We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
16
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
2
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 19 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2016 via mobile

We've been travelling Nicaragua for two weeks looking for the right place to post up for a few days, surf, have some beers, and enjoy the local culture. El Trànsito is an awesome little town with several delicious food options ranging from authentic little spots to beachfront delicacies. The hostel itself is right on the beach, has a bunch of boards to rent, friendly staff, full kitchen, and a bar nestled among palm trees and hammocks. Rad spot, would definitely come back.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Quinn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for an incredibly friendly, relaxing, and easy surf experience - look no further. Surf hostel is situated right on the beach in el transito. The waves were incredibly mellow and fun. It's definitely a great spot to learn. The hostel itself is affordable and offers great services like laundry and local organic products. Board rentals are cheap with lots of options. The best part about this place are the people and the vibe. The owners are friendly and very accommodating. They have a kitchen where you can cook your own food and tons of hammocks. He town itself has plenty of cheap food options with amazing fresh fish. Overall this has been the best spot we've stayed on our two week trip. Glad we stumbled on this peaceful spot - leaving relaxed, rejuvenated, and a slightly better surfer.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Dylan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2016 via mobile

This is a super sick spot for anyone traveling through transito looking for a good time. Good access to surf right on the beach. Good folks run the place. Really friendly and welcoming. The bartender Daniel is one of the greatest people we've ever met. Would go back just to chill w him.. Total legend!! Highly recommend this place for anyone passing through.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Thank LightPacker433618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2016 via mobile

People are there to surf so by 9 almost everyone is sleeping. Good location. Good waves for beginner surfers. Nice weather. Hostel is directly on the beach. Love the chill spots. They have a bar. Nothing bad to say.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Kev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016

I stayed at Surf Hostel after having stayed at their partner property Solid Surf and had an awesome time. While the amenities are different at the two places the experience remains the same, super fun! Its right on the beach, with great waves for learning to surf and for the more experienced surfers, the bar is always stocked and there's usually a fun nut laid back crowd around to have a beer with. But without a doubt the hostel stands out because of its totally rad staff! Roxy and Lucas who were managing at the time I stayed were so super fast to help you with anything you needed and are also two super cool people to hang out with. And Amanda and Dave who technically work next door are always around for surf lessons and yoga classes (both of which are highly recommended) or again, just to chat with or have a beer (or several) with. While most of the people who were staying at Surf Hostel, or just in for a drink at the bar were all pretty awesome, its my opinion that the staff was some of the coolest people I've met in a real long time...I miss them all already!

Totally recommend spending a few nights here if you're traveling through Nicaragua!

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MeggsM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews