subway (Chiangtzutsui stop) is two short blocks away, and just a few stops in either direction to the Banqiao and Taipei city train/high-speed rail/airport bus stations. Bus stops are also nearby. The subway and some of the buses can be taken straight to Taipei 101.

Rooms are a bit small, but clean and offer free wifi and a safe. I was upgraded from a cheaper, windowless room to a bigger room with a window, bringing my room cost to a total of USD50. There is no restaurant, and breakfast consists of a free breakfast from the McDonald's next door delivered to your room. There are many banks around the hotel, including a cash machine in the McDonald's next door. There are also convenience stores and supermarkets two blocks away.

Cons: Panchiao isn't famous for its great restaurants, but the subway into Taipei is very close. The staff is friendly, but have limited English skills. The bathrooms have frosted glass walls.

I have stayed at the Grand Forward in Banqiao, and if you need to stay in Banqiao, Hotel Color is a better value.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tulipjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank biancay782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designbyjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank かうぃ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 與走廊隔音較差,其他都很好!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 台灣輕旅和國外深旅
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xinbei hotels
Banqiao / Zhonghe / Yonghe District
Forward Hotel
Forward Hotel
#116 of 188 in Xinbei
13 reviews
Banqiao / Zhonghe / Yonghe District
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#51 of 188 in Xinbei
26 reviews
Luzhou / Sanchong District
Hotel Cham Cham - Taipei
Hotel Cham Cham - Taipei
#24 of 188 in Xinbei
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinzhuang / Taishan District
Sinjhuang Chateau de Chine Hotel
Banqiao / Zhonghe / Yonghe District
MRT Hotel
MRT Hotel
#93 of 188 in Xinbei
41 reviews
Banqiao / Zhonghe / Yonghe District
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#74 of 188 in Xinbei
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Color? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Color

Address: No.171 Section 2, Wenhua Road, Banciao District, Xinbei 220, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Xinbei > Banqiao / Zhonghe / Yonghe District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 188 Hotels in Xinbei
Price Range: $58 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Color 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Color reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Color Taiwan/Xinbei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing