We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and recover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matakohe B & B Petite Provence
Ranked #1 of 3 Matakohe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relax and recover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Petite Provence is really the place to choose for those looking for a quiet
clean and comfortable stay. Gorgeous views from the surrounding balcony. Linda is an excellent cook and cares well for her guests. Stayed there for a couple of days and enjoyed the peacefulness.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMatakoheNZ, Owner at Matakohe B & B Petite Provence, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review on us Rene, we don't often have guests write a review so it is much appreciated.
We enjoyed having you stay with us. Kind regards, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Unfortunately we could only stay for one night. But it was just excellent. We enjoyed the delicious platter in a beautiful surrounding in pleasant company with two other Kiwi guests from Auckland and our friendly hosts Linda and Guy.
It's a very nice, well-kept, very clean and solitary accomodation we can recommend to everybody. A good place to relax... so next time we'll stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WMartin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMatakoheNZ, Owner at Matakohe B & B Petite Provence, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and the evening platter. Guests often don't feel like the drive to local restaurants so the platter has become very popular. It certainly is very peaceful in our rural surroundings and very relaxing.
Thank you for your review.
Regards,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at Petite Provence on 9 January 2014. We received incredibly warm hospitality, enjoyed fantastic home cooking (of restaurant standard) and stimulating conversation, all set in a truly peaceful country environment with sweeping valley views and glimpses of Kaipara Harbour. The extra treat was co-owner, Guy Bucchi's extraordinary art-inspired furniture.

To de-stress in a genuinely warm, clean and comfortable environment - this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMatakoheNZ, Owner at Matakohe B & B Petite Provence, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind words on Petite Provence B & B and your compliments on Guy's work.
We also enjoyed your company and our very interesting conversations with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey
Level Contributor
187 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent a lovely evening enjoying Linda's Mediterranean style cooking, Guy's fascinating metal and kauri wood chairs and workshop, and their beautiful, vey comfortable B & B. This is a great stopping place before or after a visit to the Kauri Museum, which you definitely should not miss.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PickyTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMatakoheNZ, Owner at Matakohe B & B Petite Provence, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We had a very enjoyable evening, interesting conversation and in good company.
I often inform guests that we also sleep in the house, not in another building.True B & B's welcome visitors to share their family home.
Thanks,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

After three weeks in New Zealand , I can say this is one of the best accomodations we had.
The house is spacious, clean and very quiet. The view is wanderful, you can appreciate it even from your bed.
We are Italian and we are demanding about food. Our Guest prepared for us a wondeful dinner, New Zealend ingredients prepared with French skills.
Breakfast was very good too. Home made jam , croissants, and much more.
I think we will visit again this B&B if we will be back in NZ.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GiorgioMe51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMatakoheNZ, Owner at Matakohe B & B Petite Provence, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed your stay, I do enjoy cooking and making my home welcoming for visitors.
Ciao Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Recently we stayed with Linda and Guy. They are generous and welcoming hosts. Our room was fresh and clean with a hint of Provence. We shared the evening meal with other guests and our hosts. The food was plentiful and the wine flowed as did the laughter. A wonderful evening was enjoyed by all.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozlyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMatakoheNZ, Owner at Matakohe B & B Petite Provence, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hello Roz,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had an enjoyable evening as we did.
Thanking you, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Having gotten lost on our way, we were worried that we were late arriving, but the hosts were so welcoming! Guy, an artist who creates one-of-a-kind iron chairs, showed us his workshop and his designs; beautiful! Linda was not only engaging but forgiving of our lateness and recommended a wonderful restaurant to get dinner that night.

The Petite Provence has a stunning view of the surrounding countryside and Linda has a beautiful garden. It is really in the middle of nowhere, which made the location ideal for stargazing that night, so if you want a place completely without light pollution to look at the Milky Way and the Southern Cross, you must stay here. Don't get worried if you think you've gone too far down Tinopai Road, it's almost exactly 7 km from the turnoff!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annual_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMatakoheNZ, Owner at Matakohe B & B Petite Provence, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review on Petite Provence and your kind comments.
We always enjoy meeting interesting people like yourselves. Regards Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakohe
24.1 mi away
Parkview Motel
Parkview Motel
#2 of 4 in Dargaville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
21.5 mi away
Waipu Cove Resort
Waipu Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Waipu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.9 mi away
Matakohe House B&B Hotel
Matakohe House B&B Hotel
#2 of 3 in Matakohe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Old Post Office Guest House
23.8 mi away
Hobson's Choice Motel
Hobson's Choice Motel
#1 of 4 in Dargaville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
21.7 mi away
Country Homestead at Black Sheep Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakohe B & B Petite Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakohe B & B Petite Provence

Property: Matakohe B & B Petite Provence
Address: 703C Tinopai Road, Matakohe 0593, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Matakohe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Matakohe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matakohe B & B Petite Provence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-friendly rural Bed & Breakfast, only a 10 minute drive from the Matakohe Kauri museum. All rooms with insect screens open onto a large covered deck with panoramic views of rolling hills, farmland and the distant Kaipara harbour. 4 course evening meals (May-September) light meals (platters) October-April) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matakohe B & B Petite Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing