We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see!!!!”

Mill House Cider Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mill House Cider Museum - Discover how to make Cider ! In the heart of Dorset, Mill House Cider Museum shows you exactly how this traditional drink was made.You can tour around the displays and equipment that shows the importance of cider as a drink over the years.Watch the ten minute video display that shows cider actually being made on the 18th and 19th century equipment!Find the hidden Smiley Apples around the museum to discover some unusual fun facts about cider and its traditions!Taste some of the range of different ciders in our shop!
Dorset England
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must see!!!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I visited the Mill House Cider Museum this week which along with the video was well worth the visit but when I saw the adjoining Dorset Clock collection I realised that the combined admission price was every bit worth paying, it is a must.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting and good cider”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Went to the cider museum whilst on holiday in Portland. The entry fee was £2.50 each and we got a short, dated, DVD which explained some of the equipment. The museum had a lot of old cider making equipment. This was quite interesting but could have been better presented. Probably not good for a young family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthgateLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Manager at Mill House Cider Museum, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We will be doing renovations over winter 2013 and will be filming our new video this Autumn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real gem in the heart of Hardy country.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Really enjoyed a recent trip to The Cider Museum. There was a full range of cider on offer, ranging from different regions in the Westcountry. We even got to try before we buy. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly; with a real passion for keeping country tradition alive. Great day out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very interesting collection and for £2.50 you couldn't beat that.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

First went there in 1992, again in 2003 then again this year and will go again next year. The reason being that it is a good stop off to stock up on cider en route to Durdle Door. They also sell some very decent sized stoneware tankards that hold over a pint of tea have large bases so they stay put on the dashboard until about an hour ago when I just broke the last one. Now I need to go buy another one... And maybe some cider.
But seriously it is a great place to go to learn more about cidermaking tradition and get some ideas should you want to try it yourself. You might want to incorporate it into a walk from Durdle Door during the summer months.

Helpful?
1 Thank hal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing and looked run down”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Went to the cider museum whilst on holiday in Weymouth. Have an interest in that kind of thing, but turned up and was the only one in the car park (perhaps a worrying sign). The nursery that used to be there also looked abandoned and disused.

Still, we decided to stay and see what was there so went and paid the £2.50 entry fee each and had a look around. We got a short DVD which explained some of the artefacts, but looked as though it was quite old. Then we looked around the museum, which had a lot of old cider making equipment.

Some nice things, but much of the same thing and all looked a bit run down. Some great history, but could have been better presented.

Not a fantastic attraction and not good for a young family, but happy for the money to go to try and preserve some of Englands history.

Helpful?
4 Thank RichardWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Manager at Mill House Cider Museum, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are doing renovations over winter 2013 and will be filming for our new video this Autumn !

The Spring Nursery on the same site as the museum always runs from January until July so is not open to the public after July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill House Cider Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mill House Cider Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing