We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent dog friendly cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Barley Cottage

Barley Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barley Cottage
Barley lounge Freeview TV with DVD player
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Barley Cottage
Barley lounge
Freeview TV with DVD player
Barley lounge sofa
Barley dining area
Barley patio
From the outside
View the orchard from the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hartland, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sgale2331
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had a really warm welcome to this lovely cosy cottage. Everything we needed was catered for plus lots of extra touches such as wine, chocolates and scones. Very pretty area. We used Widemouth bay as it had a great beach for our young lurcher who loves to run. We would definitely return probably spring/summer.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2018
Dear Sgale2331,
Thank you for your review of your stay in Barley Cottage over the festive break. It's great to read that you found the cottage lovely and cosy, and that you enjoyed your welcome pack. I do hope that you will stay with us again later in the year.
Kind regards,
Martin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis179
Brecon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage is very comfortable and clean. It had all the equipment we needed. We were made very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is very quiet and peaceful.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice comfortable chairs
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2017
Dear Dennis179,
Thank you for your review of Barley Cottage. I am delighted that you found the cottage to be comfortable, clean, and well equipped. It is such a lovely and peaceful location as you mention. We are really lucky to be able to enjoy Yapham all year round. Do come back again.
Kind regards,
Martin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mswheeldo...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful home from home”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have had a fantastic stay at Barley Cottage. The cottage is comfortable, well equipped & has all those little touches that make for a memorable holiday. Martin is the perfect host and provides a lovely warm welcome with cream tea, wine, fresh flowers and a box of chocolates! Not to mention all the little extras such as toiletries, fresh milk and a selection of condiments. The location is fantastic, rural yet not too remote with lots of visiting birds, including woodpeckers and pheasants. We have spent all week exploring the North Devon coastline and had a truly wonderful holiday. We would definitely recommend Yapham Cottages and can't wait to return.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail in making our stay so pleasant.
Liked least: We loved everything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2017
Dear MsWheeldon,
Thank you for your review. It's great to know that you had a great holiday exploring the coast line of North Devon, and that you enjoyed out little welcome pack. Do come again.
Kind regards,
Martin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 6, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High level or service offered and tranquil location of property
Liked least: Nothing - we were completely happy with our choice of cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 10, 2013
Dear Ian & Wendy, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review of Barley Cottage. I am delighted that you found the location so quiet and peaceful, and that the cottage was an “excellent choice”. We always try to ensure that the cottages are well-equipped, for both human and doggy guests! Thank you for recommending us to your friends, and I do hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future. Kind regards, Martin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing