We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and cottages”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yapham Coastal Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and cottages”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at Barley cottage for 2 weeks and had one of the best holidays ever. Martin made us feel so welcome. The area is so beautiful and well kept gardens surround the cottages, attracting many birds and some squirrels. There are so many places to visit within the local area, in a car or walking. We fished a couple of times at the pond, even if your not into fishing it is a lovely place to sit with a picnic (Martin has picnic basket you can use). We may be going back in the future, I hope.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear B & M, Thank you for writing a really great review. It was lovely to meet you, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The nearby fishing pond is great isn’t it? We’ve had a few guests fish down there over the last couple of months. They have all said the fishing is good there. I certainly hope that you will be able to stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
99
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We cannot recommend Yapham Cottages highly enough. We were looking for a secluded and peaceful venue for a walking / beach holiday near to the stunning coastline that is the South West Way. We have visited this area about 6 times in recent years always staying at rental holiday lets. Yapham (Barley Cottage) was perfect for us and was the nicest place we've stayed at in the area. Although in a very quiet rural location it is just a few minutes’ drive from Hartland for pubs and provisions. We will definitely revisit next year.

The site is managed by Martin who made us feel very welcome and throughout our stay was always keen to help out in any way he could. The cottage was well equipped and very clean and tidy. The welcome gifts of wine, chocolates and a 'cream tea' was a lovely touch.. as were the fresh flowers. Martin even makes sure that there is a plentiful supply of seed and nuts to keep the birds, ‘tame’ pheasants and squirrels happy.

We cooked and ate in most nights and found the kitchen to be well equipped. Another great idea is the supply of ice-cream and frozen meals - which are there to buy if we had wanted them. The bundle of guide books and good quality maps in the cottage were very useful. There was also a good supply of DVD's and books.

The conservatory was really lovely to have and allowed us to hide from the weather when necessary and watch the birds.

Yapham is an excellent venue for a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Glenn & Debra, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. I delighted to hear that you thought Yapham was one of the nicest places you have stayed in. It's great to see that you were able to upload some photographs of Barley Cottage too. I do hope that you will return next year. I look forward to welcoming you both back. Kind regards, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for two weeks with our dog in the Windbury cottage. Had an excellent time. The cottage is very nicely located (peaceful and quietly). In the cottage is plenty of information on local activities and walks, no need to look for a tourist office.

Martin proofed to be an real ambassador of British Hospitality! Fresh scones with cream upon arrival and always happy to help.

We are definitely recommending this place for people who like to have a quite and relaxing time with some nice in the Devon country side.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JdGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your smashing review. I am delighted with the title you have awarded me, Ambassador of British Hospitality indeed! It is always a pleasure to be on hand, for if any problems arise or just to give information about the Hartland Peninsula. I hope that you will visit us again if you visit the UK in the future. Kind regards, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our weeks stay at Shipload Cottage which is a cosy, well equipped and 5 star clean. Just the place to unwind and relax in such a beautiful area which has a lot to so and see. Lost for ideas the cottage is full of maps and guides to attractions in the area. The welcome pack was just wonderful. Martins welcome and customer service is just excellent as is his knowledge of the area. Walking in the area along the coastal paths is just amazing albeit challenging in places, the views are just stunning. The local pubs are to be recommended The Hart Pub in Hartland has a menu to die for - best book it gets busy. Yapham cottages are a real home from home experience we thank Martin for looking after us so well. Dave, Jan

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Dave & Jan, Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We always try really hard to provide our guests with lots of information. There are just so many places to visit, and things to do. I hope that you will visit again, and I will point you towards things you didn't manage to fit in this time. Take care, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife, myself and daughter enjoyed our week break at the Windbury cottage, Martin made us very welcome. There was a nice surprise of cream tea for three, flowers, chocs and wine all most appreciated. The cottage was great, thanks very much for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Geoff, Thank you for your review of your stay in Windbury Cottage. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. I hope that you all took part in the water activities at Tamar Lakes, and that you had an interesting visit to Stonehenge on your way home. Do visit again. Kind regards, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Having read the previous reviews my wife and I would endorse them all. The customer service shown by Martin was excellent, always on hand to offer advice or check that everything was ok. The location is very peaceful and there are numerous walks and good pubs offering wide menus. Good veggie options at the Bell at Parkham. Would recommend a stay at Yapham to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Michael, Thank you very much for writing a review. I am glad that I could be of service to you during your stay. I enjoyed our chats in the evening! It is always a pleasure when guests complement our service, and we are always happy to give advice on places to visit and where to get a good meal. I hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future. Kind regards, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

A very warm welcome was received, which included chocolates ,flowers and a cream tea. There were lots of useful extras provided and were much appreciated. There were plenty of maps and guides to the beautiful surrounding countryside.
The cottage itself is ideal for families as there is a large field (part of the extensive grounds) within walking distance for the use of guests.
There are lots of great restaurants and pubs serving good food within within driving distance. We enjoyed visiting a few of the beaches in the area and cycling on the Tarka Trail.
This is one cottage I would be happy to return to as it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Jeannie & family. Thank you for your smashing review. I am delighted that you found Shipload to be such a comfortable cottage, and that you appreciated our welcome pack of goodies! I feel that it is important that we provide our guests with the different information packs. There is so much to do, and some many great inns and restaurants in the area, as you discovered. I think it's great that you went cycling on the Tarka Trail. We have now added a bicycle rack in the Nissen hut so guests can lock up their bikes, if they choose to bring them instead of hiring them. I wish you well, and hope that you will stay with us again sometime. Kind regards, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartland
4.0 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bideford
336 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
542 reviews
1.9 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
369 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cheristow Farm Cottages
Cheristow Farm Cottages
#4 of 11 in Hartland
55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Home from Home B&B
Home from Home B&B
#7 of 11 in Hartland
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yapham Coastal Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yapham Coastal Cottages

Property: Yapham Coastal Cottages
Address: Yapham Farm, Hartland EX39 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Hartland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Hartland
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal holiday cottages in Hartland, North Devon consist of three high quality barn conversions. These self-catering cottages are surrounded by five acres of lovely grounds with breathtaking views across the valley.There is much to do and see in the local area. The miles and miles of spectacular coastline around the Hartland Peninsula has a wonderful selection of secluded beaches, pretty coves and coastal walks. Yapham holiday cottages are equidistant between Bude in Cornwall and Bideford in Devon.Many of our guests regularly return to Yapham self-catering coastal cottages in Hartland, North Devon and recommend us to their friends, so we are confident that you too will enjoy your holiday in this ' hidden gem' of North Devon.Dogs are accepted in all three cottages.Free WiFi available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yapham Coastal Cottages Hartland, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing