We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend in remote area”
Review of Downe Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downe Cottages
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We spent the May bank holidaty in Downe Spa. The therapies were excellent, the location great, the service brilliant and the place spotless. Jeremy and Linda - the owners - went to great lenght to get everything right. Highly recommended of you need an easy-going, relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 55 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2008

Our second visit, as before a faultless stay. Had the use of the spa and felt relaxed despite the chilly weather. Cottage was clean and well equiped. Am looking forward to our third visit.........

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SteveNLouise53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

This is my second visit to Downe cottages for a pamper break weekend and again i have found a warm welcome, excellent accomodation and a relaxing spa day.

After a tiring week at work, it is lovely to arrive in a quiet hideaway away from all the hustle bustle! Our cottage had been prepared for our arrival so we were greeted by a warm oil burning fire, a bottle of wine and a delicious home cooked meal waiting in the fridge complete with heating instructions - wonderful not being tied to restaurant times. This allowed us to shower, get into the cosy towelling robes and eat our dinner infront of the tv - perfect!
After a relaxing nights sleep and a leisurely breakfast (again - ready prepared in the fridge so you can eat when you like) we wondered across to the spa to start out pampering!
We had full use of a gym, steam room, sauna and spa pool, endless supply of tea, a wonderful selection of freshly prepared lunches and plump sofas to lounge around on.
Included in the package was an aromatherapy massage which was superb.
After the day ended we retired back to our cosy cottage with a couple of DVDs from the reception, a bottle of wine and yet another home cooked meal prepared and ready for us to heat when we wanted.
All in all, this was a fantastic way to escape and unwind from a busy working life and will definitley be back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaakamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Lovely spot, lovely people. Good spa treatments by very nice therapists. All in all very relaxing and enjoyable, and would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bitterchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Thoroughly enjoyed a 5 day break here despite predominently inclement weather. Cottage ideal for 2 with equipment and facilities excellent. Nice touch was inclusion of things like Dishwasher powder, cling film, wash liquid, spices which in many self catering places you have to take yourself.

The Cottage (Honeysuckle) had a wood burning stove that was very nice to sit round during the very windy evenings and plenty of fuel was easily accessible.

Owners were both chatty and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Spa treatments excellent quality and reasonably priced. While Spa not the largest in the world it is clean and well laid out, and gym equipment up to date and easy to use.



Thoriughly recommend for a relaxing break and we intend to go back to do some more walking - hopefully with better weather.



Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rekooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

As people who are passionate about holidays and who have now travelled quite extensively, both at home and abroad, we have become very choosy about where we stay and we have been staying at Downe as often as possible for the past ten years. May was as wonderful as ever, with some good weather so that we could go walking and enjoy the beautiful countryside around Downe.

Even when we have not had the weather some things can be relied on - like the warm welcome from Jeremy and Lynda and the charming, cosy cottages with their first rate facilities. Everything has been thought of, from comprehensive kitchen equipment to a generous array of consumables such as washing powder, powder for the dish-washer, kitchen towels, foil... The list could go on and on. We love good self catering and this is as good as it gets. Unlike many other places we have never had to start worrying about whether there would be a cooker we could, or would want to, use, or whether we would have to shop for our own washing powder. The appliances are of excellent quality and well maintained and the cottages themselves are spotless and very comfortable.

It is possible to have delicious meals delivered and there are now so many good places to eat in the area that we always wish we had more days!

The gym and spa have been excellent additions, with top quality equipment and a really luxurious feeling, whether you want to be energetic or simply let yourself be pampered, relax and unwind.

On rainy days we've loved borrowing from the long list of DVDs and just chilling with the bottle of wine and chocolates thoughtfully placed in each cottage to welcome guests.

We've had cheaper cottages and generally regretted it! We've not had better, which is why we've kept going back and why we'll continue to do so. Jeremy and Lynda have come to feel like friends and Downe has become a home from home, a lovely place that we look forward to visiting and always miss when we leave.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayHedonists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

This was the second time that we had stayed at Downe Cottages. Previously we had a mid week break in March 2004. Loved it then & loved it this time even though the weather was awful. Very warm & cosy in our cottage & we had meals delivered which were lovely & saved us shopping & cooking. Used the spa every evening which was wonderful. We also had some treatments which were also lovely. Really recommend this for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartland
1.4 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
370 reviews
4.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hartland Mill B&B
Hartland Mill B&B
#3 of 11 in Hartland
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cheristow Farm Cottages
Cheristow Farm Cottages
#5 of 11 in Hartland
55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copps Castle Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Clouds Bed & Breakfast
Clouds Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Hartland
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downe Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downe Cottages

Address: Hartland, Hartland EX39 6DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Hartland
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Hartland
Price Range: $88 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A courtyard of luxury cottages with glorious sea views.The cottages are located on the tip of the Hartland Peninsula in a designated area of outstanding natural beauty. Charmingly situated they have glorious sea views looking north to Lundy Island and west over the Atlantic.They are set in the midst of rolling farm land that slopes gently to the coast. In the distance the stone tower of St. Nectan's Church rises above the picturesque village of Stoke.. All around is peace and tranquillity.The sea, Berry Cove and the North Devon Coastal Path are a brief walk away along a quiet single track road. Hartland, an unspoilt North Devon village, is a mile away.The immediate area is ideal for walkers and cyclists with a maze of footpaths and single tract lanes on the doorstep. The cliff top walks are simply stunning and lead you to secluded cove after cove.Ideal for couples and families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downe Cottages Hartland, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing