We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Cottage, Perfect Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yapham Coastal Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage, Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have just had the most wonderful stay here and there wasn't a single aspect that wasn't absolutely perfect - from the wonderful welcoming cream tea, wine & treats for the dog to the very well equipped kitchen and comfortable sitting room. This is the perfect base to explore the delights of North Devon. Places like Coombe Martin and Ilfracombe to Bodmin Moor are easily accessible. The brilliant thing is, that you don't actually need to use the car every day. The area is perfect for walking - footpaths abound and the country lanes are so quiet. We enjoyed an amazing and beautiful 10 mile walk to Hartland Point and back and it was lovely to have a comfortable and cosy cottage to come back to. The attention to detail is second to none and nothing has been overlooked - free wifi, current TV guide magazine, lots of literature on the surrounding area & places to eat etc. We even noticed that a specialist firm had cleaned the mattress. The cottage was absolutely spotless on arrival.

Martin was very welcoming and extremely helpful. Fortunately the weather was very kind to us, but just before a cold snap our central heating packed up. This was attended to and fixed very promptly. You can tell this is someone who actually REALLY cares if you have an enjoyable stay or not.

I can't see any single reason why we would book any other cottage and we are now in the process of planning our trip for next year and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aardie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Aardie21, Thank you so much for writing such a fantastic review of your stay with us, We are really all delighted with your glowing comments. It is really nice of you to say that we really care about our customers. This is so true. When you told me of the problem with your heating on the Monday morning, I was able to get our local engineer to come over in the afternoon. Unfortunately, with the best will in the world, these things do sometimes happen. It is my aim to get them sorted out as quickly as possible. I will certainly look forward to welcoming you back again to Yapham next year! Kind regards, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
99
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Gorgeous cottage in beautiful rural location with the most helpful hosts. really useful info about dog friendly beaches and places to eat and go ... we had a great holiday and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyA363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sally, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Yapham Cottages. I am really pleased that you found us to be helpful hosts, and that our information packs were helpful. I do hope to be able to add to our “dog friendly” information, ready for the 2014 season. I do hope that you will be back to stay with us in North Devon again. Kind regards, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hahnstätten
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We truly loved every minute spend at Barley Cottage.
If you want to treat yourself to the luxury of living in a peaceful and quiet orchard absent
of noise/light pollution, then suit up!
The Cottage's best loved feature is the conservatory, everything is clean and comfortably arranged and Martin outdoes himself to make your stay remarkable and most valuable. We were warmly greeted by flowers, chocolates, wine and delicious homemade cream tea accessoires.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Carmen, Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Yapham. Almost every guest who stays with us comments upon how lovely it is to find fresh flowers; a box of chocolates; a bottle of wine; and our home-made scones, strawberry jam, and cream upon arrival. I had a good chuckle as I watched the look on your faces when I told you that Henk and Siggi had eaten your welcome pack before they left! It would be great to have you come and stay again as a foursome, although I understand that work makes this difficult. I hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Everything about the stay was perfect the cottage was clean and very comfortable and with this being our first visit to this part of Devon there were always suggestions of great places to go.
I had my mum with me who is slightly infirm and i have to say the personal service with Martin often coming to help her into the cottage was a great touch i plan to go again as everything was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmeen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Yasmeen, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. It was a pleasure to be of help. We have lots of information leaflets in the cottages, as well as packs of local walks and the Coastal Path. I am always pleased to offer my own advice to guests too. I do hope that you will be able to visit us again, along with your mother. Kind regards, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at Barley Cottage, it had everything we needed & more. We were warmly welcomed by John. The cream tea, wine, flowers &chocolates were a lovely treat. There are 3 cottages here 2 are dog friendly & the grounds are lovely. Great dog walk through the orchard &through the paddock. We really liked the conservatory, spent many hours just watching all the birds on the feeder.You really have thought of everything, even down to the ice cream & ready meals if you should want one or two!! Thank-you so much Martin for everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digger163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Digger163, Thank you for writing a fantastic review of your stay in Barley Cottage. We always try to go the extra mile to make your stay a very special one. Yapham is a great place for dog owners. There are lots of footpaths in the area, plus we have our long driveway and paddock for doggy exercising. I hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future. Kind regards, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Another thoroughly enjoyable Shipload Cottage visit. We appreciate the cottage tranquillity, and super layout. The nearby local places of Hartland, Quay, Village & Point, St. Nectan Church at Stoke, were all visited, and were included in our 36 miles of rambling during the week. One of our favourite locations was that of Berry, Blackpool Cottage, Blegberry Cliff & Beach, including steep cliff climbs and stunning location and views. Atlantic Village, is also convenient, with Asda,, Cafes and some interesting quality shops, a useful local asset. At Martin's suggestion we visited south along the 'Atlantic Highway', the quaint Hamlet/Village of Morenstow, with it's connection with the Parish Vicar Robert Hawker, and cliff side inspirational Shack, Vicarage, Church and picturesque Bush Inn, all charming places. As usual Martin & this time also John, ensured a successful. We also found the local people we encountered, all had a pleasant, friendly welcoming disposition, including the Hartland Farmers' Market.
We are looking forward to yet another return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Ian, Thank you for writing a second review of Yapham Cottages. It is always great to have returning guests. You get to develop a special relationship with the guests. There is so much to see and do in the local area. I am delighted that you have found even more to discover in your latest visit. Hartland is a “Walkers Are Welcome” town so you will always find lots of friendly people around. I look forward to seeing you again, and hopefully with more of your superb artwork to show off. Kind regards, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you have never visited the Hartland Peninsula in North Devon (which we had not) or you are a regular we can thoroughly recommend Yapham Cottages. There are three lovely cottages (2 Dog Friendly) in a very secluded location. Each cottage remains sufficiently separate to give you the peace and quiet you desire. The cottages are all very clean, spacious and the manager, Martin provides some welcome goodies such as a Devon Cream tea and a bottle of wine and chocolates. The Website is excellent and the booking process very efficient and well communicated.
There is an orchard and another meadow for exercising the dog and the local walks and those a little further afield are easily accessed and take your breath away.
At night there is no light pollution so the stars on a clear night (and we had a few) are a wonder to behold.
I would definitely recommend Yapham and the Hartland area as a place to visit for walkers and in my case golfers as Royal North Devon and Saunton are in easy reach.
http://www.yaphamcottages.co.uk/

Room Tip: The two dog friendly cottages are Windbury and Barley - all named after local points of interest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AceGolfer13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear AceGolfer13th, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We decided to make Barley and Windbury cottages dog friendly about eighteen months ago, and it has been a decision we have not regretted. It is fantastic to see our four legged friends enjoying their stay with their two legged owners! I am glad that you found the cottage clean and tidy upon your arrival, and I must congratulate you on how tidy you left your cottage: a five star job! I do hope that you will be able to visit us again. Kind regards, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartland
10.4 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.5 mi away
Home from Home B&B
Home from Home B&B
#6 of 10 in Hartland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cheristow Farm Cottages
Cheristow Farm Cottages
#4 of 11 in Hartland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yapham Coastal Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yapham Coastal Cottages

Property: Yapham Coastal Cottages
Address: Yapham Farm, Hartland EX39 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Hartland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Hartland
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal holiday cottages in Hartland, North Devon consist of three high quality barn conversions. These self-catering cottages are surrounded by five acres of lovely grounds with breathtaking views across the valley.There is much to do and see in the local area. The miles and miles of spectacular coastline around the Hartland Peninsula has a wonderful selection of secluded beaches, pretty coves and coastal walks. Yapham holiday cottages are equidistant between Bude in Cornwall and Bideford in Devon.Many of our guests regularly return to Yapham self-catering coastal cottages in Hartland, North Devon and recommend us to their friends, so we are confident that you too will enjoy your holiday in this ' hidden gem' of North Devon.Dogs are accepted in all three cottages.Free WiFi available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yapham Coastal Cottages Hartland, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing