We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK B&B”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anchor Inn Hartland
Ranked #10 of 10 Hartland B&B and Inns
London, UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“OK B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We spent one night here. No experience of the bar or restaurant, other than brekkie.

Plus points: They waited up til midnight for us to arrive. They served breakfast early for us (although the normal breakfast hours seemed pretty late for a weekday, 8.30 kick off IIRC). adequately comfortable room. Adequate brekkie.

Minus points: No offer of a nightcap when we arrived (although it was midnight). Disappointing sausage and bacon at brek.

I'd stay here again if I needed to, no problem, but I suspect (and hope) that there are better places in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theblackhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    8
    6
    10
See reviews for
6
29
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in September - walking the South West Coast Path, knew that this would be a difficult section as it is remote and has very little in the way of public transport, we had checked out taxi prices which were expensive.
Double ensuite room with a bath, clean and comfortable. Good menu, reasonable prices and no problems for vegetarians, food was served until quite late which gave us the opportunity for a hot bath after a long walk. Breakfasts were also good.
The landlady and her daughter were lovely, friendly and welcoming.
When we asked about taxis they told us not to bother and gave us really reasonably priced lifts to and from the walks, saving us many extra miles.
The 3 nights for the price of 2 was an excellent deal.
Would definitely stay here again, it's a perfect base for coast walkers and wonderful to find a real pub.

Room Tip: Have the one with the bath if you're a walker
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Given that we turned up muddy and saturated after a long day's walk, we were warmly welcomed (and our room swapped for one with a much-needed bath!). The room was basic, clean and comfortable and there's plenty of extra space upstairs in the pub (a kind of lounge area) to relax in if need be. There was a wedding reception in the back room the night we stayed so the atmosphere was good and the pub buzzing. Despite how busy the pub was, when we ordered food, it came in good time and was fairly good. Breakfast included a good selection of cereals, toast, full English (and vegetarian) etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as it was nearby to relatives we were visiting. The accommodation is quite basic but then it is a bed and breakfast not a hotel. The room was clean, as was the ensuite bathroom and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was good with the usual offerings of cereal toast and a full english. The staff seemed nice and friendly and were happy to go the extra mile to make sure everything was just right for us, even loaning my wife a hair dryer as she had left hers at home!

It would have been nice to have a shower attachment over the bath and a hair dryer in the room but other than that we have no complaints

I would recommend The Anchor to anyone looking for good value bed and breakfast accommodation in the Hartland area, we will certainly be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Where to start, we booked a table for 7 people at the Anchor Inn. From the outside the building looks very attractive, in thought the door you were greater by a not very pleasant smell from the toilets. We enters the bar and wondered where were our table for 7 would be. We were led into the back room which was a very dated, cold and soulless room. We were the only guests and were surprised when we were only given 5 menus between 7 as that's all they had. A fan heater was pointed in our direction providing the only background noise.
Our orders were taken and we were left in the function room, door closed. After about 20 minuets the door opened and our hosed asked if we wanted any more drinks, we were ok and the response was "il bugger off then" and the door banged closed behind her. Luckily we saw the funny side to this evening and managed to laugh our way through the a awkward situation.
On a better note the food was good quality apart from a steak which was well cooked but cold. This was returned to the kitchen by a very reluctant waitress with the attitude of what do you expect me to do about it. it was returned 10 minuets later, the steak was no warmer however everything else on the plate was steaming hot.
Don't bother visiting this pub, smelly, tired, dated, cold, (food and room), despondent staff and very over priced. An example, a side of Garlic bread at £4.99 for 4 pieces is steep.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hartland hotels

Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Enjoyed our stay the room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was wonderful and our hosts were very friendly and helpful, very good value for money, hopefully we will go back again. Some areas are in need of a bit of decorating but our room was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just returned from a 4day stay at The Anchor. What excellent value for money! Our room was spacious with comfy beds & very hot water in the ensuite. Alison & Philip were in Florida celebrating Alison's birthday but the their daughter Amy was in charge & did a wonderful job. Not only is she a good hostess, making everyone feel very welcome, she's also a fantastic chef. The Anchor is well situated for visiting the sights of North Devon & I'm so glad we ignored the bad reviews. Your Mum & Dad should be proud of you Amy !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VpD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartland
2.4 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home from Home B&B
Home from Home B&B
#6 of 10 in Hartland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cheristow Farm Cottages
Cheristow Farm Cottages
#4 of 11 in Hartland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn Hartland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn Hartland

Property: The Anchor Inn Hartland
Address: Fore Street, Hartland EX39 6BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Hartland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hartland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchor Inn Hartland 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Anchor Inn Hartland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Inn Hartland Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing