We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monchasa- A Heaven on Earth”
Review of Mon Chasha

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midnapore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mon Chasha
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Monchasa- A Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A creative, energetic and a vibrant couple has gifted us a heaven to visit. Near five star comfort , homely hospitality & Bengali Cuisine is very much available and is of highest quality. There is greenery all around and it gives a perfect experience of eco tourism and rural Bengal. There is no bar, disco theque or a pool table!!! But there is a AV room to view old CDs of movie which you can carry and play, you can watch your marriage CD or anything of your choice. Something which is extremely relaxing and refreshing. If you are willing to do fishing that is also available in this scenic beauty. Monchasa has also promoted farming all around and for Kids it is a "WOW". In the evening you can visit the nearby orphanage and spend time with kids. In late evein you can see local artists entertaining you and if you too have the skills you can also perform.
On the whole it gives us all what we miss in a busy city life.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RajaGuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    20
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Mon Chasha is a place which has touched my heart for a number of reasons. We went with our friends and children way back in March 2012. First and foremost Nilanjan da and Debjanidi make most of the magic. I haven't seen such pure soul, such a warm hospitality even in the best of hotels. They will go all out of their way to make your stay comfortable and make you feel you are most important to them. Set amidst rural bengal this place makes you feel the clear sky , the small rivulet flowing by the cottage, the frest air and the pesticide free food. Everything is natural out there and one can enjoy fishing, playing cricket/ football, counting stars, having telebhaja with hot tea or tasting a number of unknown fish varieties of bengal. Food is great and the way they serve makes the difference. For children they had given us a number of toys and also went all the way to inflate a bath tub in the garden so that children can actually enjoy an open air shower. Rooms are huge with clean toilets and at night the weather becomes too cold. We went in hot summer months but at night we had to use quilts and even switched off the fans. Eyeing all details like use of eco friendly articles , making use of bio gas and using all locally available materials make it an absolute model place to care for our mother nature. Another important aspect is the Antyodyay Orphanage which is nearby and people can go and contribute for the poor children out there. The host's care for mother nature, for orphan children around us and to give you back the rural life makes your stay really different from other weekend destinations in and around kolkata. Except the road from Kalinganagar everything about this place is beautiful. I would definitely like to go back to Mon Chasha.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Arunima2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited Monchasha during our Chrismas vacation in 2012. Monchasha is located at Paushi village in East Midnapur. We went to Monchasha in our car, a 3 hours trip from Kolkata.

The place was very tranquil and green and a very peaceful place to spend a short vacation. The owners Mr. and Mrs. Basu formed Monchasha a year ago. Their warm hospitality immediately made us feel at home. During our 3 day vacation we saw potters wheel in action, tasted local delicacy goina bori and got to see quite a few local handicraft products. We saw different types of birds, it was a pure joy to walk around in the foggy mornings. We took many nice pictures of our son in the diffuse morning light.

Our son had a great time playing with different types of toys in the kids’room. He liked the place so much he even wanted to tow one cottage back to Kolkata! The food was absolutely delicious there, they made vegetarian food specially for me, I being a vegetarian. I got to know from my husband that non-veg food were also very nice. Our son struck a friendship with a dog at Monchasha, and then we found ourselves making trips to Paushi Bazar several times for buying biscuits for the dog. The dog kept walking by our side wagging its tail while we were strolling through the village enjoying the calm countryside view.

Everyone in the resort were so very nice. I picked up some nice recipes from the wonderful cook. We really want to go back to Monchasha again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LatikaDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I along with my friends went for a weekend trip. Its not very far off from Kolkata. If want to enjoy the natural rural beauty then you got to stay a day here. Fantastic hospitality, good food served in pure bengali style. Huts are build with bamboo logs and each is having attached bath and TV with DTH connectivity. From Howrah one can avail the Digha bound train (Tamralipta Exp or Kandari Exp) to Kanthi and from Kanthi its around 17 Km. If you call their office, they can arrange the transport from Kanthi Rly Station. Overall it was a very nice experience and will certainly visit again with my family.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cosmoss_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Desher Baari, for a typical urban Bengali would mean his native village, where his ancestors hail from and where his ancestral home still remains rooted. An ancestral home is where your heart is; because that's where you would find the ever pampering grandparents, uncles and aunts, the friendly cooks and housekeepers. More often Desher Baari is a child one would go playing for hours and hours (under the ever watchful eyes of the relatives and neighbours) with no one to scold or timekeeping. Freedom was truly freedom...freedom not only from homeworks but also from pollution and the stale urban khaana-peena. Desher Baari is also where one would get closest to nature...the earth, the water and the air in their purest possible avatars.
However, sadly many of the urban Bengalis (like Your Truly), have lost connection with their ancestral root.
But then that's what Monchasha is ...what I call 'Desher Baari'...where you feel unrestrained, relaxed and rejuvenated. You and your kid could drench yourself in the rains, get dusty in the red soil, swim to yoru heart's content in the twin ponds, go fishing and take a boat ride down the 'Bagda' river. Or better still...do nothing...absolutely nothing. Just sit by the Bagda and attain your nirvana.
For the Bengali foodie, it could be reliving the traditional Bengal spread that the doting grandmoms used to serve in your ancestral home.
Monchasha is the closest you could get to rural traditional Bengal (without compromising on the basic comforts from western civilisaiton).
For my non-Bengali friends, this is an opportunity to see a Bengal that is beyond Kolkata, Darjeeling and the Dooars. Come and experience the alternate Bengal, where the rural toil hard and live a simple life, but are ready to welcome you with their biggest asset...an unadulterated smile.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
8 Thank Uddipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My friend and me visited Monchasha on the second week of March 2013 for a one-night stay.
We had taken the train from Howrah to Contai, and I would strongly advise future visitors against this mode of commute. The trains are invariably and unreasonably late in both their up and down trips. Taking a bus of car would be a much better option. In the last lap of the journey by car, expect to encounter bad roads.
The property itself is nice, with a sprawling natural rural landscape, offering unhindered views all around, though there aren't any particular elements of interest in the views. The architecture proves to be more interesting, with innovative structures and methods of construction inspired by the Indian vernacular idioms. The decoration is somewhat kitschy, but charming. The accommodation is reasonably comfortable, and though their is no air-conditioning, it was pleasant even by early summer. Acoustic privacy is low between adjoining cottages. Running hot water is not available, but on request, they provide buckets of it for bathing. Water closets are of the European type; complimentary toiletries are limited to soaps and tissue roles; 'Gamchha' towels are provided, but do not forget to carry a pair of slippers for the rooms/toilet. Mosquito repellents would be essential, depending on the season of visit: mosquitoes proved to be great deterrents for enjoying the evening (thankfully, mosquito nets are provided for the bed).
The food was good: traditional Bengali cuisine (though some of it could do with a little bit of chillies), and is possibly the best thing to look forward to. We opted for vegetarian meals (not a la carte, but the hosts do consult at times), and were pleased with the variety, taste, and quantity of items served. It seemed healthy and hygienic.
There is a nice selection of local handicrafts for sale as mementos.
The hosts and attendants were gracious and welcoming.
Might be recommended for groups of friends or family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Orjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I will just say excellnet. Other than the 500 meters of the approach road from Kalinagar everything was just what it should be. The place should be kept as it is. No futher expansion. For 2 days its far from the blare of loud spekars of the "ultra modern city of Kolkata". Just be lazy lazy and lazy. The owner's plan not to allow budding cricketers to hone their skills there is extremely laudable. Did not expect some sort of a rain shower in the bath. The hot Bong food was great. Overall an excellent experience.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Prabal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midnapore
0.0 mi away
The Rajbari Bawali
The Rajbari Bawali
#25 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Masara Beach Resort
Masara Beach Resort
#8 of 9 in Mandarmoni
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ffort Raichak
The Ffort Raichak
#1 of 2 in Raichak
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
#27 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dolphin
Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 21 in Digha
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santiniketan
Hotel Santiniketan
#4 of 21 in Digha
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Chasha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Chasha

Property: Mon Chasha
Address: Village Paushi, Purba Medinipur | P.S. Bhupatinagar, Block: Bhagabanpur 2, Midnapore, India
Location: India > West Bengal > West Midnapore District > Midnapore
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Midnapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“mon Chasha” Is A Blend Of Authentic Village Culture, Pure Earthen Tradition, The Cultural Heritage Of A Speed Less Rural Life And A True Sentiment Of Natural India. “mon Chasha” Is A Journey, A Theme Of Consciousness In The Global Tourism Arena By Creating A Sustainable Ecotourism Module With Social Responsibility :: Promote, Inspire, Develop, Support And Respect. Explore Rural Bengal :: Go Green. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mon Chasha West Bengal, India - Midnapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing