We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Flying visit!!!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shipload Cottage

Shipload Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shipload Cottage
Dining area in the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Shipload Cottage
Dining area in the kitchen
Utility room with freezer, washing machine and tumble dryer
Shipload Bay on the nearby coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hartland, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynne B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Flying visit!!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Short break at this cottage but will hopefully return for longer next time. Warm, clean and extremely comfortable. Visited Hartland Point. Stunning scenery. Nice bar with meals available and only a ten minute drive from cottages. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2018
Dear Lynne,

Thank you for providing a review of your stay in October. I am sorry that I am only just replying, but I have only just seen your review. I don't recall seeing a notification from Tripadvisor to inform me of the review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Martin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2017
Dear Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. Hartland itself does have two general stores that open every day. As you discovered, there are also a number of inns serving food and drink, plus several artisans just waiting to showcase their crafts. Do come back and stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Martin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gail T
1 review
“Good stay”
Reviewed March 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The cottage was a nice place to stay although on a slope with steps down to and steps inside to the kitchen and second bedroom. A warm welcome with flowers, a bottle of wine and scones,jam and cream. The dog was allowed to stay as well. There is plenty to do in the area and as we only stayed Thursday to Saturday we would stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2017
Dear Gail T,
Thank you for your review of Shipload Cottage. I am delighted that you enjoyed our welcome pack. Our four legged friends are more than welcome to bring their human owners to stay with us, as there are so many places to go walkies in the Hartland area! I do hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Martin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M
Camborne, United Kingdom
1 review
“If you are looking for heaven, then look no further.”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This beautiful cottage set in a small wooded valley, but approx 10 mins from the coast. It's great for watching wildlife, going for walks or just to chill and relax. Martin is a fantastic guy nothing is too much trouble, just ask and he does what he can and lots more besides. Everything you need for your holiday is right here you need look no further. We really didn't want to go home. Thanks again Martin, we hope to see you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, it was just perfect
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2017
Dear Susan M,
Thank you for writing a review of your stay. I totally agree, Yapham is a great place for watching wildlife or just relaxing in beautiful surroundings. I like to be available, whilst giving you your privacy during your stay. I hope that you will return in the future.
Kind regards,
Martin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage which contained absolutely everything we required.”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday - possibly our best ever! We are grandparents and were accompanied on our trip by our son and daughter-in-law and 3 year old granddaughter. We all had a brilliant time, which was greatly assisted by the lovely cottage we had as our base and the warm welcome we received (Flowers, chocolates, wine, cream scones and milk in the fridge). The cottage is in an excellent position for walking or visiting the many local places of interest and beauty. Everything you could think of was provided, and as well as all of the standard thing to be expected , there were also: DVDs, CDs, books, toys and games. We woke each day to see many varieties of birds feeding outside (nuts in hangers were provided) . Our host was excellent, ensuring we were well catered fro without encroaching on our privacy. We could not have wished for more and although we do not usually holiday in the same place twice we are already considering making a return visit to Shipload Cottage. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything.
Liked least: Towels in the en-suite were slow to dry - but this is being really picky!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2014
I am really delighted that you enjoyed what you describe as possibly, "our best holiday ever". We do try to keep the cottages equipped with little extras for the evening; such as the books, DVDs and board games. I hope that you will visit us for a second time. Kind regards, Martin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Shipload cottage is ideally located to explore the area which we did, yet peaceful enough to relax of an evening. It is a well equipped cottage and was very clean. The welcome pack of wine, chocolates, flowers, scones and cream added an extra touch of hospitality. We visited: Hartland, RMB Chivenor, Appledore, Instow, Lynton, Lynmouth, Bude, Sandymouth bay, Clovelly, Barnstable, other beaches and coves and Watersmeet falls all relatively close. We appreciated a laundry room on the couple of wet days we had. Thank you Martin for your kind regards
Sue and Paul Scott
We will definitely be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Pheasants!! They seem to be suicidal
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2014
Dear Sue & Paul, Thank you for writing a view of your stay in Shipload Cottage. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our welcome treats. It is lovely to tuck into scones with jam and cream after a long journey! I hope that you will be back in the future. Kind regards, Martin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, quiet and stunning views
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2014
Thank you for your review of Shipload Cottage. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The Hartland area is beautiful place to visit. I hope that you will be back to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing