We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port and chocolates!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Matakohe House B&B Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Matakohe B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Arrived on spec, warm welcome, lovely evening meal,lamb and steak were very enjoyable. Good rapport with hosts and other guests. Fantastic room, complimentary port and chocolates awaited us!!
Excellent breakfast. Stay here ,you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephinebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiviiti, Owner at Matakohe House B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank yo so much for your lovely review. We do try to make our guests feel part of the family and we get a buzz when that is appreciated. The icing on the cake as it were.
Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 81 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Matakohe House was recommended to us by a mutual friend, and it was a perfect place to stay overnight while visiting our friends nearby. The innkeepers, Alex and Lyn, could not have been more welcoming. They are the kind of people that make you feel immediately as if you've known them for some time. Our room was spacious, charming and very comfortable, although we didn't spend a lot of time in it. We had a great chat with our hosts the next morning over breakfast, and we visited the nearby Kauri Museum (another real treat) before leaving Manakohe.

Judy and Ian H.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy_collinshamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiviiti, Owner at Matakohe House B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Lyn and I realy appreciate the reviews we get so thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We do try to make our guests welcome and we enjoy interacting with them. It is the biggest reward we can get to know that we have made you comfortable.
Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We arrived at the B&B quite tired after a long day's ride and were immediately greeted by Lyn, the owner, with a big welcoming smile and 'How can I help you?' and later on by Alex too.
The place itself is beautiful, very elegant, spacious room beautifully, simply and comfortably furnished, with a lovely wide double bed, two armchairs and a tea-chest with extra pillows and blanket. Another lovely touch to the room was a complimentary small decanter of Port and some chocolates. The room had lovely double french doors leading unto a large veranda, opening to beautiful view of the lake and countryside. The shower was spacious and came complete with thick towels and toiletries. The B&B was quite lovely throughout and included a comfortable communal lounge with TV and a cafe/breakfast room. The breakfast was delicious, we had the 'full English' breakfast which kept us going for most of the day!
The B&B is surrounded by a large beautiful well kept garden, and very tranquil, quiet location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0sephine59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiviiti, Owner at Matakohe House B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Lyn and I designed and built Matakohe House and as we had lived for many years in a large Kauri Villa we were determined to try , within economics , to capture the atmosphere of a Kauri Villa particularly as we also wanted to compliment the Kauri Museum and it's ambience.
So thank you for appreciating our efforts. We also enjoy perking up weary travellers that is our biggest reward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I found this B &B by chance as I was looking for accommodation down the west coast. I am so pleased we found Lyn and Alex and their charming accommodation. From the moment we walked in the door Tired from our days drive, we were made to feel like special guests. Their hospitality is outstanding and the accommodation very homely and comfortable. The free port and chocolates were a special touch. The B &B has a cafe and restaurant attached and both our dinner and breakfast were very tasty. Our 8 year old is still talking about Lyn and Alex and how lovely they are. Visit the kauri museum then pop in for a visit...or better still stay the night.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiviiti, Owner at Matakohe House B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

TaniaM Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Matakohe House. It is our pleasure to welcome guests and to ensure that they are looked after as well as we possibly can and we get a great buzz when that is appreciated. It is of course very easy to be hospitable to people who respond as quickly as you folks did. Neisha is a lovel young person too and we enjoyed her company as well. Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We dropped in for lunch while visiting the Kauri Museum just 100 metres up the road. Well worthwhile food from brillaint hosts who made us feel very welcome. The paninis, the quiche and the delicious home made pies were so good we bought some to take home for dinner. There is also a little shop selling lovely home made lace etc at the bottom of the garden. If you head up to the Kauri museum go here for a meal. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiviiti, Owner at Matakohe House B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you James M for your flattering review we get great delight from making people happy and to get get rcognition like this is icing on the cake. Thank you again.
Kaiviti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had dinner at Matakohe House last night (Saturday evening), and you would be hard pressed to find two nicer people than Lyn and Alex. The food was superb and they were incredibly friendly and welcoming. Whether you are staying at Matakohe House or just dining there as we were, the attention to detail and the interaction they have with guests is truly one of a kind. When we next visit that area, we will be booking in to stay. Best of luck to you both and thanks for letting our daughter play the piano; you made her day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiviiti, Owner at Matakohe House B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

JanineL thank you for the flattering review it was our pleasure to have you at our place for dinner and your very talented Daughter certainly made the night for us.
We look forward to the possibility of seeing you again in the not too distant future.ai
Kiaviti20

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We popped in here after we visited the Kauri Museum next door.

Very welcoming lady and her cat (Keshah). Had the carrot cake and some coffee.
The carrot cake was absolutely delicious. It was a very welcome snack after walking around the museum for a couple of hours.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charmaine182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiviiti, Owner at Matakohe House B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you Charmaine 182 we get a thrill from making people happy and hope that we added just a little to the overall experience you had in Matakohe.
Kaiviti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matakohe House B&B Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakohe House B&B Hotel

Address: 24 Church Road | Rd1, Matakohe 0593, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Matakohe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Matakohe
Price Range: $114 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matakohe House is the closest purpose built accommodation to the Famous Kauri Mueseum. Our rooms all have en-suites are comfortable and roomy. Our cafe provides a delicious home cooked "a la carte" dinner menu for evening dining. Breakfasts is included in the tariff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Matakohe House B&B Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing