We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Matakohe House B&B Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Matakohe B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Matakohe is not a town but a small village where the main attraction is the extraordinary Kauri museum. While there you need somewhere to stay and Matakohe House would be hard to beat anywhere. You get comfort, good food and a hearty individual welcome and service from the owners. Our room was outstanding with some delighful port to get us relaxed. You like tranquility? Watch out - there is a danger you might hear a bird singing outside your window in the morning. Nothing louder. We arrived in mid-winter so things were quiet but we made our own atmosphere with Alex and Lynn. Rack of lamb was very tasty as was my chicken at dinner. A good breakfast saw us on our reluctant way next morning. One of the real highlights of our Northland tour.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ourmindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiviiti, Owner at Matakohe House B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Ormindo my apologies for not responding sooner to your glowing review thank you so much for taking the time to post it. I did in fact respond almost immediately but for some reason my response to you was attributed to another review and in the sorting out the problem your review was lost. Lyn and I really enjoyed your company and are glad that you felt comfortable here at Matakohe House.
Kaiviti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Matakohe House B&B Hotel on our last night of our New Zealand holiday. The room we had looked out on to the lovely green backyard and was very comfortable. It is a one stop place because the hosts Lyn & Alex also serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. My husband enjoyed his venison and I certainly enjoyed my lamb rack. The meal was served with lovely fresh vegetables that were cooked to perfection. Breakfast the next morning was enormous and certainly kept us going for the day.
If you are going to Matakohe to visit the museum this is the place to stay for the night.

Room Tip: No swimming pool and we did not require room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieTurnbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiviiti, Owner at Matakohe House B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Matakohe House and we are very pleased that we were able to give your North Island adventure a great start. Lyn and I really enjoy looking after people and it is a thrill when that is appreciated. Thanks again and please come another time if you are in the North again.
Kaiviti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On reviewing our two month stay in NZ and staying in 17 different places from Invercargill to the far north, the place that we have the most fond memmories is Matakohe House B&B.
The welcome we received on arriveing was genuine and made us feel very welcome. Our room was clean and comfortable, but the best was yet to come, the evening meal was exceptional my wife had the salmon and I the rack of lamb it was devine, washed down with a few glasses of excellent wine, the service was very good.
The breakfast after a good nights sleep was one of the best, with my eggs fried to perfection.
Altogether a memorable stay.

Room Tip: not to be missed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcus641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiviiti, Owner at Matakohe House B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you Marcus 641. That has really made our day so glad you enjoyed the Rack of Lamb that is one of our specialty dishes and is extremely popular. The salmon too is one of our favorite dishes to serve as it showcases the lovely fresh South Island Salmon.
Thak you again it was a joy to have you stay with us and we are indeed humbled to at the top of your stay experiences.
Kaiviti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent last night at Matakohe House and it was fabulous. Our first night in the North Island of NZ and we could not have hoped for a better start. It was like staying with your favourite Aunty and Uncle, we were treated like we were at home and made to feel very welcome. The food (rack of lamb) was exceptional, lovely home-style cooking, with great flavour and great hosts. Breakfast continued the theme, what a way to start day two.

Would recommend anytime for a great first night experience in New Zealand, or any other night for that matter.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiviiti, Owner at Matakohe House B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you so much Wayne L for your great review. It gives Lyn and I real satisfaction when our efforts are appreciated. We really enjoy making our guests happy and to kick start your holiday like that is a thrill.
Thank you.
Kaiviti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Thank you, Alex and Lyn, for a wonderful night's accommodation. Wonderful hospitality! We were made to feel like family right from the outset. We have stayed in B&Bs in many places, and this would be equal to the best and far superior to most. The room was comfortable and spacious, the bathroom also very roomy (a big plus!), and the complimentary port and chocolates a very nice (and unexpected) touch. We both had the rack of lamb for dinner, and it was superb, as was the dessert -- a rare treat. Breakfast, too, was generous, well-presented, and delicious.
We would certainly stay there again if we had the opportunity.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailsa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiviiti, Owner at Matakohe House B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you Ailsa W for the super review you gave Matakohe House. It was very refreshing after the disappointing review posted about mutton dressed as lamb by a casual diner. We really do try to give everyone a pleasant experience but I guess it is hard to please all the people all the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked into this highly reviewed restaurant for our first night on a campervan trip so that we could savour good kiwi food in style before having to rely on our own cookong. What a disappointment! The rack of lamb was inedible, tough, fatty and certainly a few years beyond lamb. The fish was tasteless. We had the impression that the owners were filling in time before retiring and thst the joy had gone out of the food preparation and presentation. Too bad. A lovely place for new owners to open.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mellonross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiviiti, Owner at Matakohe House B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Your comments are indeed disappointing. We never serve mutton instead of lamb. We were sheep farmers prior to openeong Matakohe House 14 years ago so we do know the difference.
We always tell people that the fish is battered and has been frozen. As I recall there was very little left on your plates apart from the bones of the LAMB rack. Please refer to the next review from AilsaW the lamb racks served to her were the same quality as that we gave you and presented the very next day. We have had many thousands of compliments for our food and service, yes we would like to retire but Lyn still prepares food with love and care and we do not let the fact that we want to retire compromise our service. Had you indicated your disappointment at the time we could have done something about it if it was warranted. Tto hide behind the written word after the event is of no help to anyone. We take great comfort from the many daily compliments we get for our food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a delightful visit to Matakohe House for a single night. We were greeted warmly showed to our room and invited to arrange dinner in the restaurant if we wished. The room was very comfortable and we found the shower as mentioned by Faypeke to be easy to use and much safer than some we had had to step into.

The shared verandah was a great spot to have our picnic lunch that we had brought with us and Alex who was in the restaurant made sure we had plates, cutlery and condiments. We looked at the menu for the evening, selected our meal and decided upon a time we would dine. There was no waiting for the food and the price of our bottle of wine was reduced because we did not get the 'free glass of wine' offered on our arrival.

There was a small flagon of port and two glasses in the room which provided a great finish to the meal we had had. The room was quiet and we arose to enjoy a fine breakfast and, when we mentioned that we were meeting friends at the Kauri Museum in an hour or so, were given a discount ticket to reduce our entry fee. The discount ticket also covered our friends' admissions as well which saved us over $20.

It was very pleasant to receive a prompt phone call to our hotel in the Bay of Islands confirming our emailed request for accommodation. I did feel we were in good hands and we both felt welcome and valued. They do it all very well.

Room Tip: We found the room closest to the restaurant at the back of the building facing their garden a very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phidippus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiviiti, Owner at Matakohe House B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Matakohe House. We get warm fuzzie feelings when our efforts are appreciated. It was a pity that faypeke took the view that she did but your review following so closely to her's restored our confidence and belief that we have a quality product to share with visiting and local tourists alike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matakohe House B&B Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakohe House B&B Hotel

Address: 24 Church Road | Rd1, Matakohe 0593, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Matakohe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Matakohe
Price Range: $118 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matakohe House is the closest purpose built accommodation to the Famous Kauri Mueseum. Our rooms all have en-suites are comfortable and roomy. Our cafe provides a delicious home cooked "a la carte" dinner menu for evening dining. Breakfasts is included in the tariff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Matakohe House B&B Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing