We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best accommodations on our Trip”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Bumble Bee Cottage

Highdown Cottage and Bumble Bee Holiday Cottage overlooking the paddocks.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highdown Cottage and Bumble Bee Holiday Cottage overlooking the paddocks.
Bumble Bee Cottage front decking area. Fully fitted kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Highdown Cottage and Bumble Bee Holiday Cottage overlooking the paddocks.
Bumble Bee Cottage front decking area.
Fully fitted kitchen.
Bedroom 1 on ground floor with en-suite shower room.
Bedroom 1 can be offered as a twin room layout as an option (upon request).
View from decking area to Bideford Bay.
Luxury furnishing in the warm and cozy lounge.
Cozy lounge with wood burner.
View from the cottage of sunrise over Bideford Bay.
Bumble Bee Cottage!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hartland, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Venture18...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best accommodations on our Trip”
Reviewed September 20, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We enjoyed the cottage, the setting and the owners! The cottage had great views and is set in the quiet country side. Recently renovated by Karen and Mark and presented as very clean and well equipped. The fresh baking of treats, bread, milk, farm eggs and wine were great. The bed was super comfortable. Karen and Mark were warm, caring and available as needed. We stayed 4 days but wished we had booked for longer. We would love to return for another visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2018
Hi Bonnie & Dave
Thank you so much for a lovely review of our cottage and your stay with us. Hope you have another holiday here in the UK and we would love to have your company here at Hartland again.
Warmest regards
Mark & Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbish2018
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Bumble Bee”
Reviewed August 26, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Stayed for 3 nights could have easily stayed longer. Really lovely cottage high standard of accommodation. The owners Mark & Karen we’re really friendly and helpful and had thought of everything, it really was a “home from home”. Lovely welcome cake with eggs and milk in the fridge and a bottle of wine chilling for our arrival. Stunning scenery around Hartland lots to do an ideal walking base. Would love to come back again and explore further.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2018
Thank you for such a lovely review Lynda, it was a pleasure to have you, Martin & Bill to stay with us. So glad you enjoyed your time at Bumble Bee. Hopefully you will stay again with us, take care Mark & Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabi-w90
2 reviews
“Beautiful base to explore Devon”
Reviewed July 12, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Bumblebee cottage is the perfect base to explore Devon from with many beaches, towns and pubs a short drive away. There was plenty of space for four of us (two couples) and two dogs - separate bedrooms and bathrooms over two floors made the stay very comfortable. The cottage itself is beautifully presented, feeling more like a home from home than a holiday let. It has everything you could need down to towels for the dogs, cheesegraters, bottle openers, matches etc. The decking area has a gate to keep the dogs safe and a BBQ and large table and chairs, making it a lovely
space to spend the warm sunmer evenings with beautiful views. The adjacent field was perfect for exercising the dogs. A few minutes down the road is a national trust car park with lovely coastal / woodland walks to enjoy. Mark and Karen are lovely hosts and nothing is too much trouble, they left lovely homemade treats and fresh eggs from their chickens who can be seen wandering free range next door. Overall a lovely and relaxing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2018
Many thanks for a lovely review Gabi, so glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us, Mark & Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fladderaa...
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Geweldige cottage”
Reviewed June 29, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed here for one night on our motorbiketour through England. And we were do sad it was for one night only! What a lovely place. The cottage has everthing you need, and more. It's so homely, we absolutely loved it. Karen and Mark are wonderful people. It's a beautyful , quiet place and the beds are great.
Go there! We surely want to come back here and stay for a few days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2018
Thank you so much Bianca for a fabulous review. It was a pleasure to have the MotorGirls stay in Bumble Bee (with Eveline, Lique and Arelis), we only wish you all could have stayed longer.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to North Devon.
Kind regards,
Karen and Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing