We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanderful place and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matakohe B & B Petite Provence
Ranked #1 of 3 Matakohe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wanderful place and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

After three weeks in New Zealand , I can say this is one of the best accomodations we had.
The house is spacious, clean and very quiet. The view is wanderful, you can appreciate it even from your bed.
We are Italian and we are demanding about food. Our Guest prepared for us a wondeful dinner, New Zealend ingredients prepared with French skills.
Breakfast was very good too. Home made jam , croissants, and much more.
I think we will visit again this B&B if we will be back in NZ.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GiorgioMe51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMatakoheNZ, Owner at Matakohe B & B Petite Provence, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed your stay, I do enjoy cooking and making my home welcoming for visitors.
Ciao Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Recently we stayed with Linda and Guy. They are generous and welcoming hosts. Our room was fresh and clean with a hint of Provence. We shared the evening meal with other guests and our hosts. The food was plentiful and the wine flowed as did the laughter. A wonderful evening was enjoyed by all.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozlyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMatakoheNZ, Owner at Matakohe B & B Petite Provence, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hello Roz,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had an enjoyable evening as we did.
Thanking you, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Having gotten lost on our way, we were worried that we were late arriving, but the hosts were so welcoming! Guy, an artist who creates one-of-a-kind iron chairs, showed us his workshop and his designs; beautiful! Linda was not only engaging but forgiving of our lateness and recommended a wonderful restaurant to get dinner that night.

The Petite Provence has a stunning view of the surrounding countryside and Linda has a beautiful garden. It is really in the middle of nowhere, which made the location ideal for stargazing that night, so if you want a place completely without light pollution to look at the Milky Way and the Southern Cross, you must stay here. Don't get worried if you think you've gone too far down Tinopai Road, it's almost exactly 7 km from the turnoff!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annual_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMatakoheNZ, Owner at Matakohe B & B Petite Provence, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review on Petite Provence and your kind comments.
We always enjoy meeting interesting people like yourselves. Regards Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was one of the few times we stayed in a B&B and we must admit we normally choose a hotel. But the welcome from Linda and Guy was so welcoming, we felt at home straight away. Linda is very chatty and very proud to share her home and country. Guy is a very creative artist working mainly on chairs. Take your change to have a look in the workshop!

The B&B is very quiet, in a good way. It's a great place to catch a breath. The rooms are nice, with porch access. Bathroom is very clean. Breakfast is healthy and very good.

You might find it too quiet, but it's a small gem, this B&B. Make sure to visit the Kauri Museum!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Petite Provence B & B Matakohe

Petite Provence is a peaceful relaxing B & B with beautiful panoramic views, worth the 10 minute drive from Matakohe. . Linda & Guy (the generous friendly hosts) welcomed us into their Beautiful spotless home, where Linda cooked us one of the best meals we had during our stay in NZ. We enjoyed their company (NZ and French) our holiday, and walks to the nearby beach. We have advised our workmates where to go and relax. The Millers NSW

Room Tip: All rooms are large with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

It was fairly late in the day when we arrived in the vicinity of the very interesting Kauri Museum and we had just missed the last available room at the nearby lodge, So using the Lonely Planet Guide we phoned Le Petite Provence and had the good news a room was available. We were rather tired and it seemed quite a long country road before we reached our destination, but we had a warm welcome from Linda and were shown a delightful room in the Provencale style. Sadly, however, Linda told us she was having a night off from cooking, but seeing our downfallen faces, she said she would see what she could do, sat us down on the verandah to enjoy both the rural views and glasses of wine and nibbles and soon produced a delicious salad, a fresh herb filled omelet and some home backing. A delightful evening followed with Linda and Guy sharing a bottle of wine in the kitchen. Breakfast was delicious and we left very reluctantly because we had commitments we had to meet. We felt we were leaving good friends. La Petite Provence is a very special place with very special hosts.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandKVictoria_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

10 mins from the Matakohe Kauri Museum is a charming rural B & B hosted by Linda (Kiwi) and Guy (French). They offer warm hospitality and wonderful home cooked meals in their tastefully decorated home. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay and highly recommend it to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank BonesOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakohe
24.1 mi away
Parkview Motel
Parkview Motel
#3 of 4 in Dargaville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
21.5 mi away
Waipu Cove Resort
Waipu Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Waipu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.9 mi away
Matakohe House B&B Hotel
Matakohe House B&B Hotel
#2 of 3 in Matakohe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Old Post Office Guest House
23.8 mi away
Hobson's Choice Motel
Hobson's Choice Motel
#1 of 4 in Dargaville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
21.7 mi away
Country Homestead at Black Sheep Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakohe B & B Petite Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakohe B & B Petite Provence

Property: Matakohe B & B Petite Provence
Address: 703C Tinopai Road, Matakohe 0593, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Matakohe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Matakohe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matakohe B & B Petite Provence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-friendly rural Bed & Breakfast, only a 10 minute drive from the Matakohe Kauri museum. All rooms with insect screens open onto a large covered deck with panoramic views of rolling hills, farmland and the distant Kaipara harbour. 4 course evening meals (May-September) light meals (platters) October-April) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matakohe B & B Petite Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing