We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bouillante
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalets Sous-le-Vent
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed at the beautiful Chalets Sous-le-Vent for several days in June, 2011, while we were diving Pigeon Island. The owners are a young Canadian French couple who are on-site to help with anything you need. They speak English. Each little cabin is great. Clean. You'll be surrounded by flowers. There is a small pool and a view of Pigeon Island from it. You're only a 10 min. drive from the dive shop. It's very safe, too. I would highly recommend this place for either a romantic getaway or just a place to hang out with friends while on vacation. The price is great. The cabins have a small, but efficient, kitchen next door to them. The owners supply everything you need to cook for yourself though we enjoyed eating out.

Room Tip: All of the cabins are really nice.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaSue49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souslevent, Owner at Chalets Sous-le-Vent, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Thank you for your nice review and comments, it was a pleasure welcoming you here.

One small precision, we are not Canadian. Véronique is a French citizen and I am a Swiss national from the French side of Switzerland.

Sunny Greetings from Guadeloupe!

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Chalets Sous-le-Vent
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 65 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had such a lovely stay at Chalets Sous-le-Vent. Our flight was delayed and our luggage arrived two days later... but the hosts Alex and Veronique were so helpful following up on this and also gave us swimwear so we could go snorkling next morning!

The chalets are in a beautiful peaceful location, was great to dip into a pool for a morning swim and drink coffee on the veranda. Room was cosy and tidy. Alex gave us plenty tips for what to do and see and where to eat in the area. Lovely beaches are only a short drive away and the island itself is amazing, a little paradise!

Really hope we will come and stay with you again. Great hospitality is always appreciated and goes a long way.

P.S. I like your cats! :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aiviln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Upon arriving you will be swept away by the beautiful setting. Next, you will feel the warmth of the reception from Alex and Veronique. Upon entering your neat cottage, Veronique or Alex will show you how to mix your Ti-Punch ( a local rum concoction). Have a sip and then have a nap in the hammock on the veranda.
Come evening and crickets and frogs start their musical chirping.
Walk to the local Creole restaurant for a gourmet meal, or if you arrived earlier in the day and thought to stop at the grocery store and the bakery on your way to the Chalets Sous-le-Vent, you can eat your first meal on your porch in the lovely evening breeze.
We stayed for nine days, and wish we had been able to stay much longer....we'll be back soon I hope!
corresponding with Alex before our trip was great and he got us a car to rent and we learned a lot about things to do in and around the island.
Just go there!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Insearch0fgreatf00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

I have been to Chalets Sous-le-Vent 3 years in a row and will certainly return. The managers are extremely friendly and will go out of their way to help you make the most of your trip. The Bungalows are impeccable. Comfortable, quiet and in the middle of a beautiful tropical garden. If you have ever experienced Swiss hospitality, this is the text book epitome of perfection!!

It's just 10 minutes away from the most wonderful beaches and diving spots in the Caribbean, and great treks in the jungle, so plenty to keep you busy during the day. In the evening there are several quaint restaurants to choose from just a short drive away.

I can't wait to go back to the Chalets Sous-le-Vent. It's simply a dream!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanPADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

I have selected the bungalows after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and I have to say: i made a good choice...lovely exotic garden, bungalows are prefect equipped with everything one needs to cook, rooms are simple but cozy, Alex(the owner) is very helpful and asnwering all my questions:)
For breakfast the colibris will pass by, during the day we followed the advice to try the diving in Reserve Cousteau and were impressed.

As the property is up hill, its much fresher up there than next to the sea.
A great place for a relaxing/sportive stay!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

We have been travelling in different places in Guadeloupe and this one was by far the best! Very warm welcome from the owners, excellent bungalow (very clean and nicely decorated) and the little extras that counts (some bread and a pot of homemade jam in the kitchen for our first breakfast, small bottle of rum for the apero, etc).

Very close to the diving area and a great view on the whole bay. Warmly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Adi9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Fabienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souslevent, Owner at Chalets Sous-le-Vent, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bouillante
9.5 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
442 reviews
17.3 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Harmonie Creole
Harmonie Creole
#2 of 5 in Bouillante
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harmonie Tropicale
Harmonie Tropicale
#12 of 18 in Bouillante
12 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gites Couleur Caraibes
Gites Couleur Caraibes
#15 of 18 in Bouillante
28 reviews
10.5 mi away
Au Jardin des Colibris
Au Jardin des Colibris
#2 of 29 in Deshaies
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Sous-le-Vent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Sous-le-Vent

Address: Rue de Poirier | Pigeon, Bouillante 97125, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Bouillante
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Bouillante
Price Range: $55 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Véronique & Alex welcome you in their fully equipped cottages located in a 2'300sqm tropical garden with a swimming pool and sea view, facing the "Réserve Cousteau" marine park in Guadeloupe. Diving spots and beach 5 min. away by car.Swiss owners and alumni of the Lausanne Hotel Management School.Special offers for scuba-divers on our websiteAccommodations:- Cottages 2+1 pers- Bungalow with aircon 2-3 pers- Twin cottage 4+2 pers (2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms) with a covered terrace for groups up to 10 persons ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalets Sous-Le-Vent Guadeloupe/Bouillante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing